Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Willow Creek Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 540 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 8, 2014

Willow creek is wonderful. Lots of resources for kids. Principal is amazing! Only reason I dodnt give a 5 is because of the art teacher. I have 2 children that have attended WC for 4 and 3 years and both complain that the art teacher talks all class and then they only have 5-10 minutes left before class is over. An art teacher should be energetic and fun and she takes all the fun out if this class. Other than the art teacher needing to be replaced willow creek is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2014

Willow creek is a great school! No bullying that we've seen or heard. Principle is beyond nice. Teachers are great. Only downside in the 4 years we've seen is the art teacher is not fun! She is extremely strict and in a class where kids are suppose to be creative and have a good time she makes it pretty unpleasant to enjoy what should be a favorite class. Also the playground women that watch the kids during recess are so harsh sometimes.but overall its a wonderful school and so glad we live here in this amazing neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2014

Incredible INVOLVED principal. Outstanding teachers. Best arts-culture program in the district!!! Parents are passionate and excited about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2013

We are new to this school and we love it! My child's kindergarten teacher is friendly, kind and patient. She really gets to know the students on an individual basis. I'm so glad we chose to move to this area. The school is totally worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

The teachers are very well trained and always put the children first! I find them very responsive to me and open to my questions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

We absolutely love this school. We are in district, but this is not our home elementary so we enrolled through Colorado "School of Choice" options. We investigated nearly all of the elementaries before we chose this one. This school encourages parental involvement - many of the lower grades have at least one (and sometimes two) parent volunteers (for about an hour each day). The teachers treat the kids with respect, and they get respect in return. The older kids are supportive of the little kids - my 1st graders report several 5th grade "friends". I have one average child and one advanced child. Both childrens needs are met in the classroom, and I feel like both kids are challenged appropriately.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2011

Willow Creek is as great as you want it to be. It could be better if the traffic flow at morning and afternoon pickup was less chaotic and intimidating. (The streets and fire lane are not designed for discharging and picking up passengers while double parked. Pedestrians should cross at the crosswalks - they're staffed!) The library, gym and other facilities are awesome- esp since th ebig remodel. The teaching staff are great - an excellent balance of newer teachers and been here forever teachers. G&T feels a little stale and set in it's ways. Also too easy for parents to push their kids in. The neighborhood is awesome and having the school in the community is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2011

This school is the worst school my son has been through. The teachers are not friendly and knowledgeable. And sometimes you can feel that some of them even do not like kids. What I can say is that this place is a nightmare to children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

My husband's and my favorite part about AA is the flexible grouping system. Students are tested all year long to gauge their current ability levels and to identify learning gaps. For example, my son, an early reader and a quick student, had fallen behind this last year in comprehension skills. Instead of keeping him in the advanced group, he was moved to the standard group for more support. He's getting the attention he needs at the level he needs right now, and he's doing great. Maybe next year he'll be in advanced again, maybe not, but he's being taught according to his NEEDS. How many schools can say they identify and then address and accommodate each student at that level of detail? Not many I imagine. We are thrilled by the school's determination and ability to make "challenging each student at their level" a priority and a possibility.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2010

I agree with previous comments that Willow Creek is a tremendous elementary school. We have been very happy with the education our children have received here. Now, for the downside: For many years, the neighborhood has been divided when it comes time for our fifth graders to move up to middle school. Half go to West Middle School and half go to Campus Middle School. There doesn't seem to be any explanation for this, other than "it's always been this way." I consider this a bad situation, which is further compounded when the middle schools unevenly distribute our students amongst units, leaving some kids without a social support system during the tender first year of middle school. It's time for CCSD to fix this problem, and the sooner the better!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2010

My daughter has been attending this school since 2nd grade and we love the school. The teaching methods employed by the teachers, their selection of syllabus and the way they challege the students to excel is commendable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

I am in agreement with these posts. This is a great school. We also go out of district and love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

We are out of district and had to apply to get into this school. We are so fortunate because nearly every grade has a wait list. Since we transferred we have not been disappointed. Our school search was extensive and involved interviewing public, charter, private, and magnet. After at least 15 interviews this was our #1 pick because of its balanced approaced towards education. The parent involvement, quality of teachers, and administrative leadership are execellent. This school is a two time Blue Ribbon winner. Its high academic standards are balanced with a nurturing and caring environment that teaches students about compassion, responsibility, and wellness. As the post below states it is worth it to stand in line to enroll at this school. You will not be disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2009

Our daughter graduated from Willow Creek, where she attended K-5. Now in Middle School, she was so well prepared that she's a straight A student. Our son is in 2nd grade now, and also takes speech therapy at WCE. We love Willow Creek's teachers and staff and parent community. Absolutely supurb private quality public school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2008

4 years and counting. One student so far, one yet to start. This place rocks! I've toured numerous elementary schools in the area and met even more principals. The only shortcomings are no full day kindergarten, partially offset by a solid 'enrichment' program. And a weak pre-school program- typical of the CCSD district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

Fantastic school. I am a working mom. My kids have gone to Willow Creek since Kindergarten and they are now finishing up 5th grade. I can't imagine a better place to have sent my kids. They love Willow Creek. The kids feel safe at school, they are challenged, and obviously feel like part of their school family. The communication between the teachers and parents is great, I always feel in-touch with what is going on at school. Top notch teachers at every grade level. The principal is quite frankly superb. In all respects, he goes well above and beyond. He is approachable, and actually listens to parent input. He really is looking out for each individual child, quite impressive. You should have no reservations about enrolling here. If you had to (and I don't believe that you actually do) you should stand in line to enroll at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2007

I love Willow Creek. It feels like private school. All the teachers are great..the parents involve on many occasions..the Principle is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2007

My kids love Willow Creek. The teachers are really caring and really put forth a lot of effort to make sure that your child succeeds. The principal is awesome. He is very involved with the school and you will see him at many (if not all) school functions and every day at pickup. It is our first year at Willow Creek and I have found this school to go above and beyond any expectations that I could have imagined. The academics are great. I really like the emphasis that the school places on teaching kids how to write well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2006

My son went from private school to Willow Creek and had a little difficulty adjusting, but his new teacher worked hard with him to assist the transition. He has really enjoyed the new environment. Parent involvement is heavily emphasized here, and there are many parents helping with the school. The teachers stay in close touch with the parents, and feedback on my child's progress and needs has been very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

we lliked it for K-1 and the teachers were very helpful with my child who always had an abundance of energy in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female96%
Male92%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant94%

Reading

All Students94%
Female100%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant94%

Writing

All Students74%
Female85%
Male58%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities81%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English76%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
Female97%
Male98%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch98%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities99%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant98%

Reading

All Students97%
Female97%
Male96%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant97%

Writing

All Students89%
Female91%
Male87%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
Female95%
Male100%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch97%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant97%

Reading

All Students94%
Female94%
Male95%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant94%

Science

All Students86%
Female86%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Writing

All Students91%
Female92%
Male89%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities95%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 56%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 14% 3%
Hispanic 7% 32%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7855 South Willow Way
Centennial, CO 80112
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 554-3900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


American Academy
Castle Pines, CO






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT