Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
282 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

“Evangelical Christian Academy feels like family! They have small class sizes and a strong Christian classical academics curriculum. ECA is the only Christian School in Colorado Springs that offers this unique mix. Most importantly the teachers care about each student and Christ is at the center of their teaching!”
September 29, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Evangelical Christian Academy
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 29, 2016
- a parent
High achievers excel here but they would excel anywhere. Average to struggling students can be overwhelmed and feel lost. The school needs to do better teaching kids who are "outside the box."

Evangelical Christian Academy
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted June 29, 2016
- a parent
The kids respect the teachers and they respect the parents who come in to help, but I wonder at the lack of respect for each other. Character in the classroom needs to be reinforced.


Evangelical Christian Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 12, 2016
- a parent
The secondary school underwent a transition a few years ago to its Omnibus program and the students were buried in homework. If you play a sport plan to get about 6 hours of sleep at night because you will be up late doing homework.

Evangelical Christian Academy 1

Posted June 04, 2016
- a parent
The fake 5 star reviews that were written by administrators and teachers posing as parents and students seem almost real until you take a closer look at them. You will notice that most of the 5 star reviews are short and not too individual. In fact, lots of them have wording copy and pasted right from the ECA website. In contrast the 1 star reviews seem real and genuine from real people that were hurt deeply. ECA is extremely dysfunctional. I will say the superintendent is doing a great job of running a school into the ground. I think he will have the doors completely closed in about 3-5 years at the pace they are losing students at. If you are a Christian parent that wants a Christian education for your children do not go here. You have been warned.

Evangelical Christian Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 14, 2015
- a community member
Mrs. Singleton has been instrumental in facilitating success for Dawson. Her personal attention in making sure that Dawson is aware of classroom expectations is greatly appreciated!


Evangelical Christian Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 14, 2015
- a community member
So far, our son has expressed a joy in learning math. This confidence has never surfaced before so I attribute to his math teacher!

Evangelical Christian Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 14, 2015
- a community member
Once our son adjusted to the workload he seems to be able to complete most assignments on time. The study hall period is very helpful and Mrs. Singleton does a great job helping our son be successful with knowing the expectations.

Evangelical Christian Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 14, 2015
- a community member
Our son seems much more interested in getting his homework done in a timely manner. I appreciate the consistent communication I receive regarding his work completion.


Evangelical Christian Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 14, 2015
- a community member
Students are expected to take responsibility and be accountable for their choices. The teachers work to make sure that the students know the expectations.

Evangelical Christian Academy 5

Posted October 14, 2015
- a community member
This is our first year at ECA. Our son is an eighth grader and although there has been an adjustment period, he is now doing well. I am impressed by the commitment and follow through to help him succeed. He makes positive comments quite frequently regarding his academic experiences! I am grateful that we have found this school. Everyone from the shuttle driver to the school administration has been supportive and encouraging!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Evangelical Christian Academy
2511 N Logan Ave, Colorado Springs, CO  80907
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. (719) 634-7024
Last modified Evangelical Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top