Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Soaring Eagles Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 612 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 13, 2013

I absolutely love my daughter attending K-3 (so far) and now my granddaughter who is in Head Start this year. I am a parent volunteer who has spent many hours in the school as well as worked with many students and have gotten a chance to become familiar with many members of the staff. I feel confident of their teaching and their concerns of the students. I would recommend SEE (Soaring Eagles Elementary) to other families. Unfortunately our school boundaries have changed and SEE is no longer our "home" school. Hopefully I will feel as good about the other elementary schools if that becomes the case!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2013

My daughter is in 1st grade at this school, she attended Kindergarten here as well. The school has a great structure for getting the kids into the habit of doing their homework and providing fun incentives to do it from the very beginning of their schooling. The teachers are all very skilled and qualified and the front office staff are all very nice. They have set a great academic foundation for my daughter!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

I love this school, the principal and teachers are awesome. I have two children attending this school. My kindergartener is in a gifted class and she is learning so much with Ms. Cohen. My son is in the 3rd grade and is apart of student council. His teacher Mrs. Lamphere is a great teacher who invests in her students outside of class as well. My family loves Soaring Eagles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2012

So many letters cutting down this school that I had to say something.My sons went to Dist. 2 schools.Now our grandkids are in Soaring Eagle's Elem..They are doing fine,teachers are great, learning at and above their grade level.One even learned 400 sight words in kindergarden last year.They need to study at home,and do their homework.Teachers can't do it all for them.This school has won a 1st place award in our state.If you have a problem with a school,have a teacher parent meeting.They will make time to speak with you.


Posted June 21, 2012

I feel this school is way to big, with too many children under one roof. Your child drown in the mass and it is not inviting when you first begin here with staff that is impersonal and indifferent and act as if they want to be anywhere else but where they are. My child's teacher was younger and I believe she tried to be strict and speak with authority, but came across as belittling instead. Prior to us moving here, my child previously attended a school with a higher academic record we just loved! - and the first thing the Soaring Eagles teacher did was putting down my son's previous school and achievements . My child was not happy there and he actually LIKES going to school. Would not recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2012

My son is currently enrolled at Soaring Eagles and has Ms. Elling for kindergarten. I LOVE his teacher and I think they've done a great job with him. He's suppose to learn 100 site words by the end of the year, he knows 110 and still has 2 months left. He is starting to read level 2 books now, can add and subtract, tell time, and much more. I'm impressed and very happy I chose Soaring Eagles. Ms. Elling makes learning fun!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

Don't send your child to this school. I was told many different things about this school when I toured it. Then, after school started nothing I was told was accurate information. I had to get my son early on 2 seperate occations and walked in on the teacher degrading students. School has been in for 4 weeks and each week my son has told me that the teacher yells at the class for one or two students behavior. I did some observation hours for a psych class I had and during lunch a 1st grade teacher keep putting a student done. She just could not let go and not one teacher in the room stopped her. unperfessional!!!! we just found out that CSAPS are NOT mandatory. If the school is going to stress our child all year they must be crazy to think we are going to have him show up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

My son is about to finish his first year of kindergarten here. He has made tremendous progress in just a year. His first teacher became pregnant and had to leave part way through the year. It did not effect his progress at all. Even the long term substitutes have been great. I would recommend this school to anyone in Colorado Springs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2010

i have had my kids in this school from day 1 (opening of the school) its been great! i love the education it has given my childern. the parking lot is a mess. the past two years the front office ladies have not been welcome friendly but at least they are not the teachers right. The only thing i really hate is that the students have no time to talk not even at lunch. they just started a homework contract this year which i don't like. Not a big fan of the 5th grade teachers. i did love the 6th grade teachers when they had them! if you want your kids to learn this is the school for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2009

My son goes to this school's pre-school prgram. He just turned 3 and can tell you who the President of the USA is! Ms. Rupinski is caring and organised. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2009

My daughter attends this school as a kindergartner and I absolutely love this school. I love the teachers and and the environment. The only problem that I or any of the other parents I know have is that the parking lot only has one way in and one way out and it makes it very difficult when picking up or dropping off. They have great curriculum and even better teachers. I would recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female96%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)91%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant91%

Reading

All Students83%
Female87%
Male79%
Black (not Hispanic)86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Free lunch eligible73%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Writing

All Students68%
Female72%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant68%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female77%
Male84%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligible70%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%

Reading

All Students79%
Female77%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible70%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English85%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Writing

All Students70%
Female74%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible67%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English72%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female85%
Male90%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Reading

All Students86%
Female90%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligible87%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Science

All Students74%
Female78%
Male71%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligible65%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%

Writing

All Students73%
Female78%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligible70%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 41% 32%
White 30% 57%
Black 17% 5%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Asian 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4710 Harrier Ridge Dr
Colorado Springs, CO 80916
Phone: (719) 540-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Turman Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Giberson Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Bricker Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


All Peoples Learning Center
Colorado Springs, CO


French Elementary School
Colorado Springs, CO


Springs Preschool
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT