Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pine Creek High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 6, 2013

We have a gifted son who doesn't fit into the typical high school mold. He really likes Pine Creek High School because of the atmosphere (more college than high school) and mutual respect students give to one another. The variety of courses offered in the school's catalog, along with school sponsored sports teams and clubs, are also benefits to attending PCHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

My daughter had a bad experience with peer relationships before coming to Pine Creek as a sophomore. During her 3 years there, she felt it to be a much more friendly environment and as a result, became more involved in student activities. Also, her much loved sport of swimming was enhanced by the friendliness,inclusiveness, and support of the team and coaches. There were even rules around prom that if it weren't for the support of the principal (now retired) to make an exception, my daughter would not have been able to attend with her boyfriend. On education and teacher quality, it's one of the finest in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2012

Hey everyone! My sister showed me this website and I thought I'd check out what people had to say about this amazing school. I'm sad to hear that some people are being bullied and that others dislike the academics or teachers in the school. Personally, in all my three years of going, I have not once seen a bullying case or been bullied. Sure there are the "popular" kids, but that's just what they have labeled themselves. In all honesty, those "popular" kids are just the ones who brag about themselves the most and thus have the most rumors going around about them. I have probably met my best friends for life here and have found my calling of what I want to do with my life based on the freedom and encouragement given to me in this school. I've learned so much and am in all honors and AP classes and am excited to be going into senior year next year! My teachers have all been kind, helpful, and inspirational and have always given me exactly what I need for my environment and learning. I've been given so much oppurtunity for learning and going into college and I'm really excited for my future now because of the support I've been given. Thank you for leading my years of highschool!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2011

Pinecreek is definitely not perfect in any means, just like any other high school has problems. I don't know what people think that everybody that go to Pinecreek are rich, it simply ain't true. Overall the school is great I currently attend. Teachers, at least the teachers I have care about their students, and in no way am I popular, I keep to myself and talk to a couple of friends and stay out of the "popular" kids minds and im fine. I was bullied my freshman year and after reporting the incident the bully was disciplined and left me alone and I have not had anymore issues. Many of these reviews are probably from a rival school such as rampart.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2011

I graduated from Pine Creek in May of this year, and although I've heard that already a lot has changed, I consider this high school to be truly great. Sporting events and the extra social events are what make Pine Creek better than the rest. Also, the collection of student and staff prove with their academic success that PC is a great school. My days at Pine Creek have been my most memorable and I am proud to call myself an Eagle, and anyone else who has had the opportunity to attend Pine Creek should as well. GIVE 'EM THE BEAK!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2011

PCHS definitley has a bullying problem! What we found truly disturbing was how the teachers often took sidesand got involved in the bullying and/or did nothing to stop it! The administration said all the right things and checked all the right boxes, but did not truly have an interest in punishing the bullies. Don't be fooled by the fact that PCHS was given the distrinction of a "NO HATE" school. This simply means they have implemented certain programs (ie, checked all the boxes) but certainly does not address the true issue. More diversity would go a long way in solving the issue. Currently, most of the students come from upper income families and have a very entitled attitude. Cliques to the extreme!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

I graduated in 2010, and I have to say, I loved every second of it. Like some reviews said, there isn't much diversity within the school, but as for the bullying, I never witnessed much at all. In fact, a lot of the "popular" kids that some of the reviewers talked so badly about were the ones I noticed making the most effort to include people and be nice, especially to the special education students. Overall, I had good teachers despite a few, but that's at any school you go to. There is a lot of school spirit and organizations like DECA really give students a chance to have fun and hang out with other students while representing pine creek. Athletic games were always fun, even if you didn't play. Basically, high school is what you make of it and if you take advantage of what Pine Creek has to offer and include yourself in it, you'll love it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2011

We moved here a few months a go and my student seems generally happy here although his comments are: the academics are not as good as they talk it up at all, loves that the school is small, the kids are generally wealthy (we are not), very cliquey and seem superficial. This school has very little diversity.... sad really, but little known public bullying exists that we have experienced. The band program is AMAZING! The teacher is a true asset to the whole school and is a sunny spot! Athletics provide lots of opportunity for involvement and are inclusive. The French teacher needed to be fired years a go and is horrible with lots of double standards! School lunch is horrible, not many nutritional items/variety and way over priced (a horrible value). The fact they have no lockers creates a problem when you simply want to hang up your heavy winter coat somewhere and not carry it around all day with 40-60 lbs. of books all day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2011

We just moved here five months ago, but so far we are happy with Pine Creek High School. But sometimes I feel as though my child isn't challenged as much as he was at his previous school in Northern Virginia.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2011

This is the absolute worst school! The students are incredibly mean. If they decide you do not meet their standards then being at Pine Creek will become a living nightmare. The teachers are horrible as well. The teachers all want to believe that they are teenagers as well therefore if they witness students being mean to another student they will just turn their back to avoid getting the "popular" kids mad at them. If you are not one of these "popular" kids you can expect unfair treatment and grading from your teachers. As far as the athletic programs go they are poor the coaches do not care. Athletes are not placed by ability but by social status. If you are a good athlete but they have decided you not "worthy" of it then you may as well just quit the team because they will do everything in their power to bring you down. Pine Creek loves to talk about their "no place for hate" environment but let me just tell you that this is a total lie! I personally was treated terribly but even after letting the principal know, nothing was done about it. I strongly advise against going here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 8, 2010

This school is absolutely horrible! I don't know why people give it such a good name. Pine Creek High School is filled with egotistical students and staff. Pine Creek students are basically taught that they are the best and no one can ever come close to the "standard" they set by just attending the school. Sure they have "great" educational and after school programs, but most of the students are self-absorbed maniacs that have never lived life in the real world. For example, there are VERY few minorities at this school. Unless you are one of the "popular" kids, life is hell at Pine Creek. In order to be happy there you have to conform to the ideas that Pine Creek sets in place for you. There is no individuality allowed! . These are just a few reasons I left this terrible, terrible enviornment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2010

The students are all really kind and tolerant of others. Many of the teachers are great inspirational people who care about the students. We get a well rounded education and all of the after school activities such as; choir, theatre, sports, and the advertising/business group called DECA accel and constantly compete for state.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 19, 2009

Great academics and opportunity
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

As a student of theatre for 4 years at Pine Creek High School, I can honestly say that this school is without a doubt, has the most ecellent theatre program in the state. The rest of the school is ok, but the atmosphere in the PCHS theatre dept. is always, calm, collected, and cultivates growth as a student and as a performer. If you want an excellent theatre program, this is the one. -Marco Robinson ( The Importance of Being Earnest, Footloose, Noises Off, Crazy for You, and Singin in the Rain...06-09)
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 4, 2009

not good at sports and dont serve well academically


Posted April 16, 2009

Pine Creek has the best choir program we've ever heard. At first I was surprised when my oldest son told me he was joining choir. After his first concert I could understand why...they put on wonderful concerts! They have big choirs and it's a great mixture of songs. At most schools you only hear about the sports, but they can't beat the award-winning choir program here. We've been blessed to see our son perform in the choir and our other children can't wait to join.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2009

I am also a student at Pine Creek High School, and I love it here. Compared to other high schools, this one is pretty much as good as it can get. There's hardly any bullying, and not too much conflict that couldn't be resolved easily. I mourn the loss of diversity a little bit, but maybe that will gradually change over time. Probably the thing I love the most about Pine Creek is the technology that's so readily available to everyone. It truly is a technological high school. There aren't very many schools that you can graduate SQL certified from. :) This school offers more classes than I've ever seen...everything from American Sign Language to Geology to Exploration Mars to Native American Studies and Sociology. There really is no better school to find your niche and learn just what you like with great teachers, great peers, and great classes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 25, 2008

I'm a senior at Pine Creek and I absolutely love it. It's not perfect, but I feel incredibly blessed to be able to go to such a great school. Some teachers are a pain, but most of them sincerely care. Some of the students are brats, but most are genuinely friendly. The activites and athletics rock and the classes are great. I've learned a lot in the past 3 years. I feel ready for college, but the thought of leaving Pine Creek just breaks my heart. I love being an eagle!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 9, 2008

Yeah, im a student at pine creek and ive lived in a lot of places most of them being small towns. compared to everywere pine creek is incredible
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 4, 2008

Wow. Incredible Environment. Incredible Academics. Incredible Clubs. Incredible Sports. Incredible School!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
Female57%
Male54%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch57%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English55%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant56%

Reading

All Students88%
Female91%
Male86%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Free lunch eligible86%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Writing

All Students80%
Female84%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligible68%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students44%
Female41%
Male46%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian56%
Hispanic22%
Multiracial44%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)46%
Free lunch eligible32%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch46%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities46%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English44%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant44%

Reading

All Students83%
Female85%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian94%
Hispanic76%
Multiracial81%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant83%

Science

All Students67%
Female66%
Male68%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian75%
Hispanic56%
Multiracial69%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligible53%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%

Writing

All Students69%
Female76%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asian88%
Hispanic60%
Multiracial69%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Free lunch eligible42%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

95%

Average ACT score

22

Graduation rate

90%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 56%
Hispanic 10% 32%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 3% 5%
Two or more races 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 4%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10750 Thunder Mountain Ave
Colorado Springs, CO 80908
Website: Click here
Phone: (719) 234-2600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tca College Pathways
Colorado Springs, CO


Liberty High School
Colorado Springs, CO



Rampart High School
Colorado Springs, CO


Academy Online High School
Colorado Springs, CO


Aspen Valley High School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT