Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sabin Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 7, 2012

I went here from the beginning-ish of the 2011 school year. I left in November. This school is horrible, they let the kids cuss, the teachers sometimes YELL at the students (I had 2 encounters of this), the kids are very inappropriate, nobody raises their hand to speak..All the kids are immature and all in their closed group, nobody cares if you are new. I had at least 5 friends. 3 of them were teachers, 1 was a kid who always insulted me and the other was gone because she had surgery. If you don't mind an EASY school that takes NO EFFORT to go through for your child, and a horrible environment..sure! Go ahead.


Posted August 11, 2011

I am a student who attended Sabin for 2 years, and yes I came form "the Irving bunch" however my experience was nothing near to terrible. Irving was a great school and our sadness to leave it caused a problem in my 7th grade year with the students. I was in the SAIL program ( by far the best academic program I have ever attended, originally at Irving and one at Sabin) so my 7th grade year my teaches were all familiar. In my 8th grade year I had to say it was incredible! The students had forgotten the "ghetto Irving kids" and the staff had taken the peaceful opportunity to join the kids and staff as a big family. Sure there were fights, but that's the kid. I personally had a great time connecting with all the Sabin staff- truly a great way to end MS! Try it out- I liked it even coming from Irving, my initial school. Laveen K, former student


Posted May 2, 2011

This was the worst school I have ever attended. Yes, I was one of the many Irving kids moved over for my 8th grade year, but it was horrible. The school was engulfed by bullying. One day, I remember there being at least 10 fights in 1 day, one of which the cops had to be called. We were always blamed for "making their school ghetto" and "bringing gangs into their school." This blame was set on not only by the other students, but also by the teachers who had not been moved over from Irving. I wish my dad had never made me go to the school!!!


Posted November 15, 2010

Alot of people blame Sabins current state on irving kids moving there. i am a student who previously attended Irving and i have to say irving was way better. The staff at this school are mean and undermining. Alot of my friends (who didnt go to irving) have missed more days than me but because my aunt died and i was gone 3 days for the out-of-state funeral my mom recieved a contract threatening to give me detetion, take my permit, or even take us to court just because ive missed 5 days. Im happy to say i will be switching schools next semester and get away from constant threats from staff and students.


Posted October 22, 2010

This school is horrible. They do not address bullying (which is rampant daily), and the academics are far from challenging. My child was absolutely bored and although he tested high enough for the gifted and talented program, he was never placed in it, despite numerous promises to do so. I could not consider myself a good parent if I continued to allow my student to go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2010

I absolutely hate this school. i know that many parents like this school, but most of them are parents of students that did not attend irving. Students that attend Irving have been bullied and blamed for almost every problem that occurs. It is much of the distrects fault because they did not think of Irvings massive population being inside Sabin. That caused many problems. Irving students are blamed for being bad influences and "drugging the whole school," according to the principal. Statistically, Sabin, before Irving's move, had twice as many drug and achohol users as Irving. Sabin staff has almost suspended to best friends for hugging in the hall ways acusing them of "displaying lesbian affection" and when confronted with bullying, they either ignore it or acnolage it but do nothing when it comes to Irving students. The only upside is the SAIL program.


Posted April 30, 2010

I have noticed that there is more kids dressing in gang colors and there is unnecessary bullying going on since the beginning of this 2009-2010 school year when Irving kids were brought in. Its disappointing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

My child has attended Sabin this year. I am looking to permit her somewhere else. It has been nothing but a headache since day one. no communication. everytime I tried to talk to someone no one was ever there. Always at court ( which was a bit scarry to hear) The teachers were hard to get a hold of. The fights were out of control. My hild did not feel safe at times and was told to call a number on the back of her ID card.... like thats going to help when being threatened to be 'jumped.' Yhe school has gone down hill since it merged wit Irving students. I hope I can find a safe school that I can trust my child with for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

I permitted my daughter and my son here. He went 2 years and she is starting her second year now. I was not satisfied with the regular ed. for my son as there were few if any advanced classes for him and very little communication with teachers unless you were at the school constantly (still waiting on replies to emails from last year) but the sped program for my daughter has been excellent for her! She has made great strides and is getting more than I had thought she would get here!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

I as a single parent of two am completely happy about having my children attend Sabin Middle School of Colorado Springs. As for the so called fights and such as Posted from a concerned parent in December 6, 2007, quoted as saying: 'Things changed this year and I couldn't believe how quickly this school has gone downhill. I am hearing a lot of worried parents, there are many fights, the police have been called, it is quickly becoming a 'scary school'.' I truly believe that their child must be attending some other school... And there has always been fights and police at every school in the world and in all society. Their was a paranoid response due to the closing of East Middle School and the merging of that schools student populous within Sabin but it went as smooth as any transition could. East had a bad reputation and made News years ago but it was a soft school compared to any on the east coast or west. My children are thriving at Sabin and all the staff are great at their jobs. I believe the School Principal and Vice principals are great and have tremendous leadership skills above and beyond the call, as so all the teachers too. Security is ace also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I permitted my daughter to Sabin and have been glad that I did. She has recieved quality education. The staff has always been approachable. They have been quick to respond to my concerns. They have called me with their concerns. My daughter has improved and I appreciate the quality of education she is recieving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2007

I have been a parent at this school for the last 2 1/2 years. I have been so happy I thought this was a dream school. Things changed this year and I couldn't believe how quickly this school has gone downhill. I am hearing alot of worried parents, there are many fights, the police have been called, it is quickly becoming a 'scary school'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2004

As parents of kids of middle and high school ages we were completely suprised and happy with the care and education given our daughter at Sabin.I would recommend Sabin to any parents of MS children. Public schools don't come any better.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

286 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

273 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
34%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

262 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
Female54%
Male53%
Black (not Hispanic)31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracial25%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)63%
Free lunch eligible41%
Reduced lunch eligible46%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English55%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%

Reading

All Students71%
Female75%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracial46%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligible61%
Reduced lunch eligible71%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)20%
Students without disabilities74%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant70%

Writing

All Students50%
Female59%
Male40%
Black (not Hispanic)38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracial29%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligible38%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)10%
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English53%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female50%
Male47%
Black (not Hispanic)58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracial39%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Free lunch eligible40%
Reduced lunch eligible52%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities52%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)16%
Proficient in English51%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant49%

Reading

All Students61%
Female67%
Male55%
Black (not Hispanic)61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracial53%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligible55%
Reduced lunch eligible56%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)21%
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%

Writing

All Students51%
Female61%
Male41%
Black (not Hispanic)61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracial47%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Free lunch eligible45%
Reduced lunch eligible52%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)5%
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students36%
Female30%
Male43%
Black (not Hispanic)5%
Asiann/a
Hispanic23%
Multiracial41%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Free lunch eligible25%
Reduced lunch eligible42%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch47%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities38%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English38%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant36%

Reading

All Students67%
Female70%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracial77%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Free lunch eligible53%
Reduced lunch eligible81%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%

Science

All Students47%
Female43%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)16%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracial59%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligible62%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English49%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant48%

Writing

All Students47%
Female52%
Male41%
Black (not Hispanic)21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracial65%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Free lunch eligible35%
Reduced lunch eligible50%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities49%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English49%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 56%
Hispanic 30% 32%
Black 9% 5%
Two or more races 6% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3605 North Carefree Circle
Colorado Springs, CO 80917
Phone: (719) 328-7000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Russell Middle School
Colorado Springs, CO


Achievek12
Colorado Springs, CO


Falcon Virtual Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


Springs Adventist Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT