Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mitchell High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2014

From a teacher's point of view...My daughter taught at this school for a year and she said it was the worst experience she's ever had. She said most of the kids are at a fourth grade level education while many of them can hardly read or write. When she first started there, the other teachers warned her that she couldn't expect nearly the same things from these students as the other schools she had taught at and that they were strongly encouraged to pass them regardless of their grades so that Mitchell would not be shut down. The teachers would actually be reprimanded if they gave out too many failing grades. She also said that the parent involvement was terrible and that many of the kids were completely unruly and the school wouldn't back her when she tried to enforce discipline. Even the good students couldn't learn because of the behavior of the disruptive students. She would sometimes go home in tears because of her frustration. I believe a school should be accountable and people deserve to have the insider facts about this school, not just what parents and students see. If you value your child's education, don't send them to Mitchell.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 12, 2014

I have to say we heard nohing but bad about Mitchell. But after my daughter going there for 3 years and graduating a year early. I think it is an awesome school. The teachers and new principle CARE about the kids. The school has went though lts of changes. I do not agree with the rating of a 3. My daughter loved it!!!! o you can't judge a school til you go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2013

I am now a junior at Mitchell and I truly do not agree with the comments saying that it is a bad school. I have taken the hardest classes that I can and I have had major academic success. My teachers care about how I do in school and they encourage me to push myself to my highest potential. Just for the record, there is a lot of misunderstanding about the school. The area that the school was placed is not one of the best areas in town anymore, but that does not mean that the school is any worse than it used to be. There are multiple college level classes that you can get credit for from CU Denver. If you want to believe that this is a bad school I encourage you to take a tour and see the family that has grown out of the students and faculty. No school is perfect, but if you want a safer environment then I would highly recommend this school. It has a zero fighting policy and it does not have even half of the drug problems that many of the schools have in the rest of the springs. ( Yes that includes Pine Creek and Cheyenne Mountain)
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 6, 2012

-20...it is across the street from gang infested projects. We are moving so that my grandchildren will not be STUCK attending this sub-par excuse for a school. It is NOT a good school nor "MISUNDERSTOOD". Clean out the trash and Mitchell may have 1/2 a chance of being semi-decent.


Posted August 31, 2011

The principal can not write a complete sentence. That spells disaster for leadership. The teachers and principal did not follow through on plans to help my child. How am I supposed to show my student that doing school work is important to learning when the teachers gave him an A with half of the work missing? On July 11, 2011, a parent submitted that Mitchell "has the best JFROTC program." However these are some of the instructors who give As when major portions of work are missing. The instructors repeatedly failed to answer my emails about the situation. When they did answer, it was just empty assurances that they would make sure my student did his work. They didn't, and neither did he. This series of classes is supposed to teach acedemic responsibility and leadership, but completely fails at both. My wife and I also met with the principal to address my student's poor academic progress. We all agreed on a plan to address the situation. The next day, he met with my student, and told him something completely counter to what we had agreed. Again, my student was allowed to do nothing toward completing his work, and still get good grades as well as participate in activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2011

Mitchell High School is a great school. It is like all high schools with the occasional drama, but overall has a safe and caring learning environment. I would recommend this school to any family. Please don't listen to what others have to say, go by and check the school out for yourself. There is no perfect school. The staff will make sure your child receives an education if they want one. They are always willing to share their time, whether it is before, after, or during their personal time at school. It has the best JFROTC program in Colorado, with nearly 400 students enrolled, and they offer many other opportunities for your child to get involved with. The population is very diverse, the students love that about the school. The best way to ensure your child a great high school experience is to get involved with their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

After attending Mitchell for all four years of high school, I now finally appreciate it as the great school that it is. I was worried that when I went to college that I wouldn't have an education at the level of people from wealthier schools such as Cherry Creek, Highlands Ranch, or Smokey Hill would have in Denver. However, I was shocked when I went to college and my friends from these schools had never written a research paper longer 5 pages or in APA citation style. I was shocked when students from these school's that achieve better than Mitchell never learned the states or their capitals. Don't listen to every disgruntled student or parent about Mitchell. The world of education NEEDS discipline, even if it s unpopular. Schools NEED attendance policies and zero tolerance to violence. And like it or not, security guards are in EVERY school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2010

I had to pull my child out of that school. This school is not boot camp nor is it a respectful one at that. Security guards, attendance principle, are over whelming to my child. my child retaliates back and so yes he wouldn't comply 100% they picked on my child way to much, teachers would mark you absent if you are a little late, academic and professionalizm from teachers and other staff is not respectful nor comply to a parents concern of other situations within this school that I had problems with from the past. I will be taking the school to court for harrassment on my child;s behalf after i had taken him out of that horrible school, better yet going to the board. i would not recommend this school for your child. please seek a better school than this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2009

Mhs isn't what everybody thinks it is. Yes, there are usually fights and drama but every school has that. The problem is the education. The 'honors' classes are so easy they're actually boring. I don't learn anything new, just review of my 8th grade year. The students aren't diverse, there are Mexicans, African Americans, and Caucasians, just like any other school. It doesn't have any exciting clubs other schools don't already have, the courses are regular, the school is extremely small, and the population is small. They also have a JROTC program, which sounds good, but the teachers in the class aren't tolerant of anything, not even sitting in your chair comfortably, and take the class environment so seriously it is intimidating. I haven't learned anything in that class, and it isn't helping me build any skills I didn't already posses before. Overall, I don't recommend this school at all.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2008

Great school. My student valedictorian and is doing well and is very challenged. Couldn't be anymore pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

Love it! It's awesome and I wouldn't go anywhere else!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2008

Mitchell High School is one of the best schools in the district. People make it up to be a bad school with a bad reputation but the truth of the matter is that MHS is better than most schools in Colorado Springs. My freshman year we were on lock down every other week but in the last two years we have not had a single lock down. But we went on lockdown because things in the surrounding area were going bad and the school put us into protection. MHS is a very diverse school so people associtate it with gangs and ghetto but there is NO gangs or ghetto in C/S!! Go to Detroit or LA and then tell me MHS is ghetto. Every student should have a chance to go here and expirience the real world through the diverse bond that is MHS. ~Michael Johnson
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 8, 2007

I live around the school, and feel it's rep is horrible. I pulled my 2 kids from there when the troubles got too bad - the kids that attend are not good kids! Mine were getting no real education. I pulled them, and they are now passing with flying colors at another school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2007

I had three students attended Mitchell High School. All of them are now in college and doing a great job. They had good teachers who cared about them and kept me informed about their progress. I have a fourth child who I hope will have an opportunity to go there one day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2007

I attend Mitchell High and it is a wonderful school! I'm bipolar, and they work great with my 'disabilities', absences, and medication. At other schools they simply throw bipolar students in special ed so they don't have to deal with them. But MHS is happy to put me in AP classes and treat me well! True, MHS is in a mildly 'bad neighborhood', but that has little effect on the school! We have a high Hispanic and Black count, so naturally people associate that with gangs. I have never seen or heard of a gang at Mitchell! MHS has the second lowest drug rate in district 11, CIVA is first The security and staff is excellent, we have a great music, drama, foreign language, arts, and SAIL+ programs. -Anna M, student
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2007

Any school has it's problems. I have 3 boys that attended MHS. One got expelled. One graduating this year and one in 10th grade doing well. My kids love MHS and I will send my 2 other kids there without a second thought. Parents need to quit blaming the school and staff for there failing kids. some kids go to school to learn others to hang out and be cool. my oldest son got expelled because of his bad choices. not once did I blame the school. In my eyes MHS is a great school. people need to quit blaming others for there or there kids wrong choices. If your kids need help at MHS it is always there for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2006

My older son graduated from MHS and my youngest is a student there now. They have both had positive, successful experiences there. The oldest was well prepared for his college classes and responsibilities through the SAIL and Honors programs. As with any school, he had some outstanding teachers, and some disappointments, but throughout he felt encouraged and supported by the staff. Both boys have participated in sports and extra-curricular activities on a level that might have been difficult in a different school. They have developed strong friendships, self identities, and a sense of community at Mitchell. I'm tired of all the people putting this school down. Mitchell isn't perfect, but it is filled with good kids and staff. You get out of high school what you put in it. Kids who are involved, interested and have a positive attitude will excel there and appreciate the unique qualities Mitchell has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2006

I believe this school is one of the worst in Colorado Springs. I am happy that I could afford to leave this district but many can't and those who stay should bond together to demand a better level of education and leadership than is currently available in this district.Security is a joke even among students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2006

I'd rather have my child go to any other school in CS than Mitchell. The reputation is bad and the school lives up to it in academics, extracurricular activities as well as a very poor discipline policy. I would not recommend sending a child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

I graduated from MHS in 2003, and agree that there new principal has initiated some very poor policy,the principla previous to her was excellent, and he really turned that school around for the better. The new principal creates policy that does not all the students the ability to learn about integrity, trust, and responsibility-- they are treated with little respect and as children.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
15%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
43%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
16%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
31%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

219 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students16%
Female15%
Male17%
Black (not Hispanic)7%
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracial31%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)20%
Free lunch eligible15%
Reduced lunch eligible4%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch23%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities17%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)7%
Proficient in English17%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant16%

Reading

All Students51%
Female58%
Male44%
Black (not Hispanic)41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracial69%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligible46%
Reduced lunch eligible61%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)21%
Proficient in English53%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant51%

Writing

All Students32%
Female36%
Male28%
Black (not Hispanic)22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Multiracial44%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)42%
Free lunch eligible26%
Reduced lunch eligible48%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch44%
Students with disabilities (IEP)0%
Students without disabilities36%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)3%
Proficient in English35%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students13%
Female12%
Male15%
Black (not Hispanic)0%
Asiann/a
Hispanic8%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)25%
Free lunch eligible13%
Reduced lunch eligible5%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch16%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities14%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)3%
Proficient in English16%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant13%

Reading

All Students58%
Female65%
Male51%
Black (not Hispanic)39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Free lunch eligible57%
Reduced lunch eligible45%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)45%
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%

Science

All Students28%
Female24%
Male34%
Black (not Hispanic)10%
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)48%
Free lunch eligible27%
Reduced lunch eligible40%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch28%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities30%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)7%
Proficient in English32%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant29%

Writing

All Students27%
Female33%
Male20%
Black (not Hispanic)16%
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)45%
Free lunch eligible24%
Reduced lunch eligible25%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch34%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities30%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)3%
Proficient in English32%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

94%

Average ACT score

17

Graduation rate

70%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 40% 32%
White 40% 56%
Black 12% 5%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1205 Potter Dr
Colorado Springs, CO 80909
Phone: (719) 328-6600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Achievek12
Colorado Springs, CO



St Mary's High School
Colorado Springs, CO


Wasson High School
Colorado Springs, CO


American Christian Academy
Colorado Springs, CO



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT