Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Panorama Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 518 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 7, 2014

Two years in a row, this school has sent me a bill for school lunches. The issue is that, last year, we qualified for free lunches yet I still got a bill in the mail. I was able to have that cleared up. This year, my child has been bringing a lunch EVERYDAY, there is NO activity on his lunch account, yet they still sent me bills. I say "bills" because I received a bill for $20, $19, $65, etc.....And when I called multiple phone numbers to have this cleared up, I basically received the run-a-round and they are refusing to erase the charges. I even asked them if, by chance, another student may have used my child's ID number. I was told they have no way to find this out and that I am responsible for the bills I was sent. This mistake has happened TWO YEARS IN A ROW!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2014

The principal at this school this year has been yelling at staff over the intercom, taking students off campus (and buying them lunch) during classes and without parent permission, and ignoring student threats (with weapons) to teachers. Way to go, Panorama! Way to go!


Posted January 21, 2014

One of the counselors made me feel as if my child and his feelings regarding a child bullying him at school did not matter as much as the bully because the bully had problems at home and was transitioning into a new school....I understand the other child has problems but get him some help and please do not make excuses for his behavior...because I feel my son is there to learn too not be bullied by that child....my son is on the honor roll and a good kid...I guess if my child were a real troublemaker at this school he would get your devout attention.....and not have consequences for his actions...CMON AND GET REAL!!!! I would like to THANK the principal today for making the day a whole lot easier though....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2013

If there was a -1000 rating that is what I would give this school. The last few months I have noticed several things from teachers and administrative staff yelling and using profanity to the kids. One teacher even apparently choked a child. THIS is NOT ok. NO teacher or staff member should ever put their hands on a child unless they are trying to defend themselves. Had this been my child who had been choked this teacher would have been prosecuted. There is absolutely no structure at this school. The staff with the exception of a select few, treat you as if you have no right to say anything about what goes on at school, sorry but If something is going on with my child that I don't like you will hear from me BELIEVE that. I am that mom. I will call you out when I believe you are wrong. If you have any other options DON'T send your child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2013

My children went here last year for part of the year. The resource teacher I asked her to encourage my son to do homework to help him with his memory since it is not mandatory for special needs kids to have homework. The teacher gave up after a week or two of trying. Not long enough to get my child use to it or even a routine. She wanted wanted a parent teacher conference once a month. We only had 2. Before my kids were even enrolled I could not see what the special needs room would look like to see if it was a real good fit for my son. Come to find out when they had parent teacher conference there was not enough staffing for my kids and the other students in that classroom. My daughter ended up getting bullied there and ended up in a fight after the teachers and staff would not do anything about the issue. I asked more then once to talk to the principal more then once. They keep sending me to the student counselors who listened but did nothing to help us. My daughter did not want to go to schoolbecauseofthewaystudentsandstafftreatedher. Ihaveneverhadissueslikethatwithmydaughterever. Shehaslikedgoingtoschoolandsheisaverysocialkid. Thisschoolwasnotveryhelpfulforherbeinga7thgrader.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

My school is actually a lot better than most people say. My mother used to be a substitute teacher there, and she said that it was not a very good school. However, it slowly improved, and by time I went to Panorama in the 7th grade, it was a very good school. It kept my anxiety at a minimum, i made friends easily, and was not bullied at all, unlike at my other school, and did not have unnecessary amounts of homework. We do have some homework, but not as much as the school i went to in 6th grade had. Some students in regular classes just like to talk, however, I've seen in my Pre AP classes that students actually care about learning. I'd like to see the students in regular classes listen to the teachers more, as well as do their work. Sometimes they ruin the class experiences of me and others that would like to learn, not goof off. Overall, Panorama is a very nice school, and I plan on going here for the eighth grade.


Posted August 5, 2013

This school is Amazing,if I could go there I would the teacher only want nothing but the best. If you like sucess then go to this Prep school please go. Ms. Huddleston and Ms. Parks are the best teachers in life recommend


Posted February 17, 2013

Boy has this school changed in the last year! The teachers put forth great effort to see that my child makes growth. She has gotten caught up to proficient and is now taking AP classes. There is a sense of caring and community when working with the staff. When we did have a problem the principal called and it was worked out in a sensible manner. I feel my child is safe, well cared for and is learning more than she was in previous Springs middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2010

I had my daughter in this school for 3 months before pulling her out to homeschool. The majority of the staff was inflexible and unwilling to be supportive of the students or their parents. We had numerous incidents where my child was a victim of bullying and humilation that caused her grades to drop dramatically. I pulled her out to homeschool and she succeeded with flying colors! One staff member told me that the school is run like a business and that my daughter's special needs status was little more than a paycheck for them; this staff memeber encouraged me to homeschool and I'm so glad I did!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2010

I believe it is a shame that nothing is done about this school or the administrative staff. I have been looking into other websites to see what the school is rated and it is about 92 I believe out of 122 in Colorado. What does this say? I'll tell you what it says.... that a majority of the staff is not willing to take ownership for what they are doing to these children and are in it for the paycheck. This is a district where there is not alot of money. I am a single parent. I have an education and a decent job but I want more for my kids than what I can do for them so I push them to do the absolute best and there is absolutely no support from the staff. No encouragement and no tools for the parents to use. History repeats!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2010

This is the worst school I have ever had my children in. Their lack of discipline and control with students is unacceptable. I feel no child is safe. I would not recommend this school to anyone and my kids will not be reuturning next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

Excellent student achievement scores in a school with 72% free and reduced lunch rate.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

157 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
55%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

156 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

170 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
39%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female62%
Male55%
Black (not Hispanic)42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)29%
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)35%
Proficient in English59%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%

Reading

All Students63%
Female74%
Male54%
Black (not Hispanic)58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligible63%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)21%
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)53%
Proficient in English65%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%

Writing

All Students45%
Female55%
Male37%
Black (not Hispanic)45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Free lunch eligible43%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch53%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities50%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)41%
Proficient in English46%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Female51%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligible68%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)17%
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)50%
Proficient in English53%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant52%

Reading

All Students50%
Female62%
Male40%
Black (not Hispanic)50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Free lunch eligible40%
Reduced lunch eligible90%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)26%
Students without disabilities53%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)37%
Proficient in English53%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant51%

Writing

All Students42%
Female48%
Male37%
Black (not Hispanic)46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)43%
Free lunch eligible35%
Reduced lunch eligible74%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch47%
Students with disabilities (IEP)16%
Students without disabilities46%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)30%
Proficient in English44%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female62%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligible55%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)47%
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%

Reading

All Students59%
Female67%
Male52%
Black (not Hispanic)62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligible54%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)41%
Proficient in English62%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant59%

Science

All Students54%
Female54%
Male54%
Black (not Hispanic)52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Free lunch eligible49%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)35%
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant55%

Writing

All Students41%
Female50%
Male34%
Black (not Hispanic)45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Free lunch eligible36%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch55%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities45%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)18%
Proficient in English44%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 40% 32%
Black 31% 5%
White 22% 56%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2145 South Chelton
Colorado Springs, CO 80916
Phone: (719) 579-3220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Atlas Preparatory School
Colorado Springs, CO



Carmel Middle School
Colorado Springs, CO


All Peoples Learning Center
Colorado Springs, CO


Jack Swigert Aerospace Academy
Colorado Springs, CO


Mountain Vista Community School
Colorado Springs, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT