Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sheridan High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 28, 2014

I used to go to this school (I moved to a better one) and it was so terrible, it made me have so much anxiety I missed more than 2 weeks in a row.The students are disrespectful,the teachers didn't do anything about it. I think if they had stronger, firmer teachers and principals, maybe the students would act better.


Posted January 31, 2013

When I went to this school (for 4 years) the teachers were incredible but then they laid off a large portion of their staff. I do not feel that I grew academically or socially while enrolled in this school. I also feel that they let students graduate without teaching them standard curriculum and therefore do not prepare students for college. I do not recommend this district for your children.


Posted January 3, 2011

I'm currently a freshman at Sheridan High and am hoping to transfer after first semester. Though the small class sizes and family like culture is great, the academics are terrible. We have some of the lowest test scores in Colorado. According to http://www.schooldigger.com, we rank number 261 of 305. Tell me that's not embarrassing. They're too focused on the negativeness of the school and trying to hard to fix the issues. All in all, I would definitely not send your child to Sheridan High School. I'd personally try Littleton Public Schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2010

Test scores are horrible, I think they are trying to make the academics better but they have a long way to go. If your child has great potential for sports or a great future find a different school. If your child has trouble in school and you just hope for them to graduate go to sheridan.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2010

My child goes there and hey it's a great school there football team great all there sports. This school is the best and i recommend your child goes there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

I liked the fact that the Teachers/Entire Staff know their students by name and really care about them and the students know and care about each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

Sheridan High School is a complete joke and shouldn't even be considered a school. The academics are so terrible, I mean look at the the test scores. The rating of this school fits it just perfect. I highly recommend not sending your child here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 8, 2007

The new principal this year seems to have great potential. He has already enriched the school with new ideas and a fresh approach. The teachers seem excited to work with him. I think the future is bright for Sheridan!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

I attended this school and the middle school. I had the BEST experiences there! The discipline and expected behavior were strict but very fair. This school instilled pride in its students and the faculty were OUTSTANDING! I highly recommend this school district!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 10, 2006

This is school is horrbile the teachers do not listen
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 29, 2004

I go to sheridan high I'm in 10th grade.I Love it. the teachers a very nice and helping. the teachers are there to help me when i need it.Sheridan high school is one of the best schools in colordo to me. My father even went to sheridan high school. Its just a GREAT school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
13%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
33%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
17%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
7%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
28%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
18%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students14%
Female13%
Male15%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic10%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)13%
Free lunch eligible11%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities16%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English12%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant13%

Reading

All Students32%
Female39%
Male28%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)38%
Free lunch eligible30%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities33%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English30%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant31%

Writing

All Students20%
Female32%
Male13%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic17%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)25%
Free lunch eligible21%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities23%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English16%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant19%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students14%
Female14%
Male14%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic9%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible15%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities16%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)13%
Proficient in English10%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant12%

Reading

All Students35%
Female50%
Male22%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible34%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities38%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)17%
Proficient in English45%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant37%

Science

All Students15%
Female16%
Male14%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible15%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities17%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)0%
Proficient in English19%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant16%

Writing

All Students15%
Female25%
Male6%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic15%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible14%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities17%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)0%
Proficient in English19%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant16%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

97%

Average ACT score

16

Graduation rate

31%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 74% 32%
White 17% 56%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3201 West Oxford Ave
Denver, CO 80236
Phone: (720) 833-6987

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Summit Academy
Denver, CO



Humanex Academy
Englewood, CO



Colorado Academy
Denver, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT