Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mullen High School

Private | 9-12 | 750 students

Our school is best known for academics, athletics and faith-based teaching.
 
 

 
 

Living in Denver

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $172,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 24, 2013

As a recent graduate of Mullen, I can easily say that Mullen prepared me for college, social situations, and real life better than my peers who attended other high schools. Mullen students and graduates are just more polished, respectful, aware, and eager to serve others. I am so proud to say that I am a mustang. From the retreats to the football games, I will forever treasure my time at Mullen, and I recommend it to anyone looking for a superior and challenging education and a strong, faith-filled community.


Posted January 16, 2012

Best decision we have ever made for our son! First school to ever challenge him academically. Watching his spiritual growth is amazing. School has great kids, teachers, and parents. Love the hockey and lacrosse coaches, too. All these have helped our son grow into a responsible young man. Looking forward to another one attending this fine school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2011

Love Mullen! I came from a public school and worried about fitting in, but lots of people do. The community is great. The academics are great and challenging. And they have a great sports program. I couldn't be happier. It really sets you up for a bright future. I recommend this school strongly
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2011

Wow. I have two current students-both honors/AP students. The comments about freshmen honors english couldn't be more wrong. This is definitely one of the best classes and I don't know another parent who disagrees! There are parents who think their child is the chosen one and their delicate eyes and senses can't handle any "worldy" literature. Good luck in the real world. Oh and good luck at the next school. You might try the convent. This is a great school and a good fit for a variety of teens. I don't believe a word about that parent's comments on spiritual development. Mullen has an overwhelming student population of spiritually devoted young men and women. True community spirit. It's awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2011

This is not a Catholic high school - this is a private high school with a Catholic history. The academic curriculum is more concerned about adhering to worldly standards than it is with developing its students morally, spiritually, and intellectually while adhering to Catholic principles of excellence. We just pulled our straight-A, scholarship recipient, freshman student out after completing the first trimester after she was assigned reading material loaded with profanity, sexual content, racism, violence, and anti-Catholicism in her English Honors class that was condoned all the way up through the principal. We were told that if we objected to the R-rated "literature" assigned in this and future classes that we were expecting "special treatment." If you value your children's faith development, find another school. This school can say that they are 100% faithful to the Magisterium of the Roman Catholic Church on their website, but they don't let it influence their curriculum outside of the Theology department.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

I love Mullen! I came from public school and fit right in. It is a very diverse school. The academics are challenging and there are a lot of options. The athletics are great and fun to follow, but certainly don't overshadow the importance of academics. The tradition is great and helps to create a true Mullen family, even for those like me who are not Catholic. As of now (2011) Mullen is going through a time of transition, but is already making great strides toward an even brighter future.


Posted December 1, 2010

A fantastic school. While people complain about sports being the "soul" of the school, it isn't true. The media portrays the school as being so. I haven't heard of any other school that has the quality teaching and overall quality of Mullen. I took honors and AP classes and have clearly seen their impact in my life. I can also confidently say I have seen other schools honors courses and AP courses, including some IB programs, and they don't compare to Mullen's. The school holds its students to an extremely high standard. I would absolutely suggest Mullen to hard working students and their parents. It is worth the sacrifice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2010

What a place for structure- foundation- spirit- ethics- values-academics-athletics-principles! What more could we ask for in a school for our children- The pride can be felt all around the Mullen campus- on a "daily" basis---------it overwhelmingly the best fit for our son!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2010

Amazing school. Prepared our son for university incredibly well - plus, he recieved so much academic scholarship money because of the great education he recieved at Mullen. We love this school. Great community. Great spirit and values!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

My daughter graduates from Mullen this next spring (2009), and I couldn't be happier with the education she's received. Academically, the school is world-class. She will graduate with six AP classes on her record - practically her freshmen year at college done - and she aced the three AP tests she's taken already (two fives and a four). It's a very friendly, spiritual place where she's feels welcomed by everyone. She told me her freshmen year, 'It's easy to make friends here; you just sit by yourself at lunch and someone invites you over.' BTW, she doesn't play any sports, and that's no problem there whatsoever. I guarantee that her three siblings will follow her to Mullen!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2008

I'm currently a Mullen student and I love mullen! It's a great school and I would suggest it to any eighth graders looking for an awesome highschool to put on their college app!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2008

I am a Mullen Student and I can honestly say that Mullen is a fantastic school and you should recommend coming here. Yeah, the sports are big, but where are they not big? The academics are what is really important to me. The classes are challenging and that is what causes me to learn. Come visit!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2008

Mullen is definitely the best school in Colorado. As a former student, i can honestly say that going there was one of the best decisions of my life. There are a lot of mullen haters out there, and truth be told they are just jealous, but who wouldn't be? You truley cannot get better than mullen and i would reccomend this school at the highest level to any student looking for an exciting and challenging high school career, as well as the birghtest of futures. Trust me, this school is amazing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2007

i lovew this school and you cant get better than it, this school is very well rounded and it has a very good campus and the children attending this school are very bright.


Posted October 1, 2007

This school is a very well rounded school. It helps the students challenge them selves. The faculty is also very good with the students and helps them learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

A very quality experience for students and parents. High marks for spiritual, academic, athletic, social, emotional and physical development of teens. Graduates are well prepared for the university experience, academically and socially. Great school spirit, with students, staff, parents and educators who really care about building ethical indivdual character, team spirit and active citizenship. We have had 5 children go through Mullen with great success in every case.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2007

Mullen is mediocre at best, Sports are the big draw. New blood, higher expectations and some discipline would be helpful as well as less emphasis on boys sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2007

My daughter is a freshman at Mullen, and up until very late last spring she was to attend another Catholic HS. For various reasons, she switched course and went to Mullen in the fall with less than total enthusiasm, but it is the best decision we have made as a family. She loves it, and so do my wife and I. The teachers are great, the environment is supportive and enthusiastic, and the parent involvement is outstanding. I can unreservedly recommend Mullen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2007

After one semester at another private Catholic High School my son transferred to Mullen. This is a school that meets the needs of the individual student. It was a great move and worth every dime. This is a school run by the staff and not the parents. A wonderful change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2006

My daughter currently goes to mullen, she will graduate 2008. When she started there, she was definitely not gung ho about the whole idea. This year, she joined the poms team (lets face it, she cant throw a ball to save her life and dancing is her passion) and she has started to love it. The spirit at their school, the school spirit is impeccable, and seeing the homework levels and class levels of the kids she used to go to school with, she is excelling quite abundantly. Mullen is more like a family than a school. And its a great school to send your kids to.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 62%
Hispanic 21% 29%
Black 11% 5%
Asian 5% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 2-year college 1% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 98% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 1% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 0% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 0% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • SADD

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Mulitple visiting college reps
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Carl Unrein, President/CEO
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • www.mullenhigh.com
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (303) 761-0502

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • De La Salle Program
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Mulitple visiting college reps
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Poms Squad
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Drum line
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA)
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • SADD
  • Sewing/knitting club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • World Affairs Challenge
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Mullen High School is celebrating over 80 years of providing the highest quality Catholic, college prep education to students from throughout the Denver. Located in southwest Denver at Hampden and Lowell, graduates from Mullen attend some of the most competitive and prestigious universities in America including Harvard, Yale, Dartmouth, Princeton, Stanford, Notre Dame, the United States Air Force and Naval Academies, and many others. Visit us to see more.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Mulitple visiting college reps
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 1%
4 year college - 98%
Military - 1%
Vocational - 0%
Workforce - 0%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3601 S Lowell Blvd
Denver, CO 80236
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 761-1764

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Summit Academy
Denver, CO



Humanex Academy
Englewood, CO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT