Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


University of Denver High School 5

Posted August 28, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

University of Denver High School 1

Posted July 23, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


University of Denver High School 2

Posted July 18, 2006
- a former student
I attended DUHS during the years 2003-2005 and in that time I found that the prep school I thought i was going to attend was just a facade for a poor excuse for structure or preparation for college. The teachers were not bad When i shadowed at the school i was told that i would be doing about 3-4 hours of homework a night but because of longer class periods most everyone got it done in class. Grading was not even close to as hard as public schools because they want the kids to think that they are exceptional, yet, in public school i have met many smarter and more well rounded people.

University of Denver High School 5

Posted May 09, 2006
- a student
personaly the best school I have ever been to. an intamate learning environment and friendly teachers allow students to learn. with two hour classes it realy alows for time for asking questions to teachers and realy grasping concepts. However the class of 2007 will be the last class to ever graduate from DUHS due to DU's wishes. next year there will be only two classes sophmores and seniors, however the sophmore class is not being granted the privledge of graduating from this fine institution. other than this the quality of education is unrivald, and although there are not enough students to have many of the extracurricular activities that large schooldo, the ones that we do have could not possibly be more fun.

University of Denver High School 5

Posted April 21, 2006
- a parent
Excellent Academic program. Wide variety of arts programs, with the option to use all University facilities. Basketball, Vollyball and Ultimate Frisbee on location, but students have the choice to also play with other school teams; East etc. There is a very high parent involvment rate, truly a superb school.


University of Denver High School 5

Posted May 18, 2005
- a student
I am a student at DUHS, and all I can say is it is a great High school. Instead of having classes specific to your grade level, you pick the classes you want, as long as you meet the prerequisites for that class. Due to it's small size (150 ish), there are limited extracurricular programs, but the ones provided are very high quality (like the 'intensives', a one week period where there are no classes, and students attend thier intensive all day, these can range from cooking to stained glass making to backpacking. Unfortinately, at this time (may, 05), the university is attempting to 'phase out' the school, limiting enrollment to transfers from other schools (no incoming freshmen). We are working to develop a partnership with another school such that we can stay alive. IF YOU ARE ATTENDING HIGH SCHOOL IN THE DENVER AREA, DONT PASS UP THIS EDUCATIONAL OPPERTUNATY!

University of Denver High School 5

Posted March 30, 2005
- a student
I'm not a parent, but I am a student at DUHS. I can't even begin to explain the uniqueness and value of DUHS. It has been the best educational experiance. DUHS allows you to grow, both academically and on a personal level. The teachers are AMAZING. They care about all of us, and are genuinely interested in our lives. As cheesy as it may sound, DUHS truly is a family.

University of Denver High School 5

Posted September 12, 2004
- a parent
There isn't a better high school program out there. I have 2 college bound daughters at D.U.H.S. right now; I am amazed at how well the school is able to meet virtually all the needs of all of the students. The faculty and staff know each child's name and Bill Patterson has done a fantastic job in creating a safe academic community. Students (even the shy ones) feel safe expressing and exploring ideas to their teachers and peers. However, don't misread this safety as a trade off for academics...students must achieve an 80% or higher in their coursework to pass. Most folks aren't aware this fine program exists. They should be.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

University of Denver High School
2306 E. Evans Avenue, Denver, CO  80208
(303) 871-2636
Last modified University of Denver High School is a Private school that serves grades 10-12
University of Denver High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top