Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fred N Thomas Career Education Center

Public | 9-12 | 400 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2014

I have two students who attended CEC full time and I could not be happier. While I was not terribly impressed with the academic teachers in-house, the concurrent enrollment program is exceptional. The students take classes on the Auraria campus and learn the academic rigor that goes along with taking real college classes. The career classes are practical and offer real-world experience that few learners receive anywhere else. The school offers career classes to the entire school district so any DPS student can learn important career skills. Mary Abbott is the most dedicated counselor I have ever met. Seniors must attend a class every Friday that helps them fill out college applications, apply for scholarships, and get ready for life beyond high school. I have yet to see another high school that works so hard to make sure that the students will do more than just attend college in the fall, but actually know what they are doing once they get there. I do wish the school was more diverse, in the true sense of the word but other than that I was amazed by the things my kids learned and by the experiences they had that they would not have had anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2011

I was a full time student here at CEC for four years, and I am extremely satisfied with the experience I had with this school. The career classes are obviously one of the major highlights of CEC. I went for audio engineering and gained a lot of knowledge of the music industry, simply because I was able to apply what I learned from the textbook in a real life situation. The teachers are phenomenal. They were able to give me an inside look at the various career industries, because they actually worked in those fields. I still remian friends with a lot of old teachers. The BEST THING I got out of CEC was being able to take college classes when I was a junior and senior. My academic classes were actually on the Auraria Campus. I believe the success and confidence I have in attending college and doing school work was highly influenced by CEC. I am a sophomore in college going for a bachelors degree in music business, and I am very grateful for having the opportunity to go to CEC.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 3, 2011

This school caters to the idea that their students, minorities especially, are underprivileged and incompetent. The curriculum for all their classes, career programs included, are created in such a way that someone with the inability to read or write can pass them. Its not just this school, its DPS in general. This school and district have an unspoken motto no one fails . This means that if a student receives an F, from lack of study habits and homework, they will change their grade to a C and most likely fire the teacher. I worked this school for one semester. The standards are low, the school in underfunded, and teachers are warned giving an F is a fireable offense. The children are taught in an environment that supports lack of work ethic, lack of standards, lack of respect and a feeling of entitlement. Additionally, , 40% of the students that attend here are undocumented immigrants. English is a second language here at best. If you are looking for a school that will give your child a diploma, but not actually teach them anything they need to succeed in life, this is it. If you want your child to be respectful, hard working and knowledgeable, I suggest you look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 17, 2011

CEC is not a traditional high school; it is very small with only about 400 students and only 200 on campus. We don't have language classes, physical education, or sports teams; which are the reasons why most students decide not to come here. The best qualities of this school are the career classes and PAID college classes (if you receive a C or higher). Career classes give a hands-on experience with real equipment used in that particular career. Although the academic classes for 9th-10th aren't as great as the career classes, people need to know that the DPS (Denver Public Schools) district controls the academic side of our school, and the teachers and staff members try to keep it as challenging at possible. I just finished my first year here, and I'm looking forward to the next three years. With the help from a few teachers and consolers, I am building a path for myself to graduate high school with a resume filled with internships, computer skills, and an associates degree. Most students don't take the advantage of the school as I do, because they're oblivious to the idea. Students like these are the reasons why people think CEC is such a bad school, but it's the opposite.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2010

I hear and understand the concerns about academic curriculum. It may be important to understand that teachers are forced to teach the Denver Public School curriculum. We try to make it more challenging, we try to give a higher level of education, but inevitably, administrators come in and catch us moving away from prescribed curriculum. The DPS curriculum gives no homework and does subdue the learning process. To make change, however, DPS school board needs to hear these complaints. The teachers' hands are tied.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 6, 2010

Career classes are great. Academic classes are poor. The bar is set lower, but that is not the main problem. The teachers are ineffective at providing structure and building background information. Grading is erratic and doesn't make sense. Three principals in three years, and the most recent one is more concerned with his own career than listening to parents and responding to their concerns. The school has a great model, but does not deliver.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2010

the only good thing about this school is its career classes other than that there is no other great things about it, this school has very very little diversity, it doesn't offer any advance classes for the 9th and 10th graders. this is my first and last year at this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2009

CEC has good and bad qualities. The career classes are great as is the post-secondary options. The core acedemic program is lacking and caters to the sterotypes of minorities and tends to lower the bar, so the slower student can keep up. Not at all acedemicly challenging. There is a big push for students to attend CCD or a commuter or vocational college. Traditional 4 year universities are frowned upon.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2008

As a student at CEC I lov ethis school. The classes are exceptional and the teacers are amazing. I love how we get hands on experience in the career classes. I also really like how we are treated as more than just the typical high shool student. We are treated like the young, hard-working men and women that we are.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2006

CEC's academics are somewhat under par.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students28%
Female25%
Male32%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible29%
Reduced lunch eligible19%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch29%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities29%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English21%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant28%

Reading

All Students81%
Female84%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible82%
Reduced lunch eligible81%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%

Writing

All Students64%
Female69%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible62%
Reduced lunch eligible75%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities66%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students40%
Female31%
Male60%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible34%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities42%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English42%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant41%

Reading

All Students86%
Female88%
Male83%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible88%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant86%

Science

All Students61%
Female55%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%

Writing

All Students63%
Female67%
Male53%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Free lunch eligible61%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities65%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

98%

Average ACT score

19

Graduation rate

84%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 85% 32%
White 9% 57%
Asian 3% 3%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Auto mechanics
  • Computer programming

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Fax number
  • (720) 423-6604

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Vocational education
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Auto mechanics
  • Business management
  • Computer programming
  • Construction / building
  • Culinary

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2650 Eliot St
Denver, CO 80211
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 423-6600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT