Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
39 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


East High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted September 28, 2015
- a community member
I would say thanks to every teacher I have had at this school for putting up with such incompetence from me.

East High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted September 28, 2015
- a community member
They are so much better than alternative school teachers they really do give you fun projects to be creative. That is what I miss the most about normal school.


East High School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted September 28, 2015
- a community member
I really looooovvvveee how much work they give you it makes me miss being somebody. It sucks being at an alternative school and I miss getting my classwork from here

East High School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a community member
They really will make sure you are doing your best. And if you dont they will help you the best they can.

East High School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted September 28, 2015
- a community member
It depends on who they think you are honestly. I didnt like that they treated me the way they did but that's life. A 17 year old boy doesn't deserve an education.


East High School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted September 28, 2015
- a community member
They really do its just they were upset when I dropped out and they heard alot about my home life and it spread all throughout the school.

East High School 5

Posted June 10, 2015
- a community member
East High School held some of the best experiences of my life. I moved to Denver from Winter Park CO when I was going into my freshman year. It was extremely difficult moving from a high school with 400 students total to a high school of 2200 students, but I wouldn't change a THING. Being heavily involved in music, both the choir teacher and the band teacher were, and STILL are top of the line musicians as well as fantastic teachers. Although I didn't have the best test scores and I wasn't valedictorian, my education at East landed me at a BIG10 school in of the best music schools in the country where I am still continuing to study music. My point being, at East High School you can be, do, and accomplish anything you want. The teachers will be right by your side cheering you on as long as you put in the work. I found my passion at this high school, not to mention a ton of other friends who had so many different passions. If you are lucky enough to send your child to this school, I promise it is an amazing choice. I still return to the fourth floor every now and then to witness the unforgettable view of the city.

East High School 5

Posted April 06, 2015
- a community member
excellent performing arts and sports program. Teaching staff is involved and interested in student development


East High School 4

Posted May 25, 2014
- a parent
In many ways this is a very good school & I'm willing to delete the comment & write about all the great stuff. One appalling flaw that I and many other parents have brought up for more than this year to admin is the practice in 1 Spanish rm. The teacher uses like a roulette wheel for kids to earn 'pesos' for participating in class. They participate (if called on), spin a wheel thing, then where ever it lands is how many pesos the kid gets. Don't know exactly-there are various numbers from 0-100 on the wheel. Kids buy pesos from other kids so they can get their participation grade up (a friend in my kid's class has pd > $25 for pesos this yr from others who gets picked all the time and has more pesos than they need.) If they get a bad grade on the final exam, they can hand in any extra pesos to make their grade better. One kid who has tons of pesos has been saying that they can fail the final next wk & still get an A. How about the kid that doesn't get picked often & doesn't have $ to buy pesos from others? Admin people says the roulette is used in many foreign lang classes to get kids to participate more. Admin says the buying of pesos isn't taking place anymore- false.

East High School 5

Posted March 07, 2014
- a parent
We are new to the city and we knew East HS would be a big change for my 9th grade daughter. It has been the very best change. The school culture is one of accepting all people as they are. Students can be who they want to be. Because of this my daughter has completely blossomed. She is so much more confident and happier. She is actually excited to go to school each day! It is not a cookie cutter, fit the "middle class, white, very christian, athlete" mold (as it was before we moved). There is so much diversity and yet, everyone seems to meld together and respect others even if they are different. It is a very safe school and while there is open lunch where the students can walk to Colfax for lunch and after school, police presence and dean presence is strong. They do not mess around if they think students are involved with drugs or fighting. The academics are great as with most college prep high schools. They offer many AP classes and honors classes. Choir and drama seem to be huge, as does Speech and Debate, and Basketball. Going to East has been life changing for my very miserable middle schooler! Love it!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

East High School
1600 City Park Esplanade, Denver, CO  80206
(720) 423-8300
Last modified East High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
East High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. Top