Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 37 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


40 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


East High School 4

Posted May 25, 2014
- a parent
In many ways this is a very good school & I'm willing to delete the comment & write about all the great stuff. One appalling flaw that I and many other parents have brought up for more than this year to admin is the practice in 1 Spanish rm. The teacher uses like a roulette wheel for kids to earn 'pesos' for participating in class. They participate (if called on), spin a wheel thing, then where ever it lands is how many pesos the kid gets. Don't know exactly-there are various numbers from 0-100 on the wheel. Kids buy pesos from other kids so they can get their participation grade up (a friend in my kid's class has pd > $25 for pesos this yr from others who gets picked all the time and has more pesos than they need.) If they get a bad grade on the final exam, they can hand in any extra pesos to make their grade better. One kid who has tons of pesos has been saying that they can fail the final next wk & still get an A. How about the kid that doesn't get picked often & doesn't have $ to buy pesos from others? Admin people says the roulette is used in many foreign lang classes to get kids to participate more. Admin says the buying of pesos isn't taking place anymore- false.

East High School 5

Posted March 07, 2014
- a parent
We are new to the city and we knew East HS would be a big change for my 9th grade daughter. It has been the very best change. The school culture is one of accepting all people as they are. Students can be who they want to be. Because of this my daughter has completely blossomed. She is so much more confident and happier. She is actually excited to go to school each day! It is not a cookie cutter, fit the "middle class, white, very christian, athlete" mold (as it was before we moved). There is so much diversity and yet, everyone seems to meld together and respect others even if they are different. It is a very safe school and while there is open lunch where the students can walk to Colfax for lunch and after school, police presence and dean presence is strong. They do not mess around if they think students are involved with drugs or fighting. The academics are great as with most college prep high schools. They offer many AP classes and honors classes. Choir and drama seem to be huge, as does Speech and Debate, and Basketball. Going to East has been life changing for my very miserable middle schooler! Love it!!


East High School 5

Posted February 27, 2014
- a community member
This school is great good sports teams good students and great academics also the teachers are really fun and caring.

East High School 4

Posted October 02, 2013
- a student
This school is amazing. There is a wide range of challenging classes available, the athletics are awesome, and the arts programs are equally remarkable. The teachers get better and better as the classes increase in difficulty. However, it is also known for being a "party" school.

East High School 5

Posted July 22, 2013
- a parent
Simply put, East is extraordinary. Although the school has a strong athletic tradition, the competitive academic environment and diverse culture is what really sets East apart. There is tremendous pride that comes with being an Angel.


East High School 5

Posted May 24, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is finishing up her freshman year at East. This is not our neighborhood high school but she was lucky to get accepted during the choice process. East has been fantastic. Great honors courses, fabulous drama and choir program, amazing school spirit and diversity (both racial and socioeconomic). She has thrived here and I couldn't be happier.

East High School 5

Posted December 16, 2011
- a parent
My son is a junior at Denver East High, and it has been a wonderful school for him. The Honors and AP classes are very challenging, and he has learned to think, debate, analyze and reason. I've been impressed with nearly every teacher he's had over the past 3 years. They are engaged and clearly love what they do. The school spirit is amazing, and it has richly rounded out my son's high school experience. He's has the opportunity to participate in the school debate program, the Spotlight newspaper, the cycling club and the rugby team. His friends play tennis, soccer, ultimate frisbee, participate on the Constitutional Scholars and NHS. East is truly a gift to Denver, and the students who have the opportunity to attend there.

East High School 4

Posted August 28, 2011
- a parent
I have an average student and find that as an average student my son needs additional tutoring to succeed in school,especially in math. I think East, like most public schools struggles with overcrowding. Teachers have so many students that they do not have time to devote to students on a "one on one" basis. That said, students have to reach out to teachers. If they do, the teachers do respond positively most of the time..


East High School 5

Posted August 19, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

East High School 0
no rating

Posted August 18, 2009
- a community member
As an East High graduate, I can tell you that the special thing about East has little to do with test scores. As a school it certainly has always produced fine academicians. The intangible something that is East comes from the people and the spirit from all that have gone before. It is not just some old building. It is a thriving and living entity that bridges yesterday and tomorrow. The call to greatness that East instills in its students will affect you for the rest of your life. It is one of the few life changing experiences that you can knowingly participate in. Embrace it. Become an Angel. Change your life

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

East High School
1545 Detroit St, Denver, CO  80206
(720) 423-8300
Last modified East High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
East High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews.