Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Steck Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 375 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 9, 2014

We absolutely love Steck. We moved to Hilltop primarily to reside in Steck's school district and have not been disappointed. It is a very rigorous, high-performing and fast-paced school, which is why it is ranked as one of the best elementary schools in the state. The downfall is that the school is highly desirable due to the incredible teachers and parent involvement, so the class sizes are large. However, the school has been creative in managing class sizes through applying for more funding for an extra teacher/class for the larger-sized grades. For instance, my daughter currently has 19 children in her morning (literacy) 1st grade class. In the afternoon, she joins her other classmates for "specials" with the bigger class of 29 students. Additionally, the PTA raises money through their annual auction to fund full-time para professionals to assist in every classroom, and to offset public funding shortfalls in art, music and technology. The teachers are absolutely my favorite part of the school. We have never been disappointed with the quality and dedication of our two children's teachers. It's a great public school option!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

Steck was our neighborhood school and while it receives high ratings it was a nightmare. The school does very well with high performing children but is incapable of working with children with different learning styles. The teachers told me they didn't know what else to do with my children. I pulled my children out of Steck and they are now happy and thriving at their new school. Their standardized test scores are improving and they are making up for the time lost at Steck. My only regret is I wish I had moved them sooner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2011

I had three children at this school last year (2009-2010) and we were a Steck family for three years before that. This year, I pulled all of my kids out and I have no regrets. There were two primary reasons for doing this: 1-Huge class sizes, and, 2-A one-size-fits-all approach that did not allow for learning differences. As far as I know, from friends that still have kids in this school, the 2nd grade now has 36 students in class! Of course, most of the kids are very smart and well-prepared for school, but these big class sizes and the lack of individual attention were not a good fit for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

We love Steck! It has been a wonderful place for our kids. It is truely the best school in the city
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2010

Having moved here from abroad this year, we deliberated long and hard over both public or private schools for my daughter, Steck is absolutely amazing. Under the leadership of an outstandingly personable and highly efficient principal, Steck has phenomenal teachers and every child counts. My daughter loves going to school every day and the peace of mind knowing she's getting a good foundation is immense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

We choiced in to Steck this year and my daughter loves her teacher and we love the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Steck elementary has been the greatest and couldn't be more pleased! great school spirit, great student involvement, great parents and great teachers!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

My grandson loves going to Steck. I was very impressed with the Steck system of dropping off and picking up students.....teachers very obviously concerned about the safety of the students.


Posted September 21, 2009

The Parent involvment!! Go Parents!! Keep up the hard work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2009

The parents and teachers really care about the children - academic, social and emotional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

The teachers are great!!!! They really care about our children. The standards for the children and Teachers are excellence. There is a lot of parent help in the classrooms which helps children understand that getting a good education is key.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Amazing principal, dedicated teachers, and involved parents make for the highest rated elementary in DPS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Steck is my alma mater as well as the school for my two kids, one of which has continuated from Steck and has moved on to Hill Middle School. Throughout my elementary school years as well as throughout my kids, Steck has been an exemplary school due to its fantastic and dedicated teaching staff and administration as well as the parents who are always involved and interested in their child's education. In the last 7 years that my kids have been at Steck, it has been rated as an excellent and now distinguished school in the Denver Public School district. In fact, it is 1 out of only 9 elementary schools in the DPS that has been rated as distinguished in the DPS for 2009. I am very proud that my kids have gone or are currently going to Steck, and the benefits of receiving an education at Steck has carried my son into middle school, where he is now excelling as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Steck school is one of the richest, most welcoming and warmest schools in the Denver system. The teachers are dedicated, passionate professionals whose main goal is to make learning happen for each and every child. As a parent, I feel extremely blessed for my family to be able to be a part of such a terrific environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

The faculty, staff and students at Steck all know that the students can do anything they dream of. Parents help out in the classroom so the teachers can focus on smaller groups, and students still get art, gym, music and library/technology. This public school is giving our kids a first-rate education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Steck is a top-notch school. As the first grade teacher described to the parents today, the kindergarten students came into 1st grade prepared with writing skills! The school expects excellence from teachers, parents, and the students. Academics are a top priority and the caring and expert staff will ensure that every child has the opportunity to meet their highest potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

I continue to be impressed with Steck and all the good people in the school district. During first grade the teachers notice his learning was not up to speed because of a Montessori background which he attended through kindergarden(different teaching style). Within the first four weeks of school they had him in a focused learning for his reading. This year in 2nd grade he is back on track and learning like a champ. Thanks Steck!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2009

I have been involved at Steck for over 8 years and have seen tremendous growth. It is an excellent school with active parent involvement and dynamic educators. I would not send my children anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2007

Excellent ECE program. My child has sensory processing disorder and with the help of the school psychologist, teacher, and special ed dept., he is thriving and loving school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

Not too happy about its location to busy streets and crime rate.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female97%
Male88%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant92%

Reading

All Students94%
Female100%
Male88%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch94%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant94%

Writing

All Students74%
Female83%
Male63%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female96%
Male97%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch98%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant96%

Reading

All Students97%
Female100%
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)98%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch98%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant97%

Writing

All Students91%
Female96%
Male87%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)93%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English92%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant100%

Reading

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities100%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant100%

Science

All Students96%
Female95%
Male97%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch98%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant96%

Writing

All Students98%
Female100%
Male97%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch100%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant98%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 56%
Hispanic 11% 32%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 10%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • LaDawn Baity
Fax number
  • (720) 424-3895

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Foreign languages taught
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

425 Ash St
Denver, CO 80220
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 424-3870

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT