Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ellicott Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2013

We moved here from Texas in 2006 and my kids have loved this school more than anything. We have met some great teachers, parents, and kids here. There is nothing like a nice country school. My teenager would fight us all the time about getting up and going to school in Texas, but since we came here he's up before anyone. I also am glad that I don't have to worry about "teen problems" here like at most schools. Mostly everyone knows everyone, and were all like family. Plus you can't beat the 3 day weekends... every weekend!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

Not even sure where to start! The principal is a joke, he doesn't care about the students, the staff in his building or the concerns of the parents. He is rarely ever around and I have heard him be condecending to the staff and belittle parents infront of students. When these issues are brought to the superintendent, he just screams and throws a fit like a middle school bully. I was standing in the Elementary behind the superintendent who was talking to the janators and he was swearing very loudly...IN THE ELEMENTARY SCHOOL during school hours!! I had hoped that the school board would not keep either of the new admin mentioned above because SEVERAL people have complained, I was very disappointed that choose to keep two men (super intendent and elementary principal) who are not only tearing down our schools but who have been fired from previous districts for serious issues. The last school the prinicipal worked at is worse off than Ellicott was when he took it over. Yes the reading scores went up slightly...this is a testiment to the staff not the new admin. Pulled all of our children from this school and district! Not a healthy enviroment, my suggestion would be, RUN! Run fast!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2013

Ellicott Elementary is a great school. I think the whole Ellicott school system is great. I have a special needs child and from day one every person I talked to was kind, professional, informative, and timely in returning my calls or getting back to me with answers to questions I had. They are a small district and because of that the teachers and staff know my children and I like that. I do find the teachers are no non-sense but they are also kind and that I also like. My children have thrived socially and academically since they started at Ellicott.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2013

Unfortunately, the school has a lot of work to do to get better. There was a child injured recently, one left on the bus (a preschooler), and the grades are the lowest in the state. Good changes seem to be happening if some of the old timers would get out of the way and the teachers would embrace change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

I am so happy with Ellicott! My kids have been in this school since preschool and I am so happy with the education they have received. I volunteer at the school and I am able to get an "inside" view of the way the teachers interact with the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2009

My child has done very well with the learning techniques that Ellicott Elementary has followed in the corriculim. We are very happy with this district!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

We recently moved here from Texas and my 1st grader and 5th grader were significantly behind after being A-B students all year in Texas. They were able to catch up with the help of their teachers. I am very pleased knowing my children have been able to advance here in such a short time. I love the entire staff, this school is very small and takes time to know your child. very happy!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2005

My son is a A-B average student who works hard and is generally well behaved; yet he has still found himself in classes where the teachers seem to have problems either with their own skills or in their knowledge of their job, personal or otherwise, in controlling their temper and dealing with the kids in a positive manner. For two years in a row my son has received teachers that are typically in a bad mood and irritable with the kids. They need to get teachers who know how to do their jobs, on all levels. I know teaching nowadays is a challenge to say the least, but temper tantrums thrown by the teachers solves little. Coaches seem to be included.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
38%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female94%
Male82%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligible81%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities90%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant88%

Reading

All Students69%
Female79%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligible59%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant69%

Writing

All Students50%
Female66%
Male35%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligible39%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities54%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English54%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female78%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligible61%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)58%
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant77%

Reading

All Students52%
Female50%
Male53%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)21%
Students without disabilities64%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant52%

Writing

All Students46%
Female50%
Male44%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)51%
Free lunch eligible33%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)13%
Students without disabilities59%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English48%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female43%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligible45%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant53%

Reading

All Students54%
Female55%
Male54%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Free lunch eligible49%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Science

All Students44%
Female30%
Male54%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Free lunch eligible34%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities49%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English52%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant44%

Writing

All Students36%
Female30%
Male39%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)42%
Free lunch eligible30%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch50%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities41%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English40%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 56%
Hispanic 27% 32%
Two or more races 4% 3%
Black 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

399 South Ellicott Hwy
Ellicott, CO 80808
Phone: (719) 683-2700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT