Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Alice Terry Elementary School

Public | K-2

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 20, 2013

My Son went their since Kinder, not knowing pretty much nothing and not fluently in english. But in less than 3 months he improved very much academically. He now goes to Ft. Logan, and very happy to have my little girl attending this year 2013 at Alice Terry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2011

Love This School the teachers are great. Both my boys attend this school and they love all their teachers. The only thing there is not alot of activities after school. But its a really good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

I love this school, great staff who take the time they need to help the kids. Even going out of their way. The principals door is always open. Pick up and rop off are terrible sometimes even seem dangerous. Needs major improvement.. even though they just improved, but a great school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

My son has gone to this school for 3 yrs and I like everything the school has to offer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

This school is getting a lot better. The staff seems to like teaching here and they reallly care about the kids. The principal is new, and is good with the kids and families. There aren't a lot of after school activities, but my daughter loves going to school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2010

Alice Terry Elementary is the WORST school EVER!! The teacher are not very good with the children, they yell at the children for no reason and this school year the principal is ignorant and doesn t take action when she needs to.


Posted August 27, 2009

The teachers are great and the school is structured well. I'm not happy about the planned changes they're going to make in the school structure. The new superintendant doesn't seem to care how the parents or teachers feel about his decisions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

My son loves Alice Terry!! He is advanced proficient in literacy, his kindergarden and first grade teachers have done an excellent job in teaching him literacy skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

There is a horrible lack of communication to parents. I never get the monthly bulletins. I get no information about upcoming events. I have to call to find out anything and still even then usually get told wrong information. The school is unorganized and has a lack of leadership. Lock downs and drills are a disaster and always result in confusion among the students, teachers and parents and scare the poor children out their wits instead of inforcing a sense of security. My son doesn't want to go to school anymore because of how he is treated by the other students, yet there is nothing done about the other students' behavior. I wanted to wait until my child finished 2nd grade when he would be tranferred to Fort Logan anyway, but neither he or I can take anymore. I will put him pretty much anywhere else at this point.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

This school is wonderful. My child loves to go, which says a lot. The reading cirriculum is excellent, and they are good at balancing the cultural diversities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 69% 32%
White 20% 57%
Black 6% 5%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4485 South Irving St
Englewood, CO 80150
Phone: (720) 833-6990

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Abn Christian School
Littleton, CO





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT