Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 40 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


40 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jim Elliot Christian School 5

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
The new administrator is bringing a lot to the school. He has a heart for mentoring. He is mentoring the teachers. He is supporting the teachers mentoring the kids and encouraging older kids to mentor the younger ones. I am looking forward to the year. My son was excited to be back to school at JE this August. (P.S. Last year was a tough year without an administrator. I personally don't agree with some of the negative comments below. JE has earned my respect, more so through the tough year even if things weren't perfect.)

Jim Elliot Christian School 1

Posted July 19, 2014
- a parent
Sadly Jim Elliot's current school board and recent board has hurt this school. Many amazing staff and teachers were fired without explanation, leaving the community shocked and confused. The staff and teachers do care about the students, but the board does not! The school board wants "certain specific christian families" to come to this school. They do not want students seeking answers about faith or families that won't say yes to everything the board decides. It is awful to see a long standing school suffer in this way. Other gifted staff chose to leave the school instead of continuing to teach there. There is a lot more going on there than they (the board) will want you to know. Many situations were not handled with Christ's love. The stars given are reflecting what I have seen this last school year.


Jim Elliot Christian School 1

Posted July 17, 2014
- a parent
This school was an important part of our family for many years. We love what it was. The school board asked parents to post favorable reviews here to get new students to save a dying school. They have fired multiple people, ignored the bylaws and blindsided parents. It is sad. It WAS a wonderful place. This school is hurting at best, and suffers from lack of leadership, poor financial management and no accountability. Teachers are loving people, but not always trained as teachers. Be careful of a positive reputation that no longer reflects the reality of what your child will experience here. Note: The Principal listed on the Great Schools information is no longer employed here.

Jim Elliot Christian School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
Jim Elliot is such an incredible place for our daughter. They nurture her entire learning process, academics, emotional, and spiritual. She is allowed to re-do homework until she gets a score she is happy with, which allows her to learn deep and not just surface and move on to the next topic. They are intentional about each child. Their peer to peer mentoring has a huge impact in helping her to feel like she belongs and is wanted. Because she has a learning difference, she struggles to understand subject matter. Jim Elliot allows her to learn and not just get by. I am so grateful for this small, caring, exceptional community!

Jim Elliot Christian School 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
We are so thankful to have our son at Jim Elliot Christian School. Before enrolling our son, he was signed up for a shadow day (which I highly recommend you do). When we picked him up, he was so encouraged and enthusiastic about the school because he could hardly believe that even the high school kids went out of their way to talk to him and make him feel welcome! After a full school-year, we can honestly say that this positive social atmosphere has continued to be the norm. There are friendships formed across the grades with the older kids taking on the responsibility to build others up, lead and set a Godly example for the younger. We highly recommend Jim Elliot Christian School. You and your kids will find a community of teachers, staff, students, and parents who embrace the call be a set-apart school for God s glory. The students there learn within a Biblical context and worldview in all subjects by teachers who truly love them as they mentor, walk alongside them, and build them up in the Lord. The small class sizes, mentor-based, Christ-centered and missions-focused education the kids receive at JE won our hearts over any other school we've considered.


Jim Elliot Christian School 4

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
There are so many things about this school we love. There is a great mix of academic excellence and Christ centered spiritual encouragement. The teachers truly get to know each individual student and are intentional in learning your child's learning style. You are able to choose between full time or part time for your student. For part time, you can select between core or elective classes, whichever fits the educational needs of your student. With the size of the school being smaller, your child isn't just another number. This gives them more opportunity to participate in sports, theater and other activities.

Jim Elliot Christian School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Jim Elliot Christian School is a small Christian school that has a lot to offer. Two of my children have graduated from JECS; I have one that currently attends and another one that will start attending next year. I love the sense of community that our school has. The parents, students and teachers all work together to provide the best atmosphere possible for learning academically and growing in faith. The small class sizes are important. The teachers are able to really know their students and assist them when needed. JECS also has a wonderful mentoring program. Students are encouraged to talk with a mentor of their choosing whenever they feel the need. Being a teenager in today's world is difficult. Knowing that my teenagers have another fully trusted adult to talk to is priceless! Our family has been a part of JECS community for six years and we highly recommend this school to other Christian families!

Jim Elliot Christian School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Jim Elliot has been great for my son. I am impressed with the JQuarter week where kids have many different and varied "enrichment" opportunities. This year kids have opportunities in Colorado, New York, and Washington D.C. From the arts to aviation, camp counselors for a local school to games of Northern Ireland, I think JQuarter is a wonderful addition to the regular curriculum.


Jim Elliot Christian School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
We have been part of the Jim Elliot Community since 2009. The heart of our community focuses on working with the uniqueness of each student and how they each learn, as well as, mentoring relationships that students build with teachers they relate to. The students have rich opportunities to experience service days and outreaches in the community to pursuing God through weekly chapels, worship, retreats, cross cultural mission trips and Bible Study. The desire of our school is to disciple our students to know Jesus and join Him where He is working in the world. We seek to teach all of our classes using the Bible as the filter through which everything is understood. The teachers and staff at Jim Elliot have been totally committed to working with our son in pursuing Jesus and offer a safe place to ask questions and find answers. Anyone that is seeking an environment where God's Word is central to all that is done and Jesus is the most important relationship a person can have would do well to look at JE as an option for your child's education. This school seeks to be a true lighthouse on the hill.

Jim Elliot Christian School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Our kids have been attending for several years. The staff is fantastic at relating to the learning styles of our kids. The intent of the school is to raise up Christian leaders that desire to reach outside the school wall and make an impact on our community. One of my favorite graduation requirements is that all students need to take an international missions trip to experience other cultures and learn to make that commitment. With it being a small school the school is always trying to stretch the dollar, with the intent being to not raise tuition unless it has to..

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jim Elliot Christian School
8505 S Valley Hwy, Englewood, CO  80112
(303) 922-0011
Last modified Jim Elliot Christian School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Jim Elliot Christian School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. Top