Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cherry Creek Charter Academy
Develops respect: Agree

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
Overall, the kids seems to respect their teachers. It's most apparent in the middle school.

Cherry Creek Charter Academy
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
They definitely need work in this area. I would like to see more of a "mindfulness" approach where kids are encouraged to reflect and think about others.


Cherry Creek Charter Academy
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
The problem with this assessment driven school is that you have kids competing and a sense of "perfectionism" that is unhealthy. Then kids are constantly comparing themselves to others rather than supporting their peers. There is a problem with bullying here.

Cherry Creek Charter Academy 3

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
It's a very traditional and rigid school. I would love to see them accommodate different learning styles, incorporate more experiential and meaningful learning. It seems to be all about the numbers (test scores) and not about the love of learning. I would like to see more student driven projects, engagement and critical thinking. Test scores will come easily when kids have an internal drive to learn. CCA is definitely lacking in the innovation department.

Cherry Creek Charter Academy
Grateful to: Parent

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
The parents here are very involved and are a big part of the success of the school.


Cherry Creek Charter Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
They are so worried about test scores that the work and instruction is geared around that. They are covering the "standards", but I'm not convinced it's in the best interest of the students.

Cherry Creek Charter Academy
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 25, 2016
- a parent
Homework should be given when it's meaningful and helpful, not for the sake of giving homework. I think it's excessive at CCA.

Cherry Creek Charter Academy 2

Posted January 27, 2016
- a community member
We attended CCA for four years. While the child got a sound academic education, other important facets such as teaching the child to think critically, allowing the child to be creative, and fostering an atmosphere of open and honest communications between administration and parents seemed to be sadly lacking. A few of the teachers and long-time administrators were extraordinary and much cherished; others were detrimental for the self-confidence and development of the child. The leadership has an authoritarian management style; instead of working with parents as partners on this important developmental journey our experience has been that parents who are not on the school senate are treated as a necessary evil (albeit open conduit for financial support) . Nothing replaces going into the school and 'kicking the tires' to get a feel for the atmosphere and sitting down and interviewing the principal before you decide whether the values of this charter school align with your values. For some families a school that seems rigid, domineering and inflexible might have other qualities that make it a fit; we left with the impression that graduates are not necessarily prepared for a smooth transition to high school nor are they given the best tools to be successful beyond high school. Don't rely on school rankings or awards when making this important decisions; rely on your eyes and ears and talk to current and previous parents. Good luck!


Cherry Creek Charter Academy 5

Posted October 29, 2014
- a parent
CCA is a fantastic school! My son is very bright and is being challenged even in kindergarten. He is learning the same level math as his sister, who is in 3rd grade at our local public elementary school. I really cannot say enough good things about this school! The teachers, staff, and PTO parents are all awesome and all have a very high interest in helping our children and our school succeed. It is beyond organized and the administration staff are very good at their jobs! The principal is a super great guy! We are so grateful to be part of the CCA Family. If I had something negative to say I would absolutely say it, but I don't. Okay, so we really need another parking lot. I am very pleased with the curriculum, environment, and staff! Get your kids on the wait list as soon as they're born!

Cherry Creek Charter Academy 2

Posted August 18, 2014
- a community member
I just recently graduated from Cherry Creek Academy and both me and my parents couldn't be happier to get out of there. Before assuming that this post is just a student who had a few issues with their teacher, take into account that every single student, as well as most parents, also feel bitterly towards CCA after having an unpleasant middle school experience. When my brother went to Cherry Creek Academy for middle school, the teachers were great. After a faculty change, the quality of learning and fun at the school drastically changed. The middle school teachers behave as gossipy teenage girls, and ask us to respect them. Though teachers have the power in this situation, it's ridiculous to think students will respect you if you have no respect for them. They can be very rude and also need to learn to keep personal problems with students outside of the classroom. Both me as a student, and my parents wish I would've attended a different middle school. Going into high school this year I feel very unprepared both socially and academically. 1 good thing I have to say is the Spanish program is amazing. (Thanks, Sra Alaniz! You were my silver lining.)

Nearby schools

Cherry Creek Charter Academy
6260 South Dayton Street, Englewood, CO  80111
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (303) 779-8988
Last modified Cherry Creek Charter Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top