Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cottonwood Plains Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 10 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 1, 2011

Cottonwood is an above average school in many ways. The principal is very helpful and kind. The test scores for most kids are above average. It is a nice building. There are a few drawbacks as well, though. One is a heavily loaded GT program which, similarly to other schools, has a lot of bright or hard working kids but not a lot of gifted kids. The previous GT coordinator was good. The current one does too much test prep for kids whose parents want that identification and retests on similar tests within short periods of time which has increased the problem with overloading the GT program and making it less likely to meet the needs of kids who aren't traditional high achievers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2011

I am wondering why as a parent, I must understand how the school policy works regarding such things as school attire for my daughter, but the teachers do not. It is not uncommon for me to see high heels and very short skirts on the teachers when my daughter cannot where color in her hair or wear a snow hat in the building. Just today I saw one of the younger grade teachers not only wearing a see through shirt, but you could see her stomach through the shirt. Not understanding the double standard here....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2011

I am excited to start the new school year! Awesome staff to work with, caring Principal, dynamic families, and overall respect for children! There is no better place to be! Happy 2011-2012 school year everyone!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 8, 2011

We love this school and its PRIDE philosophy. Children are challenged based on their abilities, discipline is encouraged and good behavior is rewarded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

We have had such a positive experience at Cottonwood Plains. We have two children who attend and we could not be more pleased with how their academic needs have been met--both in the Gifted and Talented track and in their regular classes. The teachers have worked very hard to make sure my children are being pushed academically, but still balance having fun and using their creativity. I am especially pleased that they are expected to be responsible for their actions and they explain rules and expectations clearly. I really feel like the teachers enjoy their job and there is a very good parental support system in place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2011

I am so impressed by what I see every day. Teachers and parents working side-by-side with the best interest of students in mind. Students trying their best, and if success is not immediate, they persevere and demonstrate an "I can do anything" attitude. I would not want to work at any other school. Cottonwood Plains is truly the place to be!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 11, 2011

I love this school! My children have been coming here for over 8 years and we love it. Old Principal, New Principal, teacher changes, all for the best. The grasss isn't always greener somewhere else although a change sometimes helps your attitude, find out what is important not what you thinks may save your ego. Stick with the school even if you have reservations about the programs, your child's education comes first and they are receiving an excellent one here. Other outside activities should be your last priority and you can go somewhere else if needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2011

You are right! The school is awesome but the parents/kids tend to be the same families over and over again in the same activities. That is fine, but what about diversity? So much for "Everybody Belongs" A certain social "click" seems to dominate the after school activities leaving everybody else feeling like the minority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2011

We have been to two other schools in the area and this one tops them all. The principal is a fantastic leader that has the heart of the students and teachers in mind when making decisions. The teachers are fantastic and the facilities are GREAT! We love the Panther PRIDE motto, it fosters GREAT respect for fellow students and family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2011

This school is committed not only to education, but challenging students to help others and show pride in all that they do. They have taught my child so much more than just academics and I am thoroughly impressed with the teaching staff and Principal. I would recommend Cottonwood to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2010

We opted to send our children to CWP rather than our neighborhood school due to the fact that it was the nearest school with an all day kindergarten program at the time. 4 years later, what my children gained was so much more! CWP is an amazing school with a truly dedicated staff and a principal that is wholly involved with the school on many different levels. The enrollment of the school has increased despite the fact that Coyote Ridge and Ponderosa opened up over the past few years boasting new state of the art facilities, etc. ..this speaks volumes to how well CWP is run. The community and parents continue to spread the word about what a great learning environment CWP provides for its students. What a great principal it has! It's no wonder why the staff nominated him as principal of the year. We've moved overseas for a few years and miss the school terribly. The level of education my children received there far outweighs what they are getting here. We'll be glad when we return to what feels like a "family" focused school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2009

We love the teachers, the principle, the setting and the whole community. Our twins just started Kindergarten and CWP made the transition so easy for all of us. Thanks to all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

Cottonwood Plains if a 'family'. The teachers work together and create a wonderful learning 'experience' for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

I am very committed to Cottonwood Plains, not only am I a parent, but I am also a member of the PTA and work as the school counselor. I feel the school community focuses on being the best that you can be in all ways. People support and care about each other.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

It's nice to put my daughter in the school with teachers and parents that care. The last few years have been hard moving around and I'm really glad we were able to settle in at such a wonderful caring school. I thank all the teachers and parents who help out all the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

The staff is awesome and everyone contributes to make this much more than just a school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

Cottonwood is a fantastic place to be each and every day. This is my 12th year at CWP as a parent and my 4th as a sub. The staff is hard-working, intelligent, and caring. The PTA goes the extra mile for the students and staff every year. Cottonwood feels like home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

Cottonwood Plains is a home town school with a high quality staff! It provides a welcoming atmosphere and advanced academics!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2009

Our school has a positive behavior plan, rigorous curriculum, and a team of teachers that make students their focus.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 17, 2009

Cottonwood has a great sense of community. The teachers' hearts are in their jobs, the parents are involved with full support, the kids believe in themselves, each other, their teachers, and their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female59%
Male61%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligible48%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch71%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant61%

Reading

All Students66%
Female67%
Male66%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligible44%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant66%

Writing

All Students64%
Female68%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Free lunch eligible47%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities69%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English68%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female76%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligible50%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities88%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Reading

All Students82%
Female84%
Male80%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligible55%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities91%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Writing

All Students62%
Female72%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Free lunch eligible32%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female82%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant74%

Reading

All Students71%
Female79%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligible56%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant72%

Science

All Students58%
Female67%
Male50%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Free lunch eligible32%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities62%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%

Writing

All Students53%
Female67%
Male43%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic25%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Free lunch eligible20%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities58%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 56%
Hispanic 22% 32%
Two or more races 5% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

525 Turman Dr
Fort Collins, CO 80525
Phone: (970) 613-5900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Werner Elementary School
Fort Collins, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT