Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cherry Hills Christian

Private | PK-8 | 1136 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Highlands Ranch

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $314,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,180.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 1, 2013

the middle school is amazing, and the elementary is great. Both kids spent k-8 there and i would not trade their wonderful experience for anything!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2013

I cant believe I found bad reviews about CHC! I have never heard of "rich parents running the school"! Some people must mistake those parents as the parents who are actually involve. Its shameful to hear anyone speak badly about this school because it has been such a blessing to our split family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

Kindergarten great. After that the rich parents run the school. If you have lots of kids you get lots of say, to the detriment of teachers and classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2012

This school is amazing. I drive my children 30 minutes each way to get here and I wouldn't change it for anything. I love the faith based education my children are receiving. The teachers are phenomenal and the leader ship is excellent. I highly recommend anyone who is looking for a school with a solid foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2012

Inconsistent leadership, school does not walk it's talk, money talks louder than God at this school and the parents throwing the money are the not the ones you want in charge nor are their kids the type you want yours to go to school with - just our opinion based on our painful experience; teachers, however, are excellent, unfortunately it doesn't make up for the leadership
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2011

small, appropriate class sizes; loving, effective teachers; spiritual and character development;safe, well-secured school;small community feel
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2011

We absolutely love this school! This is the third private school (one out of state and one in state) our children have attended since they started going to school. The teachers are amazing and so engaged in what they do. We appreciated that the other parents were so welcoming for our first year at this school. They do challenge the children not only academically but spiritually. We love that the children participate in activities that give back to the community. Not only are the teachers very engaged, but they found the top notch leaders to be the principal for both the lower and middle school. We are grateful for having found this amazing school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2011

Our 2 sons attended and graduated from CHCS and are currently in a local high school. We are extremely pleased with their experience there! The teachers and administrators are first and foremost dedicated to Christ and to modeling a Christian life. The academic offerings are challenging and the teachers are excellent and caring -- our sons were well-prepared for high school and are currently straight "A" students in the top of their classes. I give much of the credit to the foundation and skills they received at CHCS. The students at CHCS are "typical" in that they are not perfect, but the difference is that teachers are able work through any issues within a loving Christian environment. They support what values my husband want instilled in our sons. That to us is priceless! Our oldest son is now preparing for college entrance and taking the ACT exam. His high scores will enable him to attend some of the finest learning institutions in the country. More importantly, he is a leader in his school who loves Christ and others. We are thankful for the academic and spiritual foundation he received at CHCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

I am a seventh grade student at Cherry Hills, and i saw some low star grades, and they were talking about what we ARENT. Well im not saying were perfect, because were not. No one is. But this is what we ARE. We are strong, determined, and we love God. God is in this school and everyone in it. I couldnt imagine going anywhere else. Sure we have some problems, but who doesnt? The teachers are fantastic and they truely do care about every student. They take the time to know each one, and everyone there is really close. This is no ordinary school, sure we have books and grades and teachers. But our school goes on missions trips all over the United States. We go all over colorado too, and try our hardest to help everyone we can. And, we have fun doing it too. This school doesnt just teach us things. It also gives us morals that last a life time. We believe that with God, NOTHING is impossible. Recently, my seventh grade sclass went to New Mexico, and we had a great time there. We helped out a local church, and we made a difference in the community and I know they wont forget everything God did on this trip. All in all, I love this school and everyone in it. THIS is what we're all about.


Posted May 4, 2011

I can oly speak about the middle school, but you really don't get what you pay for. Some of the classrooms are small and stuffy, the math room was the size of a small bedroom and 30 kids were in the class not a great learning enviroment. The kids are not very excepting of other people different from them and are so exclusive. Wouldn't expect this from a christian school. My daughter had a hard time making friends and the girls were just plan rude and thought they were better than others because they had more money or because they attended church and others didn't. I wish I wouldn't have sent my kid there it was a waste of money!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2011

Do they even have leaders so unorganized, it seems like they don't even know whats going on themselves. Waste of time and money!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2010

Middle school teachers are great and know their subjects. They base their classes as if students are in a high school setting ! Ask for help and it's yours with very little waiting ! This school has great unity. There is very little if any disruptions in class because the kids are there to learn. Mu daughter has attended there for 6 years and I couldn't be more pleased !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2010

The leadership here is awful. The teachers are wonderful and caring but without good leadership the school struggles.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

This is our first year at Cherry Hills Preschool and it has been one disapointment after another. We have two other children that will not be attending this school. I would not even waste the time or money on this school. The teacher's seem fine, but the director is horrible. Or who ever is making calls for class parties, field day, class programs. This school has lack of support for their teachers. Their preschool progam seems to be an after thought or just another way to recieve money...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2009

The teachers are PHENOMENAL and they really care about each and every kid. The administrators are great, and you always feel like one of the family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

This is our first year at CHC. We are thrilled with the entire experience. The children are treated well and there is real family atmosphere here. The academics are great and my children have developed a strong intellectual curiosity from the teaching methods. We would highly recommend it for anyone seeking a safe, caring environment with Christian values and strong academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2009

Cherry Hills Christian is a wonderful Christian school with excellent academics. The teachers are outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

safe, loving, fun environment with wonderful dedicated teachers. My daughter spent 2 years there. Preschool then Pre K. I plan to send my other daughter there as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

I am currently a 7th grade student at CHCMS. There are great students and staff and academics and extra curricular activities are phenomenal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 23, 2008

I currently go to this school, and I LOVE it! I was a new student this year, and everyone was so welcoming! I feel there are more options there. You never feel pressured, or embarrassed. Teachers will take the time to help you, and will leave no one behind.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 62%
Two or more races 4% N/A
Asian 2% N/A
Hispanic 2% 29%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Linda Wasem,
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Presbyterian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3900 Grace Blvd
Highlands Ranch, CO 80126
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 791-5500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Heritage Elementary School
Highlands Ranch, CO


Arrowwood Elementary School
Highlands Ranch, CO


Platte River Charter Academy
Highlands Ranch, CO


Summit View Elementary School
Highlands Ranch, CO


Cresthill Middle School
Highlands Ranch, CO


Cougar Run Elementary School
Highlands Ranch, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT