Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bear Canyon Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Thank you to Mrs. Dempsey. My family loves you and the work that you have done year after year with the kiddos.

Bear Canyon Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Activities such as the Adopt a Family program encourage the children to get involved in their community and pay it forward.


Bear Canyon Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Bear Canyon makes it a priority to teach its students self regulation in the areas of honesty and integrity and holds the children to a high standard.

Bear Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
I have had three children grow through Bear Canyon and despite principal changes, this has been the best school for my kids. The teachers are awesome and they really care about the children's academic success as well as their overall character and well-being.

Bear Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted July 16, 2014
- a parent
My boys transferred to Bear Canyon from Wildcat Mountain when we moved. While I loved Wildcat I feel that Bear Canyon has been overall a better fit for my children. My 1st grader was tested and put in more challenging learning groups as well as offered more rigorous work. At the last school he was bored with the work because there wasn't enough of a challenge. My kinder kid was helped SO much with his needs in reading and language and grew leaps and bounds before the end of the year. Bear Canyon is an 'A' rated school with talented and dedicated teachers and staff. I'm not sure why this site has it rated 8/10 when other sites have rated 9 or 10!


Bear Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted November 13, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter is in Kindergarden and just loves it! She has already learned so much and is thriving. The students are exposed to a variety of specials and character development. A+

Bear Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2013
- a parent
I have a 1st grader and pre-Kindergartener at BCE and we couldn't be happier. Communication with the staff is easy and thorough, there are fun activities for the kids and families throughout the year and the teachers we've encountered so far are warm, caring and get the job done! We recently bought a new home and I made sure we only looked in the BCE boundaries.

Bear Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted March 21, 2013
- a parent
Two of my children are currently attending Bear Canyon, and we love it. The teachers are caring and innovative. They see each of my children as individuals and are interested in their progress. They email weekly and are very encouraging. It's an incredible school.


Bear Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted February 20, 2013
- a parent
I have had three children at Bear Canyon over a period of 12 years. We have been extremely happy with the quality of instruction, the level of competence of the teachers and other staff, and the atmosphere of the school. When my older two started Middle School, they were extremely well-prepared. In fact a few teachers at the Middle School attributed their readiness to their having attended Bear Canyon Elementary.

Bear Canyon Elementary School 5

Posted December 19, 2012
- a parent
I have had my oldest who is now 16 and my youngest who currently attends Bear Canyon. It is a wonderul school with lots of resources. Parents are very much involved. Oldest and youngest needed support in learning. They have a wonderful program to keeps your kids on track and not let the kids get left behind. Very caring teachers and parents. Highly recommend! As for not safe???? I would like to know what that is in reference to. Everything is secured and locked. I think it is pretty safe.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bear Canyon Elementary School
9660 Salford Ln, Highlands Ranch, CO  80126
(303) 387-6475
Last modified Bear Canyon Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bear Canyon Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top