Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bethlehem Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 350 students

High quality academic instruction in a Christ-centered environment

 
 

Living in Lakewood

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $154,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 15, 2013

Thankful for the amazing school we were blessed to find. There is such a strong sense of community and the teachers truly take pride in what they do and care about our kids. Education as well as core virtues and values are top priority. And I treasure the wonderful friendships I have made as well. I am so glad this school is part of our lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

My experience as a parent at Bethlehem and the experience of my children has been completely positive. We currently have two children at Bethlehem Lutheran, one in the day school and one in the Early Learning Center (Pre-K). They both are thriving int their class rooms and learning environments even though they are both very different kids with different attention spans, interests, and learning styles from one another. The teachers and leadership show so much interest in the development of our kids and family and really care to see each child succeed. It is clear to me that much effort goes into the strategy and vision of the school as well as the selection of the teachers and teams. With a family background in education, it is of the highest importance to me that our children receive the best opportunity to learn. Bethlehem has exceeded the expectations for the level of education we had hoped for! In addition, we are part of a great community and caring church community as well. It's really been one of the best things that has happened to our family since calling Denver home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

My children have attended Bethlehem Lutheran School for 3 years. We have been very happy with the quality education they have received. The teaching staff is excellent, really working to reach the individual student. The staff, teachers, parents AND students are very involved and committed not only to the school, but the larger community as well. This school has a great school spirit. We are greatful to have found such a great school. The leadership and office staff are dedicated to the school and are easy to talk to and very prompt with information.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

We currently have two students at Bethlehem and have been extremely pleased with the level of academics and curriculum. The constant communication from the teachers have been a real blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

The teachers are very nice. Try and get something accomplshed by talking to the leadership that was a different story. But im sure its different if you join their church and clubs. We recieved no answers or what their vision towards fixing the problem (specifically bullying) was. But thats just myexperience. My child stopped wanting to go to the school and would cry when i put his jacket on and try to head out. Sad. Some teachers are just better than others. Its too bad because I certainly wanted my children to have Christ centered education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2011

We have made the best decision sending our children to Bethlehem Lutheran School. Pros: Excellent teaching staff (many have been on staff for more than 20 years!), strong school leadership and challenging academic programs. The teachers are 2nd to none. The staff, teachers, parents AND students are very involved and committed, what great school spirit this place has. We are greatful to have found such a great school. Our boys are very happy here. Cons: None
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Excellent school - great teachers - numerous extra-curricular activities (sports, music, scouts, science, etc) - terrific before and after school program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2009

This is the best school in Colorado. The love and care of the teachers and administrators is great! We live in Littleton and have great schools near by but Bethelehm is way above all the schools we visited...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

Bethelehm provies a great experience for children in a Christ centered environment. The perfect start to move on the Denver Lutheran High School. Both combined helped my children prepare for college and life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2008

I love Bethlehem! I have been amazed by the level of attention they give to each student, how loving and thoughtful they are. They make sure the parents know what is going on and because of that the students excel in the classroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

Great teachers and administrators. Great atmosphere, and after-school program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2007

Bethleham Lutheran is the best school in Colorado. It is truly a school where the teachers and staff care about shaping the students in every aspect of their lives. It shows quite clearly that it is more than just a school or a job, it is a minitry.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 62%
Hispanic 10% 29%
Asian 8% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • North Central Accrediation (2011)
  • National Lutheran School Accrediation (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Michelle Fischer
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Fax number
  • (303) 237-4011

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Hybrid
  • Multi-aged
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Religious
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$3000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Lutheran High School Parker
Lakewood High School
Wheat Ridge High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2100 N Wadsworth Blvd
Lakewood, CO 80214
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 233-0401

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Beth Eden Baptist School
Wheat Ridge, CO







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT