Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Alameda International High School

Public | 9-12 | 875 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 29, 2014

I graduated Alameda two years ago and can honestly recommend it above all other schools. In college, I encountered students who had attended the larger, more prominent schools in the area, and they admitted that they hated their high school experience because of cliques, social pressures, and feeling like they didn't fit in. Alameda's small but diverse population offers a unique experience in that there are no cliques or bullying. Everyone was friendly, and all students were encouraged to explore different perspectives and interests. I was also better prepared for college than my peers who had attended other schools. Alameda has knowledgeable, passionate, and dedicated teachers introducing students to relevant, university-level material. The service opportunities within the Diploma Program also prepared me for leadership positions I now hold in college. I attribute my success in college to my experience at Alameda, and I truly believe that Alameda is the best high school for every student!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2014

I'm an IB alumni from Alameda and had a very positive experience during my 4 years at Alameda. With the relatively new IB diploma program, students that want to push themselves and prepare themselves for college have a good opportunity to do so. The teachers I had always pushed me and understood their subjects very well, especially the teachers involved in the IB program. I know Alameda has had a negative stigma over the years, but the school has been continuing to improve a lot lately and as long as your student is motivated and pushes his or her self, they will get as good of an experience at Alameda as any other school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 29, 2014

The school was great and help me improve a lot over the years. The staff were very kind and helpful to me over the years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2014

My son graduated from Alameda International High School in 2013 and I can say without a doubt that he had the best high school experience out of my four children who have all graduated from other high schools. My other children went to another much larger Jeffco high school and they did not have near the great experience that my son who attended AIHS had. Alameda is a smaller high school so the students do not "fall through the cracks". It has a wonderfully diverse population and it truly is an international high school. AIHS has all three IB programs (Middle Years Program, Diploma Program and the IB Career-related Certificate Program) and it has an "open access" policy so any student wanting to challenge himself with the IB program will be accepted. My son excelled in his education and in extracurricular activities and was very well prepared for college. I am so pleased with the education that he received at AIHS. I would recommend AIHS to any parent looking for a high school where students receive personal attention from teachers and where programs are available to all students who wish to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2011

I currently go to Alameda high school as a senior (class of 2012) and I am very happy with my schooling experience here. I moved from New York at the beginning of my Junior year and heard all the rumors about Alameda. I am proud today to say that none of the bad ones are true. The students are very excepting of everyone, race, sexuality, gender, etc. The teachers help me when I need it. They help me and encourage me to get my grades up when they are bad. You don't know this school until you experience it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 6, 2010

This has been a great school for our son. The teachers have been very supportive and always let us know if there are concerns. My son enjoys going to school and he enjoys the sports program. We've had some communication snafu's now and then, but overall things have been good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2009

Alameda High School is a great school, period. I am a current student, class of 2010. Let me begin with this rumor about 'gang activity'. What gang activity? I see no signs of gang activity as I walk the school's halls everyday. The students dress normally, at least to what is accepted in our generation. We do not posses weapons between our boxers and jeans nor do we ever start gang riots. So, these 'gang activity' rumors need to stop. Alameda has changed dramatically and really has become a second home to me. I love going to school. The teachers love their jobs and their priority is our education. They will go out of their way to make sure we succeed and be the best that we can be. Anyway, I give this school 5 stars because it really is trying to improve.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 25, 2009

Alameda Highschool is not one of the best School's that is around because of too much Gang Activity when I went there!!! Not many teachers helped me when I really needed it....


Posted July 24, 2009

i think Alameda High School is a wonderful place for learning and i am looking forward to attend this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2007

This school is amazing, I have no idea what you people are talking about. The only complaint I have is the principal & the only foreign languages they have are French & Spanish.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2007

Alameda High School offers a very diverse student body, which to some may seem a little intimidating. The diversity of the student body allowed me to understand and effectively communicate with people from various ethnic backgrounds. Alameda not only gave me a formal education but has also given me the tools needed to succeed in the society. I feel that a motivated student can definitely receive a great education from this institution. Students who decide to take advantage of what Alameda has to offer will definitely be rewarded. Unfortunately too many Alameda students do not capitalize on their opportunities. This is indicative by the schools alarmingly low graduation rate. I feel like Alameda can be a very competitive educational institution. I recommend this school for students who are self motivated, willing to be taught and desires to be about of a great diverse student population.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 20, 2006

Alameda, is an awesome school! we have a great variety of teachers with different teaching styles, which makes a huge difference in the learning. Go Pirates! ~senior 2007~
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2005

alameda, at the time my daughter was attending, though it appears tough on the outside, was a great experience for my daughter. She was able to participate in classes that challenged her, with teachers who cared. she was constantly involved in choir, softball adn drama. with this school you must be active in something! if you arent, you will find that you are lost, as a student and a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2004

Alameda is a great school. I feel this school is preparing me for the future.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
12%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 55% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 34% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
14%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 51% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
25%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 49% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
23%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students11%
Female13%
Male9%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic9%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)14%
Free lunch eligible10%
Reduced lunch eligible4%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch18%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities11%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)3%
Proficient in English11%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant11%

Reading

All Students38%
Female44%
Male33%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)44%
Free lunch eligible32%
Reduced lunch eligible39%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch54%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities41%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)11%
Proficient in English45%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant38%

Writing

All Students26%
Female30%
Male22%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic22%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)31%
Free lunch eligible22%
Reduced lunch eligible21%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch39%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities28%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)4%
Proficient in English33%
Migrantn/a
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant26%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students12%
Female10%
Male13%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic8%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)19%
Free lunch eligible8%
Reduced lunch eligible10%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch26%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities13%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)3%
Proficient in English12%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant11%

Reading

All Students54%
Female59%
Male51%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligible46%
Reduced lunch eligible69%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities57%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)19%
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant54%

Science

All Students23%
Female22%
Male25%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic16%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)46%
Free lunch eligible15%
Reduced lunch eligible38%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch42%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities24%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)0%
Proficient in English27%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant24%

Writing

All Students23%
Female32%
Male17%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic16%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)43%
Free lunch eligible19%
Reduced lunch eligible34%
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch29%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities25%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)0%
Proficient in English27%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant24%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

ACT participation

86%

Average ACT score

16

Graduation rate

90%


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

3 This rating is based on composite ACT scores from 2012-13 and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2011-12. ACT participation represents the percentage of 11th graders taking the ACT. Because the ACT is mandated in Colorado high schools, ACT participation is NOT included in the GreatSchools rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 65% 32%
White 20% 56%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Susie Van Scoyk

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1255 South Wadsworth Blvd
Lakewood, CO 80232
Website: Click here
Phone: (303) 982-8160

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Tetra Academy
Lakewood, CO


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT