Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mountain Peak Private School

Private | PK-6 | 62 students

We are best known for individualized curriculum.
 
 

 

Living in Longmont

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $162,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $830.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 24, 2014

Our son just started middle school after spending his entire grade school years at Mountain Peak. He went from a quiet, shy student who would have been left alone in the public school system (because he would have just done what was asked) to a student who just tested into 8th grade math and advanced language arts. He is a well rounded student who has stepped right into middle school and has made numerous friends. A small investment in our child's education was the best money we've ever spent. We can't thank Mountain Peak enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2014

My daughter started this school in January of her last year in pre-school. When she began she could not read or write, she new her letters and numbers and that was about it. By the end of the school year she could write all her numbers and letters, knew the sounds the letters made and was reading. She is now entering 1st grade, reading at a 2nd grade level can do basic math, knows basic geography and can tell time. It is not just the academic part of the school that is so fantastic with only 10 kids per class, she has a personal relationship with her teachers and they all care deeply about the students. Every day the kids have PE as well as their recess so there is lots of time for fun and exercise. She is excited to learn and enjoys going to school. Mountain Peaks is great for building well rounded, kind, intelligent children that care about each other as well as their community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2014

Mountain Peak is a fantastic school - all of the staff members take the time to get to know each student and they are all excellent educators. Our child loves going to school because the teachers make the lessons fun and engaging. We are very grateful to all the good folks at Mountain Peak!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

Over the top in everything they do. We are so glad to have found Mountain Peak....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

We were searching for a great pre-school for our daughter. We looked at public schools, charter schools, all the usual suspects. We toured a few, put our names in the hat and waited. While we waited we came across Mountain Peaks, and we were thrilled! Mountain Peaks not only showed us they cared about the kids they teach, but showed us they aren't afraid to teach. Our pre-school teacher is amazing, and our daughter loves school. We are so happy with how our daughter has grown and is always challenged at school. It may be pre-school, but these kids have lessons to learn, and they love learning. Thanks Mountain Peaks for making our decision so easy, and for caring about our daughter and her education as much as we do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

In our search to get our daughter started in school we came across a lot of "ok" schools, and some not so "ok" schools. We looked up Mountain Peaks on a word of mouth suggestion, and we are so glad we did. Mountain Peak Private School takes care to really teach each child that attends the school. Our daughter loves school, and knows everyone, and they know her! It's wonderful to know that each teacher, no matter what grade is so aware of each student in the school. We wanted a pre-school for our daughter that would teach her, not babysit her, and that's what we got. From lessons about the Arctic, to the Presidents of the United States, and anything in between we have seen her grow so much. She loves school and we are so thrilled to have found Mountain Peak Private School. We look forward to seeing her grow in school, and we know that everyone at Mountain Peak is there to help each child through their door reach his/her full potential. Thanks Mountain Peak!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2014

As a mother of a 4-yr old, looking for schools was overwhelming. When we found Mountain Peak, I was impressed with how much attention every students gets. Within each classroom the students are so involved with their class they are not distracted by anything outside of their classroom. My son is very social and loves to play with other children, so it was important to me to not only have a good teaching environment but to have a great social one as well. In the 2.5hr PreK day, he has bloomed over the past year from not wanting to color or write at all, into a being able to write his full name and color mostly within the lines (He is only 4 I have to remind myself). Mrs. Harms is very understanding of each child's needs within the class and knows how to motivate them into learning. The progress of my son is evident in the inventive art projects - paint, construction paper, markers - which come home on a daily basis. He loves to show me everything he has done that day. He would say his favorite thing about school is P.E.- scoring a hockey goal on Mr. Buckett. Thank you Mountain Peak!! Can't wait for Kindergarden.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2014

From the moment you step into this school you can tell they are passionate about creating an evironment that enables the students to thrive and excel. We are only in our first year with Mountain Peak but I can't even imagine sending our son anywhere else. From the staff that greats you and your child by name every day to all the opportunities to get involved with the classroom and other parents, this school proves that they are commited to ensuring each child gets a quality education that is far and above what you would expect elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

Mt. Peak is a fantastic school. Our son has been going there for the last two years and is excelling in school. He went from having a hard time reading the most simplest of words to now reading at grade level. The teachers are great and really care about the students. The low student/teacher ratio helps to ensure my son gets the attention he needs to learn what is being taught. Extra bonus points for Mt. Peak as well as they make learning fun. There is PE everyday, which is a must for our son. I also love the fact that they are teaching music and French to give the children a complete, well rounded learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2013

We had heard about this school through a friend and went and toured it while looking for a school for our preschooler. We fell in love with it right away and knew it was a perfect match. We love the small classes, the feel of the school being a family and all of the teachers. We are so glad we went with mountain peak!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

Mountain Peak Private School is an amazing place! I have two boys at Mountain Peak, 2nd grade and 4th grade. Both are doing work above their grade level. Their teachers go above and beyond to help each student excel. The school has PE classes every day, which my boys love, along with weekly music, art and French classes. I could not be more happy about the well rounded education my kids are receiving at Mountain Peak Private School, and they are excited for school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

Our daughters spent two years at Mountain Peak before we moved out of state. We miss this school badly and think about it almost every day! The small class sizes are a truly invaluable benefit for children. There is simply nothing that can compete with the small classes and individualized curriculum. Teachers at Mountain Peak are more energetic because they're not overwhelmed. The teachers at MPPS were the greatest, enthusiastic and dedicated, they cared about the kids and you could feel the effects of that daily. Our girls miss the daily P.E. that was based around fun activities and the French classes. The feeling of community and ability to see your children's teachers and interact with them every day is also a treasure that you just can't get with a larger class size. My daughters simply thrived at Mountain Peak and I would recommend this school with highest confidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

Having spent 7 years at Mountain Peak enjoying small class sizes and individual attention, we were concerned about our son entering a large middle school with what seemed like enormous class sizes. We needn't have worried. Academically our son has excelled in many areas and is finding that he is often ahead of his peers. Socially he has made a wide range of friends and as a member of the Student Council has helped organize a lot of the social events. We feel that Mountain Peak helped nurture our son into a a well rounded, confident young man with an ability to make a wide range of friends. The education he received during those crucial elementary years prepared him well for his transition into public middle school life. With this success, it was a "no brainer" to send his siblings!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2013

Happy Transition to Middle School: When our son grew up and finished MPPS, we were faced with middle school. We were worried about the transition from a small family oriented school to a large impersonal public school with massive class sizes. Our son was used to lots of attention and loving care, with a small class size at MPPS. Could he adapt? YES! The skills, both academic and social, that he learned at MPPS are serving him well. Academically, the middle school courses are easy for him because of his great background at MPPS. Socially, he immediately made many friends at his new school and is participating in a variety of school activities. Because of the small class size at MPPS, he learned that he could not hide in the background or just get by, but learned to take part. He is confident and accustomed to interaction with a variety of people of all ages. Not only has our son made a nice transition from MPPS to middle school, but his friends from MPPS who attend other middle schools also report similar positive experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2012

We love Mountain Peak Private School and highly recommend it. We have two children who attend MPPS and both have excelled beyond all of our expectations. It is a small school and this allows the teachers to completely individualize the teaching for each student. Because of this, each student is able to learn at the best rate for them. This results in the students learning more in a year here than they would learn in a year at the local public school. We know this because we considered sending our oldest to our local public school for fifth grade thinking that he would make some friends there before middle school. However, after talking with the teachers at the public school, we realized that our child was more than a year ahead in math, spelling and reading compared to what was being taught there. We decided to keep him here because we felt he would lose a year of learning if we transferred him to public school. Students who are gifted and maybe bored in the public school will excel at MPPS. In addition, students who struggle in public school (due to any number of reasons) will thrive here due to the excellent teachers and individualized instruction. Come see for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

We moved to CO two years ago, and were looking for a school for our then Kindergarten age son. We had looked at several public and private schools in the area, and after seeing what else was out there (a very scary experience) we decided on MPPS. Our experience has been nothing short of wonderful! Our son is flourishing at MPPS, the staff is incredible, and we feel confident that our son is getting the absolute best education possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2012

We have our 4 year old son in preschool at MPPS. The teachers and staff are all excellent and very friendly. This is a small school which allows staff to really get to know familys and students. We are greeted by name by the principle, Mr. Buckett and Brenda, at the front desk every morning. The also have a top notch curriculum which includes zoo phonics and individualized learning as well as daily PE for all kids which is fantastic. We are looking forward to next year when our son goes to pre-K!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2011

We are parents of two students at Mountain Peak Private School and would recommend this school to parents who want a superior education for their children. Our children were attending a different private school in Boulder and we started to notice our older child was falling behind in math. When we found MMPS we moved the children without hesitation. The class sizes are small and learning is individualized. My son is now ahead in math and has a new confidence in his learning. This school goes beyond both academically and socially for the kids. Our children love school and our 5th grader tells me often that he is so glad he goes to Mountain Peak where he is able to learn and not feel like he can't do math. This school is such an amazing place and the tuition is half of what we were paying at the other private school. Our children will be ready to excell in the future because the are getting such a great foundation now. We cannot say enough about this fantastic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2011

My daughter needed special help because she has ADHD. She has been at Mountain Peak Private School for a year and it has been so good for her. The small class size of 15 students and wonderful caring teachers have really helped her reach her potential. She has gone from having a very negative view of herself to really believing in herself. Her self confidence is soaring and she is very happy at Mountain Peak Private Schooll. It is the best choice we could have made for our daughter! It's a good value for the money as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2011

We have been so pleased with MPPS. Our children are both excelling and are performing well above grade level. We love the small class room sizes and the parrental involvement is exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 56%
Two or more races 9% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 32%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:45 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Tom Buckett
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (720) 494-7594

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Many of our students test in the top 10% in the nation. Basis reading composite: 44% in top 10%, 91% above grade level, 100% at or above grade level. Reading Comprehension: 63% in top 10%, 94% above grade level, 100% at or above grade level. Mathematics composite: 34% in top 10%, 84% above grade level, 94% at or above grade level. Written expression: 50% in top 10%, 78% above grade level, 88% at or above grade level. 63% of students are more than a year above grade level in reading and 41% are more than a year above grade level in Math.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


10 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
62
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
63

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$2000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
ACE Scholarship

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Altona Middle School
Westview Middle School
Twin Peaks Charter Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1833 Sunset Place
Suite E-F
Longmont, CO 80501
Website: Click here
Phone: (720) 494-1622

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT