Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Flagstaff Charter Academy

Charter | PK-8 | 815 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 13 ratings
2013:
Based on 12 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 9 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

85 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2010

To the parent with the bully problem....my immediate reaction was if you are going to gossip to other parents about your issue instead of working on it yourself and if you are going to elevate to the Supreme Court without allowing one of the three administrators Flagstaff has on hand to help, then it sounds like the apple doesn't fall far from the tree. I am a parent and a volunteer and I have seen the numerous events and programs FSA has brought in or created themselves. My child has talked about the program(s). All schools have this issue and most if not all work hard to address it. It is parents like you who instead of helping be part of the solution, gossip and become more of the problem. How many other parents have you "discussed this with?" How much time have you offered up to facilitate any kind of program, event, playdates etc? Furthermore, most parents believe their child is NOT capable of being any part of the bullying, only the recipient. I am here to tell you that a word, a gesture, a look can contribute to a situation. And there are two sides TO EVERY STORY.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2010

If you want your child to be challenged, encouraged, and praised for their unique abilities then this is the school. My children have been challenged to do their best and yes that does require that as their parent I put in time and help them to keep up with the standards of the class and the teacher. I think this school expects all children to be able to compete with other top countries in all areas. I have no problem with that and I know that my children will rise to that expectation and possibly exceed it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2010

My son today learned that the bullying at flagstaff will go continue as he was the victim and the child that was picking on him was resued when he got upset. A parent suggested that I make a claim with the state of Colorado department of education and St vrain Valley School District.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2010

I can't really speak to Preschool - 5 at Flagstaff but the middle school is horrible! The work is way too difficult for many students so cheating is rampant with parents often doing the work for the kids. The teachers are not at all objective in their grading but seem to grade according to how much they like the student and that seems to depend on how much the parents donate or how close they are to certain board members. This carries over to the discipline of students with a certain select few getting to do as they please while others are harshly punished for the silliest transgression. The Dean of Students has no public school experience and all the administrators seem to toady to what ever parent or board member they fear most. Check out how the middle school CSAP scores fell last year!


Posted October 3, 2010

I am very happy with Flagstaff. It has a lovely campus and a strong philosophy. I like the technology that my child has been exposed to. I think the school has strong leaders and good teachers. My only concern is the large amount of homework my child struggles with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2010

This school is horribly run!! We had our children here for four years thinking that the administration and the teachers would get their act together but unfortunately it has gotten worse. Their policy of ignoring true student and teacher issues is appalling. They are more concerned about their image than students! Next year we are moving our children to TPCA. Sorry Flagstaff but you had your chance and you blew it! We will never recommend your school to other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

Flagstaff is amazing. We live in Niwot and our kids attended that school for a few years - what a disappointment! Niwot, like some other district schools, is so CSAP focused. Flagstaff's curriculum & instruction is rich and focused and lasts even after CSAPs are over. We have a middle schooler and two elem kids - all have had outstanding experiences and one son left Niwot reading below grade level and finished his first year at Flagstaff above grade level and has excelled every year since. The leadership is what you would find in any innovative school or company.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

I'm the parent of 2 kids attending Flagstaff. I enrolled one of my children with very high hopes that he would be able to overcome some issues he had been dealing with at our local school. Our local school didn't seem to care or want to help him at all. After attending Flagstaff for 2 years these issues are no longer evident. I now have a very happy child who gets great grades and loves learning and being challenged. Flagstaff seems to have a very talented staff of teachers that care so much about each child and every special situation. With such great staff and a beautiful new building, parking issues are a problem I can overlook. As far a fundraising, I will gladly donate to a school that works so hard to prepare my child so well for their future. I don't feel obligated at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

I am a 2nd year parent of an elementary student and a middle school student. I am very pleased with the curriculum and the staff. My children are challenged academically and the teachers also seem to be aware of and working on all of the difficult social issues for these ages. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

We have three children in Flagstaff Academy and they have attended for two years. We are very happy with the challenging curriculum and hands on learning experience offered to the students. The core curriculum is developing a solid educational foundation. There is such a positive energy from students, parent, and especially the teachers. The teachers are focused on the students and show a strong desire to help the students develop a love of learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

My children have been at Flagstaff since day one. I have found that Flagstaff's programmings is strong and relevant to the different levels of learning of both my children. There's always assumption or accusation around ANY charter school board or administration, and the need for transparency but if parent would just go to all the meetings (board, pto, parent coffee, etc). The information they want is there and on the website as well, not just with Flagstaff but with Twin Peaks or any charter school in Colorado.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2010

This school is a joke! They push and push for more $$ in donations and fundraisers but you never seem to get a completely clear answer where the $$ goes, and when you do its for dumb stuff like a teachers espresso bar or the advertising/PR budget. I also like how the school is trying to downplay the legal suit from their HOA about their parking issues. Any parent who picks up their child knows that the school completely flubbed up the parking!! There is something seriously wrong with this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

Last year my husband and I moved our family to Longmont and enrolled our son in Flagstaff. When we took the tour we felt that we were making a wonderful choice for our son but learned shortly after what a mistake we had made. Teachers were showing 'The Patriot' in english w/o parent permission and thinking it was alright; classes were being skipped or moved around constantly; kids were sneaking out of the building and hanging out behind the school; bullies were never reprimanded in any way... it was the worst year academically that our son has ever experienced because he was taught so little and by unexperienced teachers and staff. This year our son has attended TPCA and I have to say that it is like night and day. I beg any new parents to look around... don't drink the kool-aid from this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2010

Flagstaff Academy does have some really nice students, staff and parents associated with. Unfortunately the administrators seem to have gone crazy in doing everything to keep kids and parents who are big money givers happy and to keep the precious test scores high. I know this is a problem with a lot of charter schools but this school year the Flagstaff board and administrators have gone over the edge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

I have two kids at Flagstaff and while the curriculum is great and the facilities much improved, there is a huge amount of room for improvement. My biggest issue is the lack of respect shown to the kids by the teachers. Kids are not allowed to express their opinions, or defend themselves when accused of some minor transgression. My kids have frequently expressed frustration that they were wrongly accused of something for which hey received some sort of reprimand, but the teachers involved would not hear them out. I think that sets kids up to just accept their lot in life, rather than challenging wrongs. The school has been less than accommodating for my son who has ADHD. Budgets are tight in school districts for sure, and the school obviously does all it can to avoid incurring any additional costs in terms of testing and accommodations for kids with special needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

Flagstaff is a great school! My daughter couldn't be happier or more challenged. The scope of what she has learned in the past 7 months is amazing! What each parent needs to realize is that YOU are THE most important factor in your child's education--not the teacher and not the school. You can't just drop them off each morning and pick them up each afternoon and expect great things. Become more involved in your child's life and a bit less involved in your own--the results could surprise you! Children are a product of their environment. Parents need to stop looking for someone else to blame and become more pro-active in fixing their own problems. If you thing Flagstaff is doing you wrong, then by all means, please, take your child elsewhere. We think Flagstaff is exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2010

Flagstaff has been a great experience for our child. I have nothing to say, but wonderful things about the school. If your child needs a challenge, and/or is bored or uninterested in the curriculum of the traditional public school, then this could be the place for them. I would urge those that are in question to go and check it out. There is a reason that parents camped out over night in 10 degree weather to get their kids in for the 2010/11 school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2010

My children currently attend Flagstaff and have been at this school for over 3 years. We have seen it have it's good and bad moments over this time period. My husband and I were hoping that with the new building that things might get better, but really I think it has actually gotten worse. They seem to cater to more affluent parents and their children in order to manipulate more donations for their school. It amazes me how much money we have shelled out without seeing any results! Also, the post which stated that this school has a bullying problem is absolutely correct because even my children who seem pretty social and have plenty of friends have experienced it with no results from the school. I would NOT recommend this school to any family, and come next year my children will definitely not be attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2010

As a parent of a child that I pulled from this school, I agree with the previous poster as the 'wave' of posts is suspicious for the same reasons stated. I will say that the level of professionalism I experience with my child's current school in the district is superior to what I ever experienced with Flagstaff, and I share that only because I now have a basis for comparison.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

I have two elementary children at Flagstaff, and have been there for four years. I am also a very involved parent, volunteering in excess of 80 hours per year. I believe Flagstaff is providing an excellent education to both, one who is twice-exceptional (very gifted and ADHD). The science-based core knowledge curriculum is very challenging and both have what I used to consider excessive amounts of homework to do on a regular basis. We have gotten used to it, and these two will be well prepared for the load required of an International Baccalaureate course of study. Communications from the school do require parents to seek out information on-line, and while this can be cumbsome, it is always available. It was the first school in the district to use Infiite Campus (on-line grade-keeping system) so I always know how my kids are performing academically. The best public school in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
94%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 61% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 67% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 52% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female75%
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Reading

All Students96%
Female98%
Male94%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)96%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch97%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities98%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant96%

Writing

All Students73%
Female70%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English73%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female82%
Male80%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch83%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant81%

Reading

All Students91%
Female89%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)91%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities94%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant91%

Writing

All Students75%
Female74%
Male76%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students81%
Female86%
Male73%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant80%

Reading

All Students84%
Female88%
Male80%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities86%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%

Science

All Students66%
Female66%
Male67%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)70%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant66%

Writing

All Students75%
Female85%
Male62%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities77%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English75%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female76%
Male81%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Reading

All Students94%
Female97%
Male91%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)95%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities96%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant94%

Writing

All Students78%
Female87%
Male72%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English80%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female76%
Male87%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch85%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Reading

All Students95%
Female97%
Male93%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)97%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities97%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant95%

Writing

All Students90%
Female94%
Male87%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant90%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female82%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch84%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English81%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant79%

Reading

All Students94%
Female95%
Male92%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)94%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch96%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities93%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English95%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant94%

Science

All Students82%
Female87%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities83%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant82%

Writing

All Students84%
Female92%
Male77%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)87%
Free lunch eligiblen/a
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English86%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 56%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Hispanic 6% 32%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 6%N/A41%
Male 50%N/A51%
Female 50%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2040 Miller Dr.
Longmont, CO 80501
Phone: (303) 651-7900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT