Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Louisville Elementary School 4

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
I disagree with the negative reviews of this school. Our experience here has been mostly great. We moved to Louisville in March of this year from Vermont. Our daughter is in the gifted range, so we were unsure whether or not to advance her up a grade. The principal, Jennifer Rocke, was amazingly professional, and brought in several specialists to help us make the decision. All of these people were completely committed to helping our daughter be in the best place for her entire personality. The only complaint we have is with their TaG program--it's understaffed and not geared toward individual students, which is beyond their control. Unbeknownst to us, Vermont has the highest allocation of dollars per student in the country--Colorado is 27th! Not only that, but the Colorado Supreme Court recently ruled on yet another decrease in state funding for education. How can children possibly get a leg up in life if education funding is continually pared down? Therefore, despite these challenges, we are very impressed with the level of professionalism, care, time, and energy this school has dedicated to our daughter. We couldn't ask for more. I wish politicians and activist judges would keep the children in mind when they make laws and policy that directly affect their education. It's unconscionable.

Louisville Elementary School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
Jennifer Rocke--Principal. She was extremely professional in making sure our child was evaluated, and specialists were brought in to help us determine the best place for her intellectually and emotionally.


Louisville Elementary School 2

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
I am very surprised to see such high rating for the school. There are very few gifted classes for above average students and the principal is questionable at best. Myself, along with several other families have had problems for the last 2 years with bullying and academics. We are considering not even sending our child back. We have been lucky to get a few great teachers and greatly appreciate all of their help and support but everyone should know this school is in no way a 5 stars. Ask around and you will see for yourself.

Louisville Elementary School 3

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
LES does a good job with exceptional and below average students but unfortunately does not meet my standards for the middle of the road learner. My son has attended LES since he started school and we continue to be disappointed. He is what I would call an okay student but struggles at times and needs more than just simple instruction which he rarely gets. My other child who is very smart had no problem here but that is because she is quick to learn and seldom needed additional help. Have talked to many parents who have the same concerns that we do. Come on LES for such a great school you are missing a big part of your school.

Louisville Elementary School 2

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
If your child is a middle-of-the-road learner, this school is fine. Class sizes are very large, and the teaching style is more verbal lecture than hands on. Special ed is good for those needing significant assistance (multi-intensive), or minimal assistance (pull-out reading/math support), but terrible for any child who falls in the middle. Also, for children with different learning styles (i.e. hands-on learners, visual learners) this is not a good school (although some teachers are better than others). Not a place for individualistic learning.


Louisville Elementary School 5

Posted August 18, 2013
- a parent
LES has become a family tradition for us....now 4th generation going. Very good teachers and staff. Lots of love, too.

Louisville Elementary School 4

Posted April 21, 2011
- a parent
Louisville is a wonderful community, and Louisville Elementary reflects this. The teachers are caring and motivated. There have been a few issues with classroom discipline, but our daughter's year seems to have been a particularly wild one. Be aware that apparently NOBODY is accepted for open enrollment, not even if a child is already enrolled in the school and the family moves just outside the school's area. The principal, who is by all reports a very capable manager of school affairs, would not even meet with us to speak about it. The parent community is friendly and helpful. The other kids are great.

Louisville Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
The teachers, principal, everyone involved are totally dedicated to all the kids. Wonderful learning environment for kids.


Louisville Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
Most families walk or bike to school!

Louisville Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
The teachers are the greatest--they are truly committed to educating kids and they also teach good citizenship and have a strong anti-bullying policy.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Louisville Elementary School
400 Hutchinson Street, Louisville, CO  80027
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (720) 561-7200
Last modified Louisville Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top