Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Truscott Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 15, 2014

I was nervous about having my child attend this school, because of the state scores and terrible GS score. She has Autism and I've worked as a parent mentor and disability rights advocate for years; typically, not getting along with school officials. I'm a behavior analyst too. However, the previous school my child attended (same District in affluent area) refused to work with me. When asked to describe the school, my child said it "was like being a caged animal". Truscott from the beginning has worked with me extensively and my child now enjoys school again. They communicate with me daily, respond immediately to issues or concerns, and even work to help implement a behavioral program between school and home for better results. The new principal, Hanford, is amazing and goes above and beyond. The SLP actually worked her day off just to help manage my child's anxiety on a field trip! Both teachers have been very patient and involved. The school psychologist works hard to help increase social skills. Really, I haven't met one staff at this school that hasn't put an extensive amount of care into the students! It has made me realize that state scores do not define a school, AT ALL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

My children started attending Truscott last year and I have to say t we love it! The staff and teachers are encouraging and helpful. Mr. Bessey has helped my son so much and Mrs. Atwood was a saint with social butterfly daughter. My son has ADHD and we are trying to handle it with little or no amphetimines and the school has supported and helped my din have a great year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

I am a grandma and our kids went to Truscott. They liked their school and that helped them continue to like school in the upper grades. These are the formation years and Truscott did a good job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Shellie Olsen Truscott is a great school, the staff is awesome, my oldest child loves school, thanks to Mrs.Pond last year, and Mr. bessey this year. Great teachers!! My youngest is ready for Mrs.Pond to teach him to read, next year. Mrs.Fothergill, great!! Mrs.Noland, great !! Mrs.Morse, great ... The school, also has very good security. Side doors locked, staff outside after school to ensure safety! PTO great!!! It's just a great school, our family is very happy to belong to it.. Thank you!! Truscott staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

Truscott is Loveland. Colorado's primary downtown school. The school just celebrated it 50th anniversary and it has come a long way over the years. We are now a Core Knowledge school offering a wonderful added curriculum for the students. The staff is highly dedicated to the growth of it's students, in every aspect of learning. Truscott has a great community in and outside of the school, with parents and local businesses doing everything they can to support this great school. Truscott works tirelessly to provide every possible opportunity to it's students and staff and would greatly benefit from $20,000.00 dollars. I wouldn't put my children in any other school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

Truscott is home to a diverse group of students and families. We try to make it a place where everyone is welcomed and accepted for who they are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

Our school has the best staff members of any school that I have ever been to as a parent or a student. Our Principle is the best, she knows each and every student by thier full name, and some of those names are very hard to pronounce. Everyone in our school from the custodians to the librarian are the friendliest and nicest people around. I love Truscott and the people who work there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

because of the kids. they may be financially disadvantaged but they are the most loving caring kids in the world
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

Truscott is a core knowlege school, and my daughter has learned more about life, music, history and science in kindergarten than we ever imagined. Her teachers genuinely care and check in with us all the time on our daughters progress. It's a fantastic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

I love Truscott Elementary because we have students and staff who show Respect for each other. We have students and staff that are successful in all that they do. We have students and staff that are safe at home and at school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 20, 2010

The teachers and staff care about the kids and their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

The staff here at Truscott is the BEST! These teachers are so dedicated, friendly, hard working teachers! I am honored to work here with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

The staff and curriculum are the best. My son has learned so much at Truscott!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

Truscott teachers and staff go beyond just caring. They challange their students yet provide support for their success!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2009

Touchy feely without high expectations of student and staff. Some staff are wonderful, many are really mediocre or worse. Overall, not impressed with bad management of teachers and kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

This school has been a important change we have made for our son. We transferred to this school for the Core Knowledge curriculum and have been amazed at the depth of information that he has learned. The teachers are encouraging to the children and my son has never been happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

The new Core Program has been a wonderful experience for my son. He has developed a better love for learning and enjoys the challenges of problem solving and discovery. He is a shy child but has found his voice through the process of discovery with his classmates and teachers. I transferred my child to this school and have not regretted my decision. It has opened new doors and he now can see 'how to learn' not just 'what to learn'. This school has taken on the challenge of a new curriculum and done so with each child in mind. I applaud the principal and his staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

33 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 51% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 49% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female63%
Male71%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant67%

Reading

All Students71%
Female88%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligible71%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities71%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant71%

Writing

All Students44%
Female63%
Male28%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Free lunch eligible38%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities45%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English50%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students57%
Female58%
Male56%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Free lunch eligible52%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English60%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant57%

Reading

All Students58%
Female65%
Male47%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Free lunch eligible47%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant58%

Writing

All Students25%
Female23%
Male29%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic10%
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)35%
Free lunch eligible20%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunchn/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities32%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English27%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant25%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

Math

All Students47%
Female38%
Male59%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)52%
Free lunch eligible47%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch47%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities56%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English53%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant47%

Reading

All Students66%
Female67%
Male65%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Free lunch eligible58%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English71%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant66%

Science

All Students32%
Female24%
Male41%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)40%
Free lunch eligible21%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch41%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities38%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English35%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant32%

Writing

All Students34%
Female38%
Male29%
Black (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaskan Nativen/a
White (not Hispanic)36%
Free lunch eligible26%
Reduced lunch eligiblen/a
Not eligible for free/reduced price lunch47%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities41%
Limited English proficiency (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English38%
Immigrantn/a
Neither migrant nor immigrant34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Colorado used the Transitional Colorado Assessment Program (TCAP) to test students' skills in reading, writing and mathematics in grades 3 through 10, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The TCAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Colorado. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the test. The TCAP replaced the CSAP as Colorado's state assessment program effective for the 2011-2012 school year.

The different student groups are identified by the Colorado Department of Education. If there are fewer than 16 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Colorado Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

23%
of schools in the state are Below average
52%
of schools in the state are Average
24%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in Colorado. Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 Test scores are based on 2012-13 TCAP results from the state of Colorado.

2 This rating is based on 2011-12 and 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in Math, English Language Arts, and Writing from the state of Colorado.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 56%
Hispanic 36% 32%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 73%N/A41%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

211 West 6th St
Loveland, CO 80537
Phone: (970) 613-6900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT