Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ponderosa Elementary School 2

Posted October 22, 2015
- a parent
Just had the most unpleasant experience during my child's parent teacher conference. Upon entering the class room to meet with his teacher we also found the P.E. teacher and Music instructor waiting as well. Immediately after introductions were made the P.E. and music instructors began a combined attack of my child's character. Telling him that beside being disrespectful towards them that he is singled out and removed from the class setting because he was unwanted by the other students in his class. The Physical Education teacher became so upset during this time that she was noticeably, physically shaking. After this display of educational excellence ended and they left the room my child was consoled by his teacher who told him he was a great kid. We then went on with our conference which was most pleasant and constructive discussing his current academics where I'm glad to say he was performing at the expected level for his grade.

Ponderosa Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2015
- a parent
Great staff and very engaged and focused teachers! Very nice facility with all the latest technologies. Parent evolve mentioned is great with lots of volunteers. My son was having some focus issues but with consitant communication between teachers, staff and parents he has had enormous improvement. Only area I would improve on is Music program and extracurricular activities, it would be nice to see some sports for the older kids.


Ponderosa Elementary School 2

Posted October 14, 2014
- a parent
This school needs some time to mature, the staff is great but it is disorganized and this make the environment that the kids learn in very unstructured.

Ponderosa Elementary School 3

Posted March 24, 2014
- a parent
I've had both good and bad experience with teachers. I feel there is a group of teachers who have behavior expectations set just a little too high for students of such a young age. Yes, students should show respect, but I've been made to feel like my child should be in a corrections facility for how he acts. If I can handle my kid when he gets wild, a teacher should be able to without sending them to a counselor and suggesting I medicate them.

Ponderosa Elementary School 5

Posted January 29, 2014
- a parent
My son has attended Ponderosa for the last 3 school years and I couldn't be happier with the decision I made sending him there! The teachers have all be very wonderful, and their communication is great! The parent involvement is phenomenal! They are not only teaching the students basic math and reading skills, they are also building character! They are teaching these children values that are not so common anymore! Great school overall.


Ponderosa Elementary School 5

Posted December 08, 2013
- a parent
We have attended Ponderosa for a couple of years now and just love it. The school is new and nice and currant. The teachers and staff are so friendly and welcoming. I have felt nothing but positive energy since coming to Ponderosa. We have had teachers that go above and beyond for our children. Not every teacher is perfect, but most of them truly love their job and the children. They are so patient and loving and do their best for the students. There is a wonderful parent community at Ponderosa -- so many parents volunteer in the school! Fundraisers get amazing support and turnout from our community. The principal, Mrs. Smith, has done a nice job with the school and it is definitely headed in the right direction.

Ponderosa Elementary School 3

Posted August 19, 2012
- a parent
My daughter did not have a good experience in music or P.E. She has excelled in all her other areas. Mrs. Crocker has worked hard to maintain her reading level. The school is new and clean-overall nice facility. Many parents are actively involved in classroom volunteering.

Ponderosa Elementary School 4

Posted May 23, 2012
- a parent
Ponderosa is a good school with engaged teachers and involved parents. The music programs are especially good for an elementary school. It has struggled somewhat as a new school building an IB curriculum, and it is losing a great principal after its second year--not sure why except maybe the pressures of opening a new IB school, needing more district support. The building and grounds are beautiful with awesome technology for the kids. We recommend it as a worthwhile school, it just needs to build some stability, and that comes with time and support from the community, parents and teachers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ponderosa Elementary School
4550 Florence Avenue, Loveland, CO  80538
(970) 679-9500
Last modified Ponderosa Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ponderosa Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top