Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Superior, CO
Students enrolled: 573

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Superior Elementary School 1

Posted February 07, 2014
- a parent
This is NOT a good school. First of all, the teacher student ratio is closer to 30:1. The teachers do NOT communicate with parents. The only way you can get the teacher's attention is to go to the classroom immediately after school. Emails are ignored!! The principal is worthless. She doesn't answer emails or calls. If you have a problem or concern, keep it to yourself. Your children will suffer if you make waves. The bottom line is, don't count on a good education or caring teachers/staff at Eldorado. This school is NOT a 10!! I would give it a 1 on a good day!! Until this school gets new leadership, don't count on any improvements!!!

Superior Elementary School 1

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
Three of my five children when to this school. My older children did quite well here, but that was some time ago. The principle has changed and my third child at the school is a 2E kiddo while my others were not. What a difference. I went from thinking "top" school, to absolute worst. Many families with special needs kids have been forced out with the new administration. If your child has special needs, look into other schools. TAG program is very weak as well. Some teachers are wonderful, but others are terrible, like most schools. If you have a middle of the line type child, this will probably be a good fit.


Superior Elementary School 1

Posted October 07, 2013
- a community member
Superior Elementary is either a 5 star or a 1 star school depending upon which side of the fence you end up on. This school is fantastic if you fall into the "teacher's pet" category. If you don't, then this school can be hell. The teachers get lots of leeway on how they teach, grade and handle parent teacher conferences. If they like your kid, things will go smooth and you and your kid will be happy (read other reviews). If they determine that your kid is not worth it, it would mean that your kid gets graded subjective to the teacher's criteria. The TCAP scores for your kid could be high advanced but you will still see 1 or 2 on the progress reports. Your kid could get bullied at every level and you cannot complain. The biggest white elephant is the grading. They get volunteers to grade and most often, those volunteers don't know a thing about grading. End result is depressingly low grades for kids who should be building confidence at this age.

Superior Elementary School 5

Posted November 28, 2011
- a parent
We specifically moved here to feed into this school and haven't regretted our decision once. The teachers are fantastic and obviously are really attuned to different learning styles. The parental involvement, which is considerable, is part of what makes Superior Elementary so terrific. I like (& respect) the way the teachers figure out how parents can best help -- some make great teaching assistants, while others might be best utilized doing clerical. There are always going to be nits, and mine is with the entitled nature of the neighborhood ... but that has NOTHING to do with the school, the high quality of education and the truly wonderful, caring teachers, admin and staff.

Superior Elementary School 1

Posted April 22, 2011
- a parent
If you have a concern about something at this elementary school and go to m. hausermann, the principal, with your concern be very careful because she might inform her whole school staff about what your concern is. This happened to me. I am not sure if this is to intimidate the parent or to make sure that the whole staff knows about the concern and turns against you. Since there are quite a few teachers from the school that live in the subdivison make sure you let m. hausermann know that what you are talking about is not for public disclosure.


Superior Elementary School 5

Posted September 28, 2010
- a parent
We have been very pleased with this school. The teachers are fantastic and there are lots of fun and educational activities for students.

Superior Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Parent teacher student relation and the quality of education is very good. School has very pleasant atmosphere for every kid to learn and grow.

Superior Elementary School 4

Posted December 29, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Superior Elementary School 3

Posted June 24, 2008
- a parent
There is no denying that Superior Elementary has very high and successful academic standards. My child has done very well there and I am pleased with that aspect of the school. My purpose here is to bring to the public's attention the pitfal that is the principal, Mary Hauserman. She seems well intentioned but also seems to be micromanaging the school into the ground. Over the last 2 years she has let some of the best teachers in the school go based on her personal prejudices, what message is this sending to our children. Then she did not listen to the school community(even though she asked for imput) when filling the spots. I think moral is low and it needs to be watched carefully over the next year or two. Being a person in a minority, it is hard to sit back and watch her weed.

Superior Elementary School 5

Posted August 28, 2007
- a parent
Superior is a great school. Parents are extremely involved, and the teaching staff is excellent. It is so nice that we have such a great public school in our own back yard! My only complaint would be that I find some parents to be OVER involved, and I think that the school should encourage some time without parents in the classroom. School is a time for children to form their own 'space' and to learn to grow as independent human beings.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Superior Elementary School
1800 South Indiana St, Superior, CO  80027
(720) 561-4100
Last modified Superior Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Superior Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top