Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Arapahoe Ridge Elementary School 2

Posted May 04, 2015
- a parent
I agree with the reviews on the teaching staff, they are great. Now for the ugly truth. The class sizes are horrible. They are stuffed in like sardines and if a child needs a little one on one , its not going to happen .The lunches ARE too short, and further down the line these kids will most likely have GI problems. Now for assessment test. They have MULTI assessment test all year. If you don' t live in the walking distance and can't make it because they do not have the busses for assessment days they count your child absent for the entire day. Another way to keep a lower income child ..is no car...from taking the test and penalizing them for it..They also now that that will give them a higher than average overall test scores. Causing the the state and Federal government to pat them on the back. It's an unjust district to penalized the not so fortunate child that doesn't live near and has to bus and they don't. SHAME on the district.

Arapahoe Ridge Elementary School 2

Posted March 27, 2014
- a community member
Safety is a concern. Parking lot and traffic is horrible. Administration is biased and treats families unfairly. Many behavior issues in classes that are not being addressed and effecting my child's education and safe surroundings.


Arapahoe Ridge Elementary School 2

Posted February 21, 2014
- a community member
I rate this school 2/5 because I learn a lot, which is good but there are many flaws at my school. SOME (not all) teachers do not respect kids. Their punishments are inapropriate like embarrassing the students or yelling at them. I understand that kids do need a punishment for their wrong actions, but these punishments lower self esteem, which in a way can be bullying. Another reason is the lunch time. The lunch time given at this school is 10 minutes - does ARE know that the state law says the minimum time for lunch period is 20 minutes?! The staff here are nice and the principal, and most teachers. But these issues are not suitable for kids 5-11.

Arapahoe Ridge Elementary School 4

Posted February 10, 2014
- a parent
This has been a great school for our son, who has attended K-3 thus far. The teachers are fabulous (*especially* Mrs. Robbins and Mrs. Schoolmeester!) and really try to connect with their students and provide a nurturing learning environment for them. The principal, Mr. Gerzon, is wonderful -- very hands-on, approachable, and caring. The school also seems to be fiscally responsible and transparent with keeping parents informed of where budget money is allocated/spent. My small(ish) complaints about the school would be: limited gifted/talented program to keep my son challenged, long drop-off lines (especially for K-2 students), number of students per class has been in the "larger" range (28+ per class). But, all in all, a wonderful school!

Arapahoe Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Arapahoe Ridge Elementary This school is located within a quiet respectable community that's not near any busy streets. It's tucked neatly away. The teachers have been great & respond quickly to our needs if any issues arise. I like the fact that they get the parents involved to help you respect what the children are learning. I am happy that if there is an issue in the community or surrounding cities that they inform the parents quickly by email or calls about Lockouts & when they are lifted. It makes me feel like my child is truly safe!


Arapahoe Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted February 12, 2012
- a parent
This is an amazing public school. The teachers are incredibly committed and the principal is very involved. We have had an excellent experience.

Arapahoe Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2012
- a parent
We have two students at Arapahoe Ridge and have been at the school for 3 years now. We are extremely pleased with the Principal and the Teachers. They are all very dedicated to the students and are always looking to enrich the learning environment at the school. Even with the huge budget cuts this year, the staff has done an excellent job of utilizing the resources wisely and effectively. We are so happy to be apart of our local, neighborhood school where our children are thriving and learning.

Arapahoe Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted February 10, 2012
- a parent
ARE staff works as a team towards the school vision of creating a community of learning. Outstanding Adams 12 school. I take exception to the negative reviews with very specific one-off issues thery are focusing on. Come see for yourself, go wolves!


Arapahoe Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2012
- a parent
I have been involved with ARE for the past two years and couldn't feel better about our choice to send our children to this school. The teachers are passionate about teaching, the well-being of the children and are committed to making the elementary years a wonderful experience for the children. Every year we see more and more budget cuts and the administration and PSO Board at ARE are always coming up with creative ways to increase learning opportunities, help the struggling students, add technology and resources. Every decision is made in the best interest of the students. Thinking about sending your kids to ARE. Come for a visit, meet the teachers, talk with the principal, call some parents.

Arapahoe Ridge Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2012
- a parent
I have been absolutely delighted with our experience at Arapahoe Ridge. The teachers have been excellent and completely adaptable with the material to keep my daughter challenged. I feel like they do a wonderful job of not only tailoring the material to her needs and level but on the days I volunteer, I can see it being tailored to the needs of those students who need additional help. The principal is involved, attentive and available whenever I have needed him. We receive constant and timely communication. I love the early release day on Wednesdays and the opportunity it provides to do outside activities without interfering with her schoolwork. I am so grateful that we have such a high-quality and positive school for our children to attend and would recommend it to anyone!

Nearby schools

Arapahoe Ridge Elementary School
13095 North Pecos Street, Westminster, CO  80234
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (720) 972-5740
Last modified Arapahoe Ridge Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top