Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Ansonia, CT
Students enrolled: 695

3 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ansonia High School 1

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
1 of the worst school systems in the state. Out of 30 districts, number 1 being the overall best, Ansonia rates at number 29. Educators are more interested in their paycheck, cliques, & the pigskin than teaching the students. On behalf of my parent with regret, I graduated from this system in the late 70's that's has progressively worsened! I refuse to enroll my children. Anyone who recommends or denies the truth about this educational system is as ignorant as it is. As long as this community caters to section 8/title 19 it will remain backwards & menacing.

Ansonia High School 1

Posted October 09, 2013
- a parent
I have to say A Parent hit the nail on the head, so much to the point I had to see if I submitted the review. This school is below par, but the blame starts with the BOE Superintendent Dr. Merlone. I spent hours upon hours having to correct teacher errors, fighting for my child's rights, being inundateted with teachers who just don't care. When you bring an issue to Administration you could be you would not receive a call back from the then AP Mr. Wilson - who did such a stellar job the promoted him to Asst. Superintendent!! The schools in this district fail yearly. There's no emphasis placed on academics - if you don't play football you're just another body filling a seat .. It's sad because the few staff they have that think outside the box or truly enjoy what they do are treated horribly...


Ansonia High School 1

Posted August 21, 2013
- a parent
If I could rate this school less than a 1 star I would - the teachers are very young and NON MOTIVATED - there is no thinking outside of the box in getting the students engaged in the learning/teaching process. As a parent that was involved in my child s education by keeping in constant contact with all the teachers I was very disappointed with the lack of response from the teachers. More focus was placed on every little minor thing that the students did wrong rather than positive reinforcement. Teachers are quick to "write up" a student - send them to the office or even suspend them for minor stupid things. The school is trying to change their image by having students wear uniforms - rather than focusing on the way the school is perceived by having students wear uniforms they administrators should concentrate on the actual education these students are receiving. All of the administrators are just buying time until they retire there is not a genuine care for any of the students. As a resident of Ansonia I am embarrassed at the lack of education and professionalism.

Ansonia High School 5

Posted May 12, 2011
- a community member
Its like any other school, if you are willing to learn the staff is there for you. A great place with great clubs, and school siprit. And there teams are OK too.

Ansonia High School 5

Posted April 02, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Ansonia High School 5

Posted April 02, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ansonia High School 1

Posted March 07, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ansonia High School 5

Posted January 20, 2010
- a student
Its a good school, very good. I think its good to let the kids express there selves by not having dress code. They feel comfortable. Dont ever out dress code though.I have fun at ahs


Ansonia High School 2

Posted December 11, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Ansonia High School 5

Posted February 09, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ansonia High School
20 Pulaski Hwy, Ansonia, CT  06401
(203) 736-5060
Last modified Ansonia High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ansonia High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top