Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Woodhall School 1

Posted December 12, 2013
- a student
As a student i can say truly that any student would regret going to this school. The system of accountability is a joke and the faculty and administration do not complete of fulfill their responsibilities and then attempt to blame the students and duck responsibility.

The Woodhall School 5

Posted June 25, 2013
- a parent
Our son attended Woodhall for 3 years, beginning with repeating 10th grade. He had just been diagnosed with Asperger's. The first year, he was angry and withdrawn. Then he chose to return because he realized that the teachers were truly positive, proactive, and caring -- Just like Mr. Woodhall, EVERYONE cares about the young gentlemen of Woodhall. Our son ended up excelling, taking all 3 AP courses that were offered and getting a score of 5 on all 3 exams. The teaching is outstanding (equivalent to top prep schools, but much more personal). Our son just finished his freshman year at a top university, earning a GPA of 4.0. He will be applying to graduate school or medical school. Most importantly, he now likes himself! That is the greatest gift of all. Woodhall is not for everyone, but Mr. Woodhall will talk with prospective students and their parents to help determine whether this is right for you. They teach the core values of Communication and Accountability. It prepares both the students and their parents for the future with a sense of direction and confidence. We are deeply indebted to Woodhall for helping our son find himself.


The Woodhall School 5

Posted January 23, 2013
- a teacher
If you are looking for a boarding school for your son, Woodhall is the place! We help turn teens who are struggling into successful gentlemen. We are a supportive, helpful, inspiring community who truly care about the students. We strive every day to give personal attention to all 42 of our students. We know each one by name, tailor their course selections to their needs, monitor their success daily and report weekly on their grades. But the best part about The Woodhall School is that our alums write to us and tell us of the huge difference the school has made in their lives. Many of today's successful men in the military and other highly skilled professions have graduated from Woodhall. Discover for yourself what the individualized approach that teaches compassion, integrity, and respect can do for your son and for your family.

The Woodhall School 5

Posted November 11, 2011
- a student
As a graduate of the Woodhall School, I can say that this school changed my life. I was afforded the opportunity to work at my own pace under close supervision which enabled me to graduate early! I have had a long and successful career and make it a point to keep in touch with the school. The structure and individualized approach to education is unmatched and the results speak for themselves. 100% of Woodhall's graduates are accepted to college at the time of graduation. Many students resist structure that requires you to be accountable for your actions (I was one of them) however, having spoken to dozens of former students I can assure you that the common theme is one of appreciation for what Woodhall has done for them.

The Woodhall School 0
no rating

Posted April 26, 2010
- a parent
My son is thriving at the school. It is structured, offers advanced classes, and promotes values.


The Woodhall School 5

Posted April 15, 2009
- a community member
Excellent school. Terrific faculty that really connect with the boys.

The Woodhall School 1

Posted January 04, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

The Woodhall School 1

Posted November 05, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


The Woodhall School 1

Posted July 10, 2008
- a community member
As a grudging 'alum' from Woodhall I would not submit your child to this institution. The concept of the school is solid, however the actual follow through is cold, controlling, and undermining. The communication group, again a good concept, is administered by teachers and faculty that have NO therapeutic training, how ever treat it like they are counselors or psychiatrists. This can create a power struggle between the students and faculty, as teachers egos can flare up when children get put into tough spots.

The Woodhall School 5

Posted February 03, 2007
- a parent
With a terrific faculty, most of whom live on the school campus, and with a clear mission to educate the whole boy-- academically, physically, emotionally-- and instilling the critical element of self-confidence, The Woodhall School takes boys and turns out fine, well-rounded, gentlemen. To a large degree, the growth in the boys is nurtured through unique, confidential, communications groups. Responsibility and good choices are encouraged by the school as a whole acting through its policy of treating all with respect and its committee on accountability. Class sizes of three and four are the norm. The boys are supportive of each other, and with the assistance of the committed faculty and staff, 40 or so boys from all over the USA and few other countries leave the school with a high degree of self-esteem and ready to meet life's challenges and to succeed as good citizens.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Woodhall School
Po Box 550, Bethlehem, CT  06751
(203) 266-7788
Last modified The Woodhall School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
The Woodhall School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top