Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 20 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


High Horizons Magnet School 1

Posted December 12, 2014
- a teacher
A total joke. The politically correct Bastion that borders on insanity where no learning takes place - a glorified Kindergarten for inner- city troublemakers. The administration is completely clueless and they only pretend they are doing something. They often bully teachers and do not respond when teacher lodges complaint against non-compliant and disobedient students.

High Horizons Magnet School 5

Posted April 06, 2014
- a community member
I'm currently a student in High Horizons. I am in seventh grade and have been here since kindergarden. I absolutely love it here. All the staff actually care about you and help out whenever you need help. Last year, some kids with mental issues came and everyone is nice to them, made friends and this year they are graduating! This school is very challenging but if you need help the teachers will take their own time to help you out. Everyone knows each other so it is a very welcoming and loving place. I recommend this school to all parents looking for a good school for their children.


High Horizons Magnet School
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
The teachers are awesome. No child fails at HHMS, every effort is made to make sure every child is simply the best by doing their best.

High Horizons Magnet School
no rating

Posted March 30, 2010
- a student
High Horizons Magnet School, is such a well challenging school. i love it here. the teaches push you to do well. everyone is very intelligent. if i were you, i would put my child in this wonderful school.

High Horizons Magnet School
no rating

Posted February 04, 2010
- a parent
My daughter has been going to high horizons since kinder-garden and i absolutely love this school and so does my daughter the principle and the teachers are wonderful, concerned, and fair they love all there children.


High Horizons Magnet School 5

Posted February 03, 2009
- a student
I'm an eighth grader at High Horizons and I love it! The teachers are frim but fair, and they even let you make corrections to tests. They dont mind if you need extra help during lunch or at school, they actually care about us. The principal believes in us and want us to succeed. We have lost a lot of activites but gained a lot such as Japanese, Honor Choir, Yearbook, Newspaper, and Peer Tutoring. I am going to miss HHMS when i graduate.

High Horizons Magnet School 5

Posted January 01, 2009
- a parent
My children graduated from High Horizons Magnet School. Its extraordinary faculty and mission of excellence are second to none-public or private! 2008 Blue Ribbon Award winner from NCLB.

High Horizons Magnet School 5

Posted June 18, 2008
- a parent
I feel High Horizons Magnet School is wonderful and I'm delighted to have my children there. My daughter has gone to High Horizons since Kindergarten and now she is in sixth grade. My son started Kindergarten and now he is in first grade and with the help of the staff you can't go wrong. All of the teachers there are because they have a passion to teach and a dedication to all these children .. They have a promise to themselves don't give up on these children in need..


High Horizons Magnet School 5

Posted January 24, 2007
- a parent
High Horizons Magnet is a terrific school. Our three children graduated from HHMS and have gone on to great success in high school and prominent colleges. The foundation for future success was laid at High Horizons. The principals, faculty and staff were always helpful. The school IS for average and ABOVE average children. There are strong demands for self-discipline and academic performance. If you want the best for your child, High Horizons Magnet is the proper choice. Over the years, I noticed that the children who had problems were the ones who did not DO the work, not the one who struggled with it. Sometimes a parent might not realize that this school is not like the other Bpt. schools. At High Horizons Magnet, children must work to the best of their ability. What a wonderful school for the parent and child who are willing to accept the challenge.

High Horizons Magnet School 5

Posted June 27, 2006
- a parent
I am absolutely thrilled with the way my daughter is being taught at High Horizons. She is exceptionally happy and thoroughly enjoys the whole learning experience. She came here for kindergarten and now has just completed first grade. I have another daughter who is two years older attending a private school and I can't help comparing their results and curriculum casually. My High Horizons student is learning the same things that my third grader just did!! She can also read really well, as well as her older sister. I am constantly amazed by her progress and the love she has developed for learning. I couldn't be happier with the school as a whole. Top Notch all around. We moved to Bridgeport almost 3 years ago knowing full well that the public schools were not really recommended. It is so well worth applying to one of the three Magnet Schools in Brigeport.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

High Horizons Magnet School
700 Palisade Ave, Bridgeport, CT  06610
(203) 576-7807
Last modified High Horizons Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
High Horizons Magnet School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top