Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Middlesex Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2014

If you are looking to give your children the best classroom education and developmental experience that you can provide - this is it. We looked at all the schools in the area, including public and private offerings. GFA in Greens Farms was equivalent and might be better for those in need of a smaller school, a 'fresh start' socially or a less-competitive athletic scene. However, the competition at Darien keeps our Girls on their toes and prepared. It was the better choice for us. The girls are surrounded by exceptional classmates and feed off of that spirit of competition in a way that they just could not be matched in a 'lowest-common-denominator' school environment. Our MMS teachers are very involved and really love what they do. The athletics and academics at MMS are truly top-50 in the U.S. Community involvement in supporting the school, extracurricular activities and the children is high. I respect the different opinions presented by some students and parents on this site. I just disagree with them. MMS rocks!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

I have 2 kids 7 & 8 grade and they are very happy to go to M.M. School everyday and we are so glad to have them there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Well, it's alright. There are some teachers who care and are nice, and some are snobby and do not care. The school is fake. I am a 7th grade student who grew up in New York. Yes, there was bullying in New York, yet, the teachers took care of it. The bullying here is MUCH worse. It's ignored. Overall, the academics are pretty good, but so many tests.


Posted March 29, 2013

I have had three kids go through MMS my youngest is now there. This is an excellent school. The teachers and admin staff are excellent! The team system works well especially because every year the kids get exposed to different groups of kids so that they get to know kids from all over town before they head to Darien HS. many people that had their kids in private school have sent them to MMS because they feel it is better than the private schools in the area. Also, I know for a fact that one of the most prestigious private schools sent their language teachers over to MMS in the summer so they could adopt the MMS model of teaching languages; which in the first year is more focused on learning about the culture through fun things like games and songs. I love MMS and so do my kids!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2012

I I have 2 children there and I wish I could send them elsewhere. The ASPEN system reflects the way the school is run. In a word...Rubbish!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2012

This school is terrible. The teachers are super mean and don't help you when you get a bad grade. They are lazy and yell at you a lot. I've had 5 kids go through Middlesex and every single one of their teachers were horrible. Bullying is also a bad thing in this school. Overall, send your kids to private school for 6-8th grade and they'll be much happier and a lot more prepared for high school. This school is horrible!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2011

I love MMS! I totally disagree with the one-starred reviews. I think this school is excellent. The teachers are nice. Some of them might seem a little mean/weird but as long as you stay on their good side, you should be ok. They do give a decent amount of homework but don't worry. The students are a little cliquey but just about everyone makes at least one new friend. Also, the cafeteria food is actually pretty good. MMS is a blue ribbon school and I think it definitely deserves that award. Goo Middlesex!!


Posted December 18, 2010

This school is so fake. It looks great, but it sucks. Good things: tops, school paper, play Bad things: bullying, cliques, no diversity, way too much homework and tests, too much pressure, clubs are a joke, mostly mean teachers and staff, snobby, only cares about ratings, lots of bullying on buses, really chaotic drop off and pick up. principal that doesn't do anything, not enough discipline. This school sucks!


Posted March 28, 2010

I LOVE MMS! the teachers are great, and the pricipal is very nice. they also offer a lot of after-school sports, which is really important to me and a lot of my friends. overall, middlesex is the best school i have been to, even compared to private schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2009

Bullying in this school is an issue. Teachers and administration ignore it. They are only interested in their school ratings and will do anything to try and pacify the situation until they can officially get credit for your child and let other schools take care of their failures!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2009

Not only does Middlesex have an unsatisfactory and unchallenging curriculum, the whole Darien school system does. I moved from out of state in elementary school and was not only substantially farther in my studies than my fellow classmates, but also was entirely unimpressed by new material when it eventually came my way. When I came to Middlesex, I found a few fantastic teachers, a lot more inadequate ones, and a group of students so uninspired that they cared more about sports than academics. I am still in correspondence with a friend of mine from the Midwest, and recently found out that her equivalent of 'regular math' had done so well the past year that 'regular math' ceased to exist, and the kids from it moved up to our equivalent of 'advanced math'. And here we are, with our regular math kids getting C s and D s. Enough said.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2008

Wonderful! But the food isn't very good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 27, 2007

Middlesex is a great school for students to learn and thrive. The teachers are responsible and very well educated. Students recieve a little more homework than necassary, but grades come out usually high! The students love the school and many fundraisers are supported for causes such as UNICEF, Molly's Miracle and more. In fact, Middlesex's community has been in first place for most amount of money donated to UNICEF for 2 years now! Clay Akin, winner of American Idol one year, came to Middlesex to congradulate the children on their hard work. We CURRENTLY are MMS students and we thouroly believe MMS has a lot to offer! WE <3 MIDDLESEX MIDDLE SCHOOL!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2007

There are many exciting clubs for my child to participate in. the teachers are excellent and the amount of homework is a little more then needed but not overwhelming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2007

A great school for your child to learn alot! When my 6th grade son brings home math homework, its like the homework I had in 12th grade! Also helps your kids socially... I definitely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

I am impressed with this school . My third child is in 6th grade. My older children received an excellent education. I find the principal and staff to be very responsive. The team approach works very well and the team meetings that are offered if your child needs them are a conducive way to help your child build on their strengths and improve their weak areas. I think they teach the whole child-academics, social, emotional. It is a beautiful facility as well and I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

School is academically very hard for kids transferring in from out of state and even in state. Most teachers are unresponsive and do not communicate with parents to keep them informed on their child's issues. Morning drop off and afternoon pick ups are extremely messy and unorganized. Principal leave the school immediately after school and no one directs traffic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2006

Middlesex (grades 6-8) runs the school on a 'team' system. Each grade usually has 4 teams, and depending upon which team your child is on, you will have a unique and different experience from other teams. The team approach is a wonderful way to ensure individualized attention in a large school - your children's teachers will really know who they are. The only problem with this is that sometimes the workload will not be equitable among teams. A child 'stuck' on a 'harder' team may end up with a poorer performance record than his/her peer on an 'easier' team. The extracurricular activities are all wonderful including orchestra, band, theater, and intramural sports. The facility is very new and the overall environment is supportive and safe. Parents are very involved in the parents' association and a scoial alternatives planning group which is good but spends too much energy planning dances.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

Three of my children either attended or is attending the middlesex middle school. It is terrific, the teachers are well qualified and very interested in the welfare of their students. All around it is a terrific school. I am a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2004

Overall a bad school...my son hates going to school everyday due to the teachers, bullies, and plain mean principal....i had to send my son to Fairfield Country Day School in Fairfield, CT where he is now enjoying school, his friends and his teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

378 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

377 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

384 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

383 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

389 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

361 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

359 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

361 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 86% in 2013.

362 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
Female98%
Male99%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities89%
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%

Reading

All Students96%
Female98%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities85%
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%

Writing

All Students99%
Female100%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities91%
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students98%
Female99%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities84%
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%

Reading

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities78%
Students without disabilities99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%

Writing

All Students96%
Female98%
Male94%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities70%
Students without disabilities99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students99%
Female100%
Male99%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilities95%
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%

Reading

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities73%
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%

Science

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities89%
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%

Writing

All Students100%
Female100%
Male99%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilities95%
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 61%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Hispanic 3% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 13%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 2%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

204 Hollow Tree Ridge Rd
Darien, CT 06820
Phone: (203) 655-2518

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Thomas More School
Montville, CT


Dolan School
Stamford, CT






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT