Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Fairfield College Preparatory

Private | 9-12 | 904 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Fairfield

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $620,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 29, 2014

Academically not bad, but rude students. Boys here don't know how to act around women (ie. stop swearing) which was recently discussed at a fundraiser I attended. One young man recently admitted to this school was thrown off his school bus by his former local K-8 school for hitting girls on the bus-- documented on video and viewed by his parents. . Obviously Prep not aware of this boy's record since he was protected by his former principal by being removed from the bus vs. suspended - thus academic record unmarred. In light of what is going on with the NFL, etc. a boy like this is on the same track as Ray Rice. Not a place for creating character.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2014

The school is really amazing with the support it provides to its students. There is also peer support and a very good vibe among the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2013

I went to school here several years ago. The teachers and administrators were professional and dedicated to serving their students. I would recommend this school to anyone. Despite the high cost, it is worth every penny.


Posted February 24, 2009

Two sons both attended and loved both went on to great colleges and excellent jobs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I attended Fairfield Prep. and it is an excellent school. I must say going there was the best decision of my life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2008

Going to Fairfield Prep is the best thing I ever did for myself. Prep challenges its students in the classroom, on the athletic fields, and in the real world. Students are asked repeatedly to consider the hard questions about life in school and through service experiences to many different areas of the world from Mexico and Ecuador to just down the road in Bridgeport, CT. Students have the option to participate in retreats which help each individual to find himself and God at least once a year. The Prep brotherhood truly lasts a lifetime and fellow alumni are constantly staying in touch with each other. Prep really turns its students into 'Men for Others'
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 17, 2008

I wanted to go to this school. The unprofessionalism of the school kept me from attending. They mixed up my paperwork and then placed me on a waiting list. The freshman class was full and i was denied. I cannot belive that people pay thousands of dollars for that. It was a waste of my time and money, save yourself the aggervation, dont even apply.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2006

Not up to par with other private schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Graduating from Fairfield Prep is like getting 2 years of college. Your education is not only from books, but a way of life that will last forever. The Jesuit methods of teaching opens your horizons and lets you think out of the square. They also give you an opportunity to appreciate your religion then and for life. Their connection to Fairfield University, which is in the same beautiful New England countryside, allows the graduate the opportunity to further his education under the same philosophies.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 19, 2003

There is a reason why prep alumnai send their kids there. It is challengeing academically, physically, and mentally. Classes in the classroom are amazing while clubs and sports as well as community service are all important parts of the prep envirenment. Creating men for others is the chief goal as prep attempts to make young men ready to serve their community.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 61%
Hispanic 7% 20%
Black 5% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • JSEA
  • NAIS
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College preparatory
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Bridgeport
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Cycling
  • Diving
  • Fencing
  • Flag football
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Kayaking
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Rugby
  • Sailing
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Water polo
  • Wrestling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1073 North Benson Road
Fairfield, CT 06824
Phone: (203) 254-4200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Bassick High School
Bridgeport, CT


Central High School
Bridgeport, CT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT