Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Illing Middle School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 4, 2013

Illing Middle School and it's staff are amazing. SInce the change in administrative staff the school has taken a whole new direction. I attended my second 8th grade open house last night and the change from when my daughter attended till now is amazing. The Principal clearly and openly takes pride in the school and students and strives every day to improve EVERYTHING including the grounds! I hope it continues, he is a breath of fresh air to both students and faculty. I am a proud to say my children attend Manchester Public Schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2013

Student. I didn't like this school at all. The discipline was clearly not in place. Kids were slways out of control and care free. I was oftenly pushed around and the teachers did barely anything to help me. The teachers didn't offer much except after school help. Guidance was to much of a chore to get in touch with. I felt miserable their.


Posted February 10, 2013

Very disappointed. Extremely difficult to work with guidance office. I have to make numerous requests in order to receive an answer to relatively simple questions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

The new principal this year is a dynamic personality and truly cares about the students and may be able to turn things around. That being said, I worked at Illing as a semi-long term substitute and found a critical mass of the students had serious behavior problems. Too many of the students put each other down - it is appalling and constant. I covered one so-called regular class that was 50% special needs of one kind or another. The percentage of special needs seems extremely high to me and it makes things very difficult for the average or high functioning student. The greatschools overall rating of 4 (under 50% is what it amounts to, which to me translates to an "F") is not misplaced. Power to the students and their heroic teachers who come out successfully and power to the principal if he can turn it around and get more parents to take responsibility and do their jobs of training their children to have more respect for themselves and others (or find more suitable environments for them). I'm not saying it's the worst (you can look to Hartford or New Britain for that) but I would personally try to get my child into a different school and/or district at this time.


Posted October 12, 2012

This year 2012 under the leadership of a new principal, the school staff seems to be more attentive. the principal appears to have an open door policy. he is very friendly and seem to have the children interest at heart. The kids appear to be motivated and alive. Good look to the new principal and staff he brought with him. It is a welcome change.


Posted October 2, 2012

I Love My Team Dartmouth (7B) I Really Love All My Teachers ! They Are All Great <3 Who Are Ms.Nobilo , Ms. Levenduski Mr.Shardt An Ms.Avakian


Posted December 21, 2008

So far, Illing Middle School is the best school I've been to. All of the staff is kind and very helpful. My team (7B) is, in my opinion, the best team. All the 7B teachers (Mrs. Avakian, Mrs. Botting, Mr. Schardt, Mrs. Nobilio, and Mrs. M) are amazing! I'm looking forward to a great year at this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 12, 2008

god i have been there for less than a month and i looooooooooooove it my 7b teacher is awesome. go Mrs. Avakian :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2008

I have 3 children in this school and I coul dnot be happier. The teachers are great and even call to tell me when thye have been exceptionally good.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

342 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

360 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

394 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

418 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 86% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
Female80%
Male78%
Black68%
Asian American80%
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities82%
English language learners35%
Proficient in English82%

Reading

All Students81%
Female82%
Male81%
Black73%
Asian American83%
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities53%
Students without disabilities84%
English language learners45%
Proficient in English84%

Writing

All Students82%
Female91%
Male74%
Black71%
Asian American87%
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities46%
Students without disabilities88%
English language learners65%
Proficient in English83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female84%
Male75%
Black70%
Asian American95%
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%

Reading

All Students79%
Female85%
Male73%
Black70%
Asian American91%
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%

Science

All Students67%
Female72%
Male62%
Black52%
Asian American86%
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities21%
Students without disabilities74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English69%

Writing

All Students79%
Female93%
Male65%
Black77%
Asian American91%
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities34%
Students without disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 42% 61%
Hispanic 26% 20%
Black 22% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Two or more races 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

227 East Middle Turnpike
Manchester, CT 06040
Phone: (860) 647-3400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St Bridget School
Manchester, CT



St James School
Manchester, CT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT