Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Washington School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 15, 2014

I go to this school friday we had fun day the 18th of jun its my gragyouwashin my last day of school is on the 19th of jun


Posted April 2, 2014

my daughter attended Washington in gr. k now she's n gr.8 and the school still look the same its very dark nside like its a prison. My son is n kindergarten since school started he came home sick every other day that tell me the school is not properly cleaned change it or close
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

My daughter attended kindergarten at Washington school and I was disappointed. Being an educator myself, I had high expectations for my daughter s first year of public school. Within the first couple weeks my daughter was being bullied by another student in her class. I met with the teacher who seemed genuinely concerned and then my husband and I met with the principal and the teacher as the situation continued. They said the student was on a behavior plan now so everything should be okay, but the bully still had a locker next to my daughter s and an assigned seat next to her. I had to ask to have them changed. A little later my daughter s teacher left the school. (We were not given a reason; we only were sent a note home the day before her last day.) It was a terrible transition for the students who weren t given any time to prepare for their teacher leaving. In the spring my daughter was having trouble with the same student at recess. The teacher said she was aware of the situation at the beginning of the year, but nothing else was said or done. Although, the academic standards are up to par and my daughter is doing well, the behavior standards at this school are very low.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2011

My son is in Kindergarten and the home work assignments are often misspelled and tough to understand, the classrooms are very dusty, computer volumes do not work half the time and i sometimes feel like when i have a concern the principal just listens but doesnt do anything about my problem. and he is not excelling in reading skills :( iam working on transfering him to Martin school in the coming year. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2007

I agree with most that is being said about Washington School. Unfortunately, it does not get the credit it deserves. My daughter was an advanced student who transferred to Washington from Boston. Although the curriculum focuses on grade level only. Her teacher and the administration recognized that she was in fact 2 grade levels ahead and accommodated her with higher level work. She enjoyed here experience at Washington. Now my 2 younger sons attend and they are thriving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2006

My daughter has transfered to Washington Magnet and I'm not pleased with the level of teaching. The standards and the expectations of these kids are set very low. There is problem with bullying in the school. On paper the idea of a Media Arts Magnet school looks very good on paper but I do not see the evidence that these kids actually benefit. the after school tutoring program is a joke, the work comes home sloppy and incorrect and I have to fix what the tutor was suposed to be working on with my kid on. These kids score lower than other schools in Manchester and these kids are not receing an educaton equal to other grade schools in Manchester. I will be transferrring her out at the end of the school year! The principal shouldn't be allowed to settle for less with the education of these kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2005

I would rate this school as having a quality program for students. The administration and teachers care. They are very particular about expectations and helpful if there is a problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2004

The racial breakdown of this school is inaccurate because the amount of african- american students is far greater than that of caucasian students. Just last year my son was one of three caucasian children in his class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2004

Washington School has been reopened as a media arts magnet school(2001-2002). A new extended day, afterschool program opened, thanks to a 21st Century Community Learning Center grant (2001-2002). This year, (2003-2004) 217 students participated in the program that provides an hour of academics with a certified teacher and an hour in a recreational activity. Classes have included: drill team, theater, digital design, video acting, fine art, poetry, Latin Dance, martial arts and more. Every 10 weeks, students show off their talents in a family showcase. Family field trips have included the Boston Aquarium and the Metropolitan Museum of Art in NYC. Prepartion classes for the Connecticut Mastery Tests are available in 3rd and 5th grades. Many parents, community organizations and volunteers participate in the program. Students often return from middle school to help out. Strong sense of family and community at Washington Media Arts Magnet School.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted March 3, 2004

This school has been a very unfortunate experience for both my children and myself. The teachers here do work just as hard and are just as wonderful as many other teachers across the state. The problem has been constant battles with the school administration. They do not encourage parents to participate in the school, they fight parents on most issues re: attendance and learning issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2004

Washignton is a great school although lacking in a culturally sensitive staff and curriculum. The ratio breakdown of Blacks/Whites is incorrect. There are more Whites in the school than Blacks making the percentage breakdown biased. The way it is broken down indicates that there are an equal distribution of Blacks to Whites and Blacks are scoring far below Whites. This is inaccurate. Although I'm not surprised that this was done or even why.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

Before my son attended Washington we lived in Massachusetts and the class sizes were almost double what they are at Washington. The wonderfull teachers and staff gave my son the much needed confidence to grow and excel as a student. I would recommend to anyone who is looking to send a child to school in Manchester to send them to Washington. The principal is wonderful as well and you can always find either her or the teachers ready and willing to discuss your childs progress without hassle. Wonderful school 5 stars all the way!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

Washington School is a wonderful school. The entire staff is very caring and nurturing. The students have a sense of pride and determination. My son loves his teacher and looks forward to learning and attending school daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
68%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

45 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
Female50%
Male65%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic38%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English61%

Reading

All Students47%
Female42%
Male55%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic35%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English53%

Writing

All Students61%
Female66%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic52%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities65%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
Female50%
Male61%
Black38%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English54%

Reading

All Students51%
Female36%
Male67%
Black35%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English51%

Writing

All Students52%
Female62%
Male44%
Black54%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities59%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English53%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female79%
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%

Reading

All Students71%
Female79%
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%

Science

All Students50%
Female49%
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English51%

Writing

All Students65%
Female66%
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 35% 20%
Black 27% 13%
White 23% 61%
Two or more races 11% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

94 Cedar St
Manchester, CT 06040
Phone: (860) 647-3332

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St James School
Manchester, CT



Keeney School
Manchester, CT


Robertson School
Manchester, CT


Assumption School
Manchester, CT


Nathan Hale School
Manchester, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT