Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
253 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Francis-St Hedwig School 2

Posted January 28, 2013
- a parent
I wish there were better alternatives private schools in town or nearby. As a result I felt as if I was forced me to keep my child at Stfrancis -St Hedwig way longer than I should have & I'm sorry that I did. I pray & hope that other parents don't make the same mistakes. The lower grades were ok but starting middle school you'll realize its a waste of your hard earned dollars. There is a lack of leadership & the teachers aren't pleasant at all. My child came home & said "mom, it's a shame how these teachers treat some students yet they talk about being a Christian school". When you address issues with the principal, priest even the archdiocese, nothing gets done. If you think you won't find any bullying because it's private, wrong & there's no laws against bullying in private schools to protect your children. As my child said "even the teachers are bullies". Looking at their standardized tests, they do poorly. Forget extra curricular activities, not only do you have to pay extra, there's no consistency in staff. Athletics is a joke. They never have coaches & if they manage to get one, it's someone inexperienced & it shows during games. Save your child, avoid this school!

St Francis-St Hedwig School 5

Posted July 17, 2010
- a parent
My daughter attended St Francis 6 - 8 grades and loved it!! She went to a small public school previously but enjoyed SFS much more. The teachers and the principal Mr. Fuller are wonderful. My daughter went on to Choate Rosemary Hall and is doing incredible. Thank you St Francis!!


St Francis-St Hedwig School
no rating

Posted December 06, 2009
- a parent
Staff at St. Francis of Assisi School are great, dedicated and caring toward my daughter and also my son last year. It is worth every dollar and any donations from the community. I am so happy my children had the opportunity to attend there with a great Principal and 7th and 8th grade staff and pastor.

St Francis-St Hedwig School 4

Posted April 12, 2009
- a student
As a fromer student while attending I thought that school would never prepare us for the tasks ahead, I went to a private highschool before going to naugatuck high and st francis is much better then the naugatuck school system. I was amazed at how far ahead i was to the naugatuck educated student. While every one can complain about the staff they are there for all the students and they know they students much better then a public school system. The building does need some improvement but most all the schools that i have ever attented also need updating. If I do have children i would strongly consider St. Franics

St Francis-St Hedwig School 5

Posted February 07, 2008
- a parent
St. Francis is a diamond in the rough. If you can look past the cosmetic issues you will find a principal, faculty and staff that give their all for our children. The quality of education is exceptional. The parents who devote countless hours supporting the school need to be commended as well. St. Francis is a bargain at twice the price.


St Francis-St Hedwig School 5

Posted February 06, 2008
- a parent
Great education - great principal.

St Francis-St Hedwig School 4

Posted January 06, 2008
- a parent
My two children have been at St.Francis School for many years. The school teaches the children about Christ and faith.The children pray each morning with the priest (in public schools they don't) Every Friday's the children pray the rosary. I am overall satisfied with SFS and the teachers are understanding and listen to the students and teach the children the catholic faith. I would strongly reccomend SFS for any parents looking for a catholic school.

St Francis-St Hedwig School 4

Posted August 22, 2007
- a parent
My child attends Saint Francis. Overall I am very happy with the quality of the education and the dedication of the teachers. The building needs some work but I feel changes are being made to work with what they have. I am very happy with the decision to send my children here.


St Francis-St Hedwig School 5

Posted September 02, 2006
- a teacher
I feel that this school is one of the best compared to the neighboring schools in the area. I would send my own children to this school because the teachers are extremely dedicated individuals. They love to teach and show enthusiasm in everything they do. They also help each other through sharing resources and meeting frequently to address continuity issues. The administration truly cares about each student and through kindness, patience, and understanding, can guide the children to follow in the footsteps of Christ.

St Francis-St Hedwig School 3

Posted June 27, 2006
- a student
After three years of high school following 9 years of SFS, I must say SFS was an interesting experience. I have found that religion and church means more to me now than during my time there. Unfortunately, most of the great upper grade teachers have left the school (ie Mr Koba, Mrs Geary, etc) and the stability of the administration leaves something to be desired. The fact is the school does not seem to have the support of the parish, which forces a lack of acceptable standards at the school. A few years here, wonderful. A lifetime, not so great.

Nearby schools

St Francis-St Hedwig School
294 Church Street, Naugatuck, CT  06770
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (203) 729-2247
Last modified St Francis-St Hedwig School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top