Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


New Canaan Country School 5

Posted May 02, 2014
- a parent
We have been at NCCS for 3 years and have a 2nd grader and Beginner student. There truly is something magical that happens on a campus that strives to 1) let children be children 2) fosters a love a learning and 3) seeks to develop a child not only academically but also to develop their character. I've never been on a school campus where you consistently come into contact with students who are self-confident, respectful, engaging and happy to be there. NCCS does a wonderful job of not only educating children and preparing them for the future, but also teaches them the value of being a contributing part of a community.

New Canaan Country School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
We love the inclusiveness of the school - it really welcomes and cherishes diversity in all of its dimensions, including religious and ethnic diversity of the families, and the various communication and learning styles of the students. It's this factor, as well many other parts of its identity, that fosters creative and curious younger students, who become confident and high-performing older students and adults.


New Canaan Country School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Dedicated, talented teachers; school honors the K-9 years as an educational journey capped off by powerful leadership opportunities in the 9th grade year; each child is nurtured and challenged; learning is by doing, rather than by rote; curriculum diverse and inspiring; successively more academically rigorous as students rise through each grade; public speaking is a core value along with community, resilience and teamwork.

New Canaan Country School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Both my kids have attended NCCS since they were 3 and we have been at the school 8 years. It is the best place and I really wish they had a school like this when I was young.

New Canaan Country School 3

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
New Canaan Country School's motto is Respect for Childhood, and it offers a loving, respectful environment for children. The downside is that academics are sometimes weak, and the school's curriculum is no more challenging or engaging than the local public schools. Teachers are very inconsistent, both in the quality of instruction and the amount of homework given. Some teachers are amazing, but some are checked out, and there's no oversight or accountability for them. Strong sports culture if your child is an athlete.


New Canaan Country School 5

Posted October 02, 2012
- a parent
My daughter has just started 4th grade here and has never once said, "mom, I don't want to go to school". She has been at NCCS since Kindergarten. This school fosters a love of learning. The teachers are happy, engaged and motivated. Tim Bazemore is a great leader for teachers, staff, and students. We are pleased.

New Canaan Country School 5

Posted June 28, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has spent the last two years in pre-school at NCCS. The teachers and faculty are highly qualified and care about the children. They instill confidence in the students. Most important, she loves going to school every day.

New Canaan Country School 5

Posted June 02, 2006
- a teacher
It would be hard to find anything adverse to say about this school (K-9). The dedication, professionalism and sheer pleasure each of the faculty seems manifest, the frequent laughter of the children, the demanding academic standards, and yet an overall relaxed atmosphere belie the excellence of the entire program. They make it all look effortless! The administration is strong, effective and well led -- albeit quietly -- by Mr Bazemore; the all-around academic, social, and psychological welfare of each student is obviously paramount and the succes level is very high.


New Canaan Country School 5

Posted February 23, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

New Canaan Country School 5

Posted August 19, 2003
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Canaan Country School
649 Frogtown Rd, New Canaan, CT  06840
(203) 972-0771
Last modified New Canaan Country School is a Private school that serves grades PK-9
New Canaan Country School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top