Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-9|Private
615 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


New Canaan Country School 5

Posted June 16, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has spent 3 years at NCCS and loves it. Always goes to school excited about the day. The faculty is highly qualified and the focus they place on individual student development is genuine.

New Canaan Country School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 16, 2015
- a parent
Teaching cultural values to its students is a priority for NCCS. Our daughter frequently cites examples from her days at school where honesty, sharing and teamwork were actively taught.


New Canaan Country School 5

Posted May 02, 2014
- a parent
We have been at NCCS for 3 years and have a 2nd grader and Beginner student. There truly is something magical that happens on a campus that strives to 1) let children be children 2) fosters a love a learning and 3) seeks to develop a child not only academically but also to develop their character. I've never been on a school campus where you consistently come into contact with students who are self-confident, respectful, engaging and happy to be there. NCCS does a wonderful job of not only educating children and preparing them for the future, but also teaches them the value of being a contributing part of a community.

New Canaan Country School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
We love the inclusiveness of the school - it really welcomes and cherishes diversity in all of its dimensions, including religious and ethnic diversity of the families, and the various communication and learning styles of the students. It's this factor, as well many other parts of its identity, that fosters creative and curious younger students, who become confident and high-performing older students and adults.

New Canaan Country School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Dedicated, talented teachers; school honors the K-9 years as an educational journey capped off by powerful leadership opportunities in the 9th grade year; each child is nurtured and challenged; learning is by doing, rather than by rote; curriculum diverse and inspiring; successively more academically rigorous as students rise through each grade; public speaking is a core value along with community, resilience and teamwork.


New Canaan Country School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
Both my kids have attended NCCS since they were 3 and we have been at the school 8 years. It is the best place and I really wish they had a school like this when I was young.

New Canaan Country School 3

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
New Canaan Country School's motto is Respect for Childhood, and it offers a loving, respectful environment for children. The downside is that academics are sometimes weak, and the school's curriculum is no more challenging or engaging than the local public schools. Teachers are very inconsistent, both in the quality of instruction and the amount of homework given. Some teachers are amazing, but some are checked out, and there's no oversight or accountability for them. Strong sports culture if your child is an athlete.

New Canaan Country School 5

Posted October 02, 2012
- a parent
My daughter has just started 4th grade here and has never once said, "mom, I don't want to go to school". She has been at NCCS since Kindergarten. This school fosters a love of learning. The teachers are happy, engaged and motivated. Tim Bazemore is a great leader for teachers, staff, and students. We are pleased.


New Canaan Country School 5

Posted July 08, 2010
- a community member
My daughter just completed her first year of JPK and loved it. NCCS has given her increased confidence and a strong foundation in traditional skills (ie, spelling, vocabulary, organization, etc) using non-traditional methods. Rather than standard classroom instruction or simple playing at the JPK level, the NCCS teachers use a very child-focused methodology that pays particular attention to individual development and learning through engaging a child's particular interest in an open classroom setting. I would highly recommend NCCS to anyone.

New Canaan Country School 5

Posted June 02, 2006
- a teacher
It would be hard to find anything adverse to say about this school (K-9). The dedication, professionalism and sheer pleasure each of the faculty seems manifest, the frequent laughter of the children, the demanding academic standards, and yet an overall relaxed atmosphere belie the excellence of the entire program. They make it all look effortless! The administration is strong, effective and well led -- albeit quietly -- by Mr Bazemore; the all-around academic, social, and psychological welfare of each student is obviously paramount and the succes level is very high.

Nearby schools

New Canaan Country School
649 Frogtown Rd, New Canaan, CT  06840
(203) 972-0771
Last modified New Canaan Country School is a Private school that serves grades PK-9
Top