Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 31 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Columbus Magnet School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
Children work on multiple projects each year and must always respect and act in a positive friendly manner with each other.

Columbus Magnet School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
It is the Magnet school's main mission. Columbus Magnet through social community involvement encourages always fairness and honesty.


Columbus Magnet School 5

Posted June 10, 2015
- a parent
Blending basic elementary school subjects with society & social awareness with great family involvement, makes for happy involved students, who confident as they move on to middle school. Each yr each class creates and runs a fund raising project, learning fairness in monetary values and fairness and cooperation working with their classmates. The students and families have made lifelong friends. Totally positive, thumbs up experience.

Columbus Magnet School 3

Posted August 02, 2014
- a parent
I have mixed feedback of this school. My daughter attends this school, after being selected via a lottery system, two years ago. She is now entering second grade, and even after daily reading session and working on various after school scholastic activity books to improve her math and reading, I feel she is still behind. I generally agree with the earlier feedback from the other parents, the schools works hard to create a positive learning environment, and the principle is also a positive influence trying to make a difference. As I compare this school to the schools in surrounding towns, it's clear that funding is an issue. Also the location of the school is not good at all. It's surrounded by low income housing and other less than ideal neighbors. In the two years since our daughter has attended there have been school lock downs because of surrounding neighborhood problems. Overall Norwalk schools are far from ideal, if you compare to Westport, Wilton or Darian. I hopeful the school can get some funding to help provide the additional help they need to succeed. I think given needed resources the school can really thrive.

Columbus Magnet School 5

Posted November 06, 2013
- a parent
This is the school I have been looking for, for my daughter's entire childhood. Fantastic place - excellent arts-infused curriculum; skilled, professional, very high-quality and kind teachers; great programming and facilities. A beautiful, beautiful place. The principal is amazing - she greets every child by name by about the second day!


Columbus Magnet School 5

Posted October 18, 2013
- a parent
We love the enrichment programs Columbus offers and the hands-on creative methods they use for teaching. The parent community as well as the teachers make this school a great place to learn.

Columbus Magnet School 5

Posted October 14, 2013
- a parent
Iam new to this school, but I am very happy with my kindergarteners progress. The teachers and staff and GREAT!

Columbus Magnet School 5

Posted October 13, 2013
- a parent
After very careful consideration I selected Columbus for my academically and artistically gifted, but socially awkward child. It was one of the best parenting decisions I have made. The Bank Street approach allows for open ended learning so that my child remains engaged and challenged. The fact that Columbus is a Hot School encourages creative thinking and supports her love of the arts. The school community embraces the "Tribes Agreements" so that the voice of each child is heard and respected and each student is valued as an important member of the group and is celebrated for their uniqueness. Columbus follows the Comer principal where parents are a welcome and respected part of the educational process. This is a wonderful school, and the staff are amazing. I highly recommend this school.


Columbus Magnet School 5

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
CMS is a wonderful school! They stay true to the Bank Street Curriculum. Parents and teachers are very engaged and active in all aspects of the children's' education.

Columbus Magnet School 5

Posted October 10, 2013
- a parent
My children had a great beginning at this school, caring and devoted teachers and staff.

Nearby schools

Columbus Magnet School
46 Concord St, Norwalk, CT  06854
(203) 899-2840
Last modified Columbus Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top