Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jefferson Magnet School

Public | K-5 | 584 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 7, 2014

Great staff and principal , very good with the students . Teaching comes first , and I can see their hard work in my daughter achievements , The students are doing a lot of reading and math , the science lab is fantastic , they learn a lot of interesting things and the art in this school makes them very creative .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2014

All teachers are great,but the principle. I had a really big safety issue with that school. The main office is on the 2 floor. So when people come in to sign in they enter and go... What if some parents have metal issues and have guns.. And unfortunately there is no solution to that problem. The principal never return calls very rude , even though he might seem very nice and polite at first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2014

My friends kids are studying here will say good and excellent in teaching and programs nice to hear and i am also going to put my kid here thanks to all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

I think this is a great school. My daughter is in second grade and she is really good in reading. She has improved a lot! The principal, staff and teacher very qualified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

Great school went there for 3rd/4th . Mr .Reynolds was always great. So much field trips. I cried that i wasnt there for 5th .


Posted December 12, 2011

I have nothing but great things to say about jefferson school and its staff. My step daughter is now in fourth grade and she has been there from kindergarden. My son is in kindergarden for the second year. he has a learning difference and concentration issues. The taechers, principal, vice principal, nurse and therapists have been more than helpful in my sons development. Many innercity schools let their students fall through the cracks but jefferson is absolutley not one of them. The teachers take pride in what they do and are very influential to the kids. My son and step daughter love going to school everyday and they are always telling me how they can't wait to see their teachers each week. And as for my sons learning disability, the staff is doing a wonderful job directing his interests into sschool work, making it fun. He has come around 110 percent. He couldn't read at all at the end of last year. Now, instead of me reading books to him at night, he wants to read to me. Jefferson science magnet scool should be the choice of every parent who decides to move to norwalk, or lives in norwalk.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2011

My son just graduated from Jefferson Science Magnet. Although he only attended for 2 years; I pulled him from another Norwalk Public elementary school where we were miserable. Jefferson has been the best experience for him. The teachers are amazing, the computer lab, double dose, partnering with the Maritime aquarium and GE. Everything and everyone worked to give Jefferson kids the best education and elementary school experience possible. I recommend everyone, especially if your child is interested in natural sciences to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2010

Great teachers and other faculty!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2010

The teachers and staff work well together for the kids


Posted April 13, 2010

The Principal, John Reynolds has created a great team of teachers and staff. His motto is only do what's purposeful. Jefferson recently won The Fairfield County Academic Gain Award from the Lone Pine Foundation. The school takes a true interest in each students gain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

I taught at Jefferson School/Jefferson Science Magnet School for 27 years. We always had teachers/staff, students, and parents who worked together and shared the responsibilty of getting the best education for the students. Our school motto is 'We Help Each Other' and we live up to it!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 27, 2010

My son is in the first grade and loves this school. He was previously at Kendall Elementary which was extremely overpopulated. I tried getting him into Jefferson and Columbus in K but he didn't get into either but God is good because for the 2009/2010 school year, he got accepted to both and we choose Jefferson. Their curriculum is great and his Teacher, Ms. S. has helped him improve in reading drastically. My only complaint is that I do not like the after school program my son attends however, that's not run by Jefferson. On another note, parents are encouraged to be involved, I've gone to the school to read to the kids and they were all well behaved. All in all, it's a great school. Oh lastly, the morning and afternoon parking situation is awful, I guess based on the schools location nothing else can be done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2009

My daugther started kindergarden in 2008. I'm soo happy the teachers give her confidence, she's very happy to go to school every day. I feel really like there is no words to describe everything she learn each day. Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2008

My son has been here for 2 years now and I can not say enough about the staff and the school administration. They care about my son and only want to see the best happen for him. They work with me and my wife to assure us that our son is on track for the following school year and that he is at, or above state level in mastering academics. It makes us sad to know that we are relocating to another state and can't pick up this school and staff to take along with us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2008

I think the staff in this school needs to learn how to talk to children and also the staff in the cafateria need to learn how to talk to children. Basically i think allot of the teachers in this school need a lesson in communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

My son went through Jefferson and now my daughter is in her third year. The teachers and administration provide a warm and caring environment. The science magnet curriculum is fantastic! We love Jefferson!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

Jefferson.. what can I say besides it is the best thing that ever happened to my 3 children. We have had great great years here and it saddens me that my child only has 1 more year there and then he will move on too. They are more than teachers to these children, the children are very diverse but treated equal. We have a caring staff, a caring student body, pto... etc... I would not leave Jefferson district until all of my kids are out of Jefferson. I would never want to let either of them miss the experience that my older 2 had. Its by far the best elementary school in norwalk, clean, safe, educational standards are high and now we will be a magnet. I am so glad my child will get to partipate in the 1st year of the change over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2005

My daughter has been at Jefferson for 4 years now and I wouldn't take her out and put her anywhere else. The staff are the nicest and most helpful people and the teachers are very dedicated. It is a wonderful school and we actually chose where to live by the great experience we have had here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2005

My child had been at jefferson since k and its been 3 great years. If we talk about moving she wants to make sure she can still go to jefferson. We have had great teachers and the pto is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female84%
Male88%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic84%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
English language learners71%
Proficient in English91%

Reading

All Students72%
Female75%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic56%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities73%
English language learners38%
Proficient in English83%

Writing

All Students80%
Female92%
Male72%
Black75%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic75%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
English language learners54%
Proficient in English90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students93%
Female89%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English97%

Reading

All Students87%
Female84%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%

Writing

All Students97%
Female96%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic94%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English100%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female81%
Male72%
Black73%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic73%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities76%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%

Reading

All Students81%
Female83%
Male78%
Black81%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic75%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%

Science

All Students88%
Female90%
Male85%
Black86%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%

Writing

All Students92%
Female94%
Male89%
Black90%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 51% 20%
Black 21% 13%
White 15% 61%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

75 Van Buren Ave
Norwalk, CT 06850
Phone: (203) 899-2870

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tracey School
Norwalk, CT







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT