Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Norwich Free Academy 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
NFA is one of the best schools in connecticut and it deserves a lot more than a 5/10 rating. They give you so many options for AP courses and they have a large variety of courses for people with different interests. They have art, computer, 8+ languages, photography, design etc. My son found it really hard to decide which courses to take but the counselors were so helpful and organized. He graduated with great test scores and an admission to his first choice of college and as a parent I couldn't be happier with the safety, friendliness, and academic excellence of this school. This school provides so many opportunities but it is up to the students to make use of them. That is probably why the test scores reported are so low, which makes the rating low. Trust me and all the other 17 that rated this school, it is one of the best you will find.

Norwich Free Academy 5

Posted May 10, 2012
- a parent
Our daughter is a freshman at NFA and we love the school! She came to the school from a small town, but has been welcomed and is transitioning well. The art department is exceptional and the faculty is enthusiastic and exemplifies all that teachers should be! If you have school choice, please consider NFA! You will not be sorry!


Norwich Free Academy 5

Posted June 22, 2011
- a student
NFA is a wonderful school with opportunities for all students. It's strong sports, arts, and academic program teamed with it's thriving campus and supportive staff makes it an amazing place to go to school everyday.

Norwich Free Academy 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a community member
NFA does a wonderful job educating not only students from Norwich, but also several surrounding towns. It offers a broad selection of classes, and maintains a quality education for any student that wants it.

Norwich Free Academy 0
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
One of the best schools in the country. My fourth child is there now. So many excellent teachers who really care about their students. Because of its lay-out NFA is like a college campus and the kids get a taste of what college is like. The security is very good and discipline is enforced and consistent. The students do very well when they graduate. NFA is also a blue ribbon school.


Norwich Free Academy 0
no rating

Posted September 19, 2009
- a parent
This palce is amazing! It has a campus full of flowering trees. The students are bused in from all over the region. there is a c eclectic group of students from every walk of life. The arts include, an art school at a college level, the theatre, the music, liberal arts, languages and sports all year long. it even boasts its own museum, The Slater Museum. A classic beauty this school.

Norwich Free Academy 0
no rating

Posted September 18, 2009
- a parent
NFA is a remarkable school offering an amazing array of subjects and life experiences to the students. I have found that they are responsive to the needs of the children, families and communities that they serve - embracing the diversity and addressing the needs. As a parent, I am very pleased with the growth and learning that I have witnessed in my son during his time at NFA, and encourage others to take advantage of the opportunities they make available to us.

Norwich Free Academy 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Since NFA isn't funded by taxes, they have been able to provide classes, activities, and programs far beyond what is available at most area schools. In addition to having their own museum on the campus, the school's marching band has won a national championship within the past decade. Since the emphasis at NFA is on preparation for college, a higher-than-average percentage of the graduates go on to further education.


Norwich Free Academy 5

Posted November 23, 2008
- a student
NFA gives you the chance to take college prep courses and explore different clubs. no matter what you're interests are

Norwich Free Academy 5

Posted October 28, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Norwich Free Academy
305 Broadway, Norwich, CT  06360
(860) 887-2505
Last modified Norwich Free Academy is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Norwich Free Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top