Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Lyme-Old Lyme High School 4

Posted November 13, 2008
- a student
We have amazing faculty and staff. No matter where you turn, you can always find someone to talk to. As a current student, I feel great about the security of the school too. Although anyone you ask will say the building is in desperate need of a renovation, we still find a way to be one of the best in the state. There are many sports available, from soccer and basketball to crew and fencing. Although we lack a football team and cheerleading, which many say is important to a high school, we are still very much into sports and have some amazing teams who do very well every year.

Lyme-Old Lyme High School 5

Posted October 15, 2008
- a parent
An early award of the 5th star. As all have said previously the talent and dedication of the students and faculty is absolutely the best. What is new is that we have now passed the referendum for a new high school and soon the school will be excellent to meet the needs and expectations of our outstanding students and faculty!


Lyme-Old Lyme High School 4

Posted August 22, 2008
- a community member
The quality of education at Lyme-Old Lyme High School is confirmed in the well rounded achievements of students in academics, athletics and the arts. The ability to sustain these levels of accomplishment despite the facility challenges is a tribute to students, staff and administration. It's time to earn the last star, however, and bring the facility up to standards.

Lyme-Old Lyme High School 5

Posted August 21, 2008
- a student
I am proud to have graduated from this school! All of the teachers are awesome and interactive and know every single one of their students. It's no wonder how a large percent of our graduates attend the top universities. The arts department does recive a large amount of credit, and our sports always perform well year after year. Our robotics team has won the regional chairman's award for 5 straight years in a row! Our music department is awesome with our bands filled many talented musicians and an awesome director. It's true that the school is......old to say the least. There is a serious need for new buildings. Nevertheless, I had an awesome time attending this school and am proud to call myself a graduate of Lyme Old Lyme high School.

Lyme-Old Lyme High School 4

Posted July 19, 2008
- a student
Though the building is practically falling apart, no one can deny that the academics are amazing. This school has definitely prepared me not only for college, but also for life.


Lyme-Old Lyme High School 3

Posted January 26, 2008
- a student
While the school's academics and teachers are generally pretty good, the facilities are unacceptable. The entire school isn't up to code and it is ridiculous that we are expected to learn in that horrible environment

Lyme-Old Lyme High School 2

Posted December 04, 2007
- a student
I am currently a student at this school and i really do not like it. The teachers are amazing! however, the school is falling apart, there are not alot of clubs/extracuricular activities avalible, and there are also many internal issues within the classrooms. I would pick a different school if you are more into arts.

Lyme-Old Lyme High School 5

Posted March 15, 2007
- a parent
My three children attended and graduated from Lyme-Old Lyme schools. Our family moved here from another school district because the academics were very strong--almost all graduates go on to college and get into top schools. The extra curriculers were very strong--better than many private schools. Music and art programs are among the best in the state. A wide spectrum of sports are offered. I have found there is more parental involvement than in other districts. Class size is small. Members of the administration, faculty and staff are responsive and work tirelessly. Test scores are excellent.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lyme-Old Lyme High School
69 Lyme St, Old Lyme, CT  06371
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (860) 434-1651
Last modified Lyme-Old Lyme High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top