Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Amity Middle School: Orange 1

Posted February 17, 2016
- a parent
Bulling is a real huge issue at this school. My child has been suffering emotionally and academically from it and now we are hiring an attorney and informing the state as we haven't seen any serious action from the school. Unfortunately there are so much drama in each class and teachers are not capable and willing to take care of them. This is too bad because I graduated from amity school myself and do not remember these schools to be so mismanaged!

Amity Middle School: Orange 1

Posted March 07, 2015
- a community member
It has come to my attention that bullying is an issue at this school and nothing is being done about this please look into this issue.


Amity Middle School: Orange 5

Posted January 07, 2012
- a parent
My son is a currently in the eighth grade at Amity Middle School, my other son is now a sophomore at Amity High , he also attended AMS . I agree that there are some staff members that need to retire however our experience with the school as been nothing but the best. And to the person who wrote about spoiled lazy kids I would have to disagree!! My daughter will be attending AMS in 2013 and I am sure she will receive the best education from AMS just as her brothers have.

Amity Middle School: Orange
no rating

Posted November 02, 2009
- a parent
If I had any other reasonable option, my child would not be attending this school. Spoiled kids and a lazy admin. It's true what another parent wrote - kids are labeled. They stick a student in a given category and then leave them there. The school does not view each student as an individual. I don't suggest anyone move here for this school.

Amity Middle School: Orange
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Gives kids great education and independence. Easy transistion into the middle school.


Amity Middle School: Orange 3

Posted June 13, 2009
- a parent
Most of the teachers are great. Just watch out if you get a bad one. The administration will turn a blind eye and do nothing about it - even if it's at the students expense. Overall the children are poorly behaved and this is tollerated. Children are labled from the time they enter the school. These labels never change. I would not recommend this school.

Amity Middle School: Orange 5

Posted April 24, 2008
- a community member
Amity was one of the best schools I have ever gone to. I love it very much! I had one of the best experiences one can gain from middle school. I met so many great people and made many new friends. I also had some of the most amazing teachers. They are all very caring, and they only want their students to succeed. The classes were great, too. I was challenged, and their rigor kept me on my toes. I am so grateful for the wonderful experience I had.

Amity Middle School: Orange 5

Posted June 15, 2004
- a student
Amity Junior High is a great school. It was very fun and friendly. It is a great enviornment to learn. The teacher are happy and good at their job. It was a very pleasent time i had at there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Amity Middle School: Orange
100 Ohman Ave, Orange, CT  06477
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (203) 392-3200
Last modified Amity Middle School: Orange is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top