Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Master's School

Private | PK-12 | 400 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Simsbury

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $355,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $970.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 14, 2012

This school has changed my daughters life! She started Middle School a sad, confused girl who hated school and now she is a happy vibrant young lady! No drama and problems like she had public school. Students are loving, Godly young people who treat each other like family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2014

My child attended this school for first and second grades. The campus is beautiful. However, a beautiful campus does not make a quality education. There were children in class who could not keep up with the curriculum, so the entire class was held back in their learning to allow those children to catch up. When we suggested that our child was not being challenged, we were told that the school doesn't want to make things too hard because they don't want children to fail. I would argue that everybody will fail at something sometime in their life. Learning how to rebound from failure is an important skill that is much easier to learn at 8 than at 18. When we moved our child to another school for third grade, we were shocked at how far behind he was already. Other children coming from TMS to our new school in higher grades are even more ill prepared. Be warned - if you want a quality education for your child, do not choose TMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

I I have 2 children at the Master's school. The staff are dedicated Christians who sincerely care for all their students. The academics are first rate and the curriculum is challenging. If you want your children to have a compassionate Christian world view this is the place for them and for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2013

This is our first year at the Master's School and we are so blessed to be at this wonderful school. I have a child in the upper school and one in the lower school, and both of my kids are having the same wonderful experiences . . . teachers that genuinely care about them, challenging, interesting academics that are so much more than just textbooks, chapel days where they are free to pray and worship, and an excellent athletic program where they are led by Godly coaches who care about more than just winning the game. We couldn't have chosen a better school for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2012

The Master's School has been a blessing to our family. The faculty are fabulous - committed, kind, loving Christian teachers and leaders who show their commitment to the heart of each child every single day. The academics are excellent, as are the supplemental activities - field trips, outdoor activities in science & literature, guest speakers, service opportunities - the list goes on! The new headmaster is influencing the community for the better - a true listener, business-minded, educated and experienced - and committed to the spirit of The Master's School. Importantly - the school recognizes the importance of diversity - so the student body isn't all of one cast - whether racial, gender, academic skills, interests, but rather diverse - open to borader thinking, allowing and meeting the needs of all children where they are - not just at a presumed or distated academic level - truly supporting the whole child and recognizing that the spiritual, social, physical, and psychological well being is as important as the cognitive, academic. We love The Master's School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2012

The Masters School looks very great from the outside but many children there are ver upset, depressed and unaccepted by other students. Bullying is a huge problem there that does not get fixed, just warning the, time after time is no way to prove teacher/principle leadership. They learn about The Christiam religion but many kids do not follow it and they get the other kids to Disobey. I would not recommend this school, my child has had better grades, a very happy and kinder personality since she left there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2011

Outstanding academic program! Faculty knows every student by name. Students are very respectful and supportive of one another. They are challenged academically in an environment that respects the uniqueness of each and every individual. My only regret is that we didn't discover this school sooner for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2010

We moved our daughter from homeschooling to The Masters School. What a perfect choice. The administrative team is knowledgeable and receptive to the adjustment our daughter would go through. The school has excellent teachers with strong faith and a willingness to work and know each child individually. The academic are challenging, interesting and taught by well educated instructors. The campus itself, is breathtaking, very peaceful, serene. We are blessed that our daughter is attending this school, and pleased with everyone who works there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2010

My daughter began her academic journey last year at The Masters' School in Kindergarten and I am incredibly impressed and blessed to have her part of such an amazing establishment. The teachers are outstanding; the academic programming is second to none; the school community is very engaging and the partnership created with parents is awesome. I love being so involved with my daughter s growth, challenges and triumphs. The teachers and the school have exceptional communication avenues with parents, keeping us involved and informed. Take a peek; you will be so glad you did! This school is a gem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2010

My children have been attending TMS for over 5 years. We currently have children in the lower, middle and upper divisions. TMS consistently offers small class size which enables faculty to get to know each student as individuals. Students are known and will not get lost in the system. The faculty and adminstration are caring and supportive. We have been very pleased with our experience and would encourage other families to investigate TMS and all it has to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

My children have attended The Master's School since preschool. They are now in 3rd and 5th grades. Their experience, as well a ours ,has been nothing short of amazing. The dedicated teachers really know & value your child. They truly love what they do and it reflects in their teaching. There is an acceptance and love this means zero tolerance for any type of bullying and peer pressure-Academics are challenging for the students & the small class size allows for individualized attention- What a beautiful place to be -We are truly thankful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2009

Very nurturing environment for elementary school kids with a great teacher - student ratio. Children get individual attention to their needs and strengths, and an opportunity to excel in a beautiful campus setting. Tremendous value compared to other area schools as academics are superior and school culture is just what parents are looking for today.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

An amazing opportunity for kids to learn and grow in an academically rigorous, faith filled environment. These teachers know my kid, love my kid, and always look for innovative and exciting ways for him to succeed! Wow!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2008

The Master's School is an excellent school. The teachers really take an interest in every sing student and help them to suceed. The teachers are always willing to stay late after school to help a student out on something that he or she does not understand. The school is located on a wooded campus at the base of a hill. It is truly beautiful. The spiritual aspect is great. The school is non-denomenational and it really tries to incorporate the christian view in everythign that they do. Overall, this school is an excellent school. I would recomend TMS to everybody.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 31, 2005

Great school that really takes the time to get to know each of the students individually. Teachers go the extra mile to see that each child has the opportunity to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 61%
Black 11% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 4%
Hispanic 4% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Jon Holley
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Extended/longer school day
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (860) 651-9363

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Field hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

36 Westledge Road
Simsbury, CT 06092
Website: Click here
Phone: (860) 651-9361

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Tootin' Hills School
West Simsbury, CT






Ethel Walker School
Simsbury, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT