Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-8|Private
64 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 30 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Villa Maria Education Center 5

Posted October 29, 2015
- a parent
Our son was having a difficult time in public school as he has ADHD and cannot focus. We weren't getting any services and he couldn't keep up with the other children on their assignments. As a result, he thought he was stupid and hated school. Now that he is at Villa, he is back to being a happy child as he is with children just like him. Plus, who wouldn't benefit from a class size of four children. Who wouldn't benefit from having a class at the end of every day on either studying skills or social skills. We love Villa.

Villa Maria Education Center
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted October 29, 2015
- a parent
All the teachers are fantastic. I also am very thankful that a social worker, speech/language therapist, and an occupational therapist are on the staff


Villa Maria Education Center
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted October 29, 2015
- a parent
The teachers are all "special education" teachers which means that they will identify and understand your child's weaknesses. These teachers are totally dedicated!

Villa Maria Education Center
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 29, 2015
- a parent
My son has ADHD and homework is a real challenge after he has worked hard all day. Villa will give as much homework as the parent requests; otherwise, students get one page of homework for reading, writing and math.

Villa Maria Education Center
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 29, 2015
- a parent
The last class of everyday is dedicated to either ethics, socialization skills, or organizational skills. This is absolutely crucial to fostering a good value system (honesty, integrity, & fairness) and to develop a child's ability to treat others well.


Villa Maria Education Center 5

Posted October 28, 2015
- a parent
Villa Maria has been a wonderfully nurturing experience for our son and our entire family. From the principal, school directors,staff as well as the teachers, the environment at Villa Maria is nurturing,calming and academically progressive while supporting each students unique needs. It is a school that promotes a healthy self esteem, learning potential and helps their students attain their goals.

Villa Maria Education Center 5

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
From the first day, my child felt very comfortable at Villa Maria, which was amazing given how anxious they were about school before. A child that used to beg to stay home, now wakes up before the alarm clock, ready to start the school day. The staff at Villa Maria utilize various custom strategies to help your child learn in the way that best suits their needs and learning challenges. In addition to academics; -- There is seamless integration of speech and OT support into the school day, so your child isn't constantly "pulled out" for services and social interaction support -- There is a strong focus on social skills development, which is often important for children with learning differences. My child and I couldn't be happier with the amount of academic progress that's been made and the nurturing, inclusive environment.

Villa Maria Education Center 5

Posted November 10, 2014
- a teacher
Villa is an excellent and caring environment. Teachers and our Education Director work closely with parents to develop appropriate goals and objectives for each student and taught accordingly. Teachers work collaboratively and are in constant communication regarding their students. Villa has made great strides with our generous donors and in just the past few months has a new gym and huge performing arts/drama room with a stage, piano, electric keyboards, full set of drums, guitars and other equipment. Several additional SmartBoards were purchased and computers updated. Several other initiatives were implemented with new math, science and vocabulary programs as well as many supplemental materials.


Villa Maria Education Center 2

Posted June 19, 2014
- a parent
The lack of leadership is the largest issue at this school. The principal and education director are disengaged from the education of the children and parents. They are very uninvolved from the day to day in the school. They don't sit in on classes to observe and coach teachers. The teaching is largely left up to individual teachers, many of whom need substantial coaching and lack professionalism. The inconsistency in the teaching quality is a large concern. There is little, if any, guidance provided to the teachers and there is no consistency of curricula throughout the school. They are significantly behind in techonology. The ipads are used for game playing during class time, and the games are not educational. There is almost no communication between the teachers and parents except for a ten minute conference three times per year. For the price of tuition, you would expect a lot more.

Villa Maria Education Center 5

Posted January 06, 2012
- a parent
Villa Maria was the perfect environment for our son who was diagnosed with dyslexia. After struggling in the public school setting, our son attended Villa for grades 3-5. Villa provided excellent academic supports, a culture of respect and inclusiveness and a caring academic staff and administration. Our family recently moved out of the area and we decided to have our son enter back into the regular education setting. His academic and social acclimation was immediate and seamless. The independent study skills he gained at Villa have provided him with such a strong foundation, we have no doubt that he will excel in academics always and be prepared to handle any challenge he encounters. He is a confident and self assured learner. We are grateful for all that Villa did to help our son grow in spirit and ability.

Nearby schools

Villa Maria Education Center
161 Sky Meadow Drive, Stamford, CT  06903
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 30 reviews. (203) 322-5886
Last modified Villa Maria Education Center is a Private school that serves grades K-8
Top