Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Stamford, CT
Students enrolled: 645
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Roxbury School 4

Posted January 30, 2014
- a parent
My son started kindergarten at Roxbury this year. I was a bit concerned about sending him here due to the mixed reviews. I will say that from Sept till Jan what he has learned in reading and math is extrodinary!! I am blown away by how well he can already ready small stories and working on adding and subtracting!! He loves going to school and loves learning new things everyday. I do believe as with every school parent involvement is KEY!! Roxbury has very dedicated parents but it would be nice to see alot more. The teaching staff from what I have seen are very dedicated and work hard providing the children with the fundamentals they need to move forward!!

Roxbury School 5

Posted September 02, 2013
- a parent
If you look at the fact that Stamford is a city with a diverse population you can understand why the test scores may be low. This is often misunderstood as being a bad school. The reality is that you are combining children with little or no preschool education with children with educated families and a great preschool. These combine together to make an average test score. Rest assured if you take a vested interest in your child's education, this is a great school.


Roxbury School 4

Posted April 06, 2013
- a parent
I have a first grader in this school. The quality of education has been very good. The principal is great, she is very involved, strict yet fair and is very attentive to the students and parents. She has made improvements every year, and continues to improve the school in this diverse population. The school has a strong parent-teacher organization as well.

Roxbury School 3

Posted July 22, 2012
- a parent
Despite the low CMT test scores, Roxbury is not a bad school. Much depends on the teacher and the group of students your child has for the school year. According to 2009 CMT test results for Roxbury, roughly 50% of the underpriviledged students are at or above the proficiency level, while roughly 80% of the non-underpriviledged students are at or above the proficiency level. If your child is a good student, and you are involved in your child's academic progress, chances are that your child will do well. If you don't really care about your child's academics and consider school as an alternative babysitting program, your child will probably not do well. The teachers do their best to teach students the curriculum, but it is up to the parents to continue the education at home. If your child is gifted or highly intelligent, you will have to find afterschool programs that can challenge you child, because Roxbury has little or no programs in place for such children. However, Roxbury has many resources that cater to children with learning disabilities. I've heard they have the best resources amongst the Stamford public schools. Not my school of choice, but not as bad as I thought.

Roxbury School 5

Posted September 21, 2010
- a parent
Roxbury is a good school. The Principal is dedicated in making Roxbury one of the best. She is strict yet very fair. She has new policies, guidelines, and procedures which grow stronger and stronger every year. The scores are improving at the school. If your child is above average, Roxbury provides the opportunities to continue to excel. If your child is below average, Roxbury will get the appropriate help. Roxbury has a strong parental influence. The administration is always willing to work with you and your child. Roxbury has a generous size campus for the all to enjoy


Roxbury School 5

Posted December 19, 2008
- a parent
exellent school thanks for help my kid god blesss u

Roxbury School 5

Posted March 28, 2007
- a parent
I have a 4th Grader and a 1st grader at Roxbury. Both my children have different learning styles and are thriving at Roxbury. The administration cares about each child and is very active in their education. Both my children are being challenged academically. The are good students both above grade average and being taught to their level. There is a strong parental presence in the school and it is welcomed by the administration. Children who need help in certain areas are getting it. There are wonderful cultural events planned throughout the year that the children love. Art is still my daughter's first love and the art teachers here are amazing. They do weaving, self portraits, pottery, and painting. They kids are even doing murals throughout the building. Music is another wonderful program. The kids sing in chorus and play in the band. Roxbury is a warm, nurturing place.

Roxbury School 4

Posted April 01, 2005
- a parent
I have a son in kindergarten and I am very impressed with what he has learned this year. The interaction with the parents is strong. The learning is high. He's starting to read from basically only knowing the alphabet at the beginning. He's also starting simple math problems. NOt sure that they emphasize art, science, music and athletics as much as I would like, but the 3R's seem to be well-covered. I'm very pleased with his education and don't believe it would be any better in a private school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Roxbury School
751 Westhill Rd, Stamford, CT  06902
(203) 977-4287
Last modified Roxbury School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Roxbury School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top