Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Stillmeadow School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 8, 2013

Stillmeadow elementary school has technology science media art gym and more educational stuff it is a award winning school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2012

I have two children who went through Stillmeadow and they both turned out to be high honors students. The school is spot on with academics and they are focused on the success of the students by giving Principal and Citizenship awards. The parents are very involved and teachers and the Administration work really hard to make this a high performing school. The students love activities like literacy day, math night and field trips.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2012

This school is focused on student success. The principal is a visionary that wants the school to bring the students and staff into the 21st Century. Scholarship and Citizenship are the school's major focuses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

I found this school to be quite good through 3-4 grade for my daughter. The teachers were extremely kind, the children were nice and my daughter really learned something. But all that changed in 5th grade. In October, My daughter was SLAPPED by a student on the playground. She had to change classes. And all through this current year she is in 5th grade, she has been repeatedly harassed by several students. And though the leading teachers are fine, there is one assistant in particular who had been harassing her. And recently, a substitute had her down on her hands and knees picking up dirt that was not even hers. Tissues, Wrappers, pen caps... And then he had the nerve to tell me he believed she had OCD. She has come home crying too many times to count and we are both ready to leave this whole year behind us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2011

My son and my daughter went to stillmeadow, I adore the school. The faculty, administrators and everyone took time and you knew that they actually cared for the student, mentally, physically and academically. I am a very hands on parent and was a part of everything. They did a wonderful job with my children and I am forever greatful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2011

I went to stillmeadow in 2000 till 2006. And all I have to say that it is an amazing school with a amazing staff. I am proud to say that I went to that school. And this a coming from a high honor student at her high school. Thank you stilklmeadow.


Posted July 8, 2010

The city of Stamford has one of the highest incomes in CT. Stillmeadow school has performed worse than schools in other CT poorer cities, like Bridgeport. Teacher quality is average, there are good teachers and some not that good. Very good teachers had left the school. The Principal is part of the problem, not the solution. The Principal is responsible for the deterioration in teacher s quality. Parent involvement is average. with very few really committing.


Posted May 20, 2009

I'm a parent of a 2nd Gr & Kindg. Stillmeadow is a wonderful and fine, clean school. I like the fact that the principal has been there over 14 yrs. This school is one of the few that has a FT nurse. I'm a FT working mom, but I do see (from dropping off kids in the AM & events I attend) that there are many moms who are involved & are always around the school. I find alot of comfort in that. In addition, the school is nestled in a nice residentual neighborhood set back off the street. They have a great new playground. My kids participate in various weekly after school programs. Truly great kids, teachrs & staff who care. My kids are reading and doing fine. can't look just at school scores-have to look at your kids and other factors, but don't discount school and everyone's efforts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2009

The teachers are focussed on helping the students accomplish their goals. The principal is creative. The PFO is involved with several imaginative projects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

Ii tell everyone that has something negative to say about the Stamford public schools that anyone that has something negative to say has problems with diversity, this school is fantastic and I am thankful that my kids are so happy there, I dont want my kids to live in a 'bubble' the magnet schools have nothing on this school!!! Great job Dr. Sanders and staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

As a former Student, I can say from experience that Stillmeadow really helped prepare me for many things. I had been a part of the Stillmeadow community since i was four years old, I basically grew up there. Thanks the the relationships that grew between the teachers and the students I feel I am much better prepared for my life as a whole. Thanks to all my teachers, and in particular to David Bodofsky , I gained confidence in myself and my abillities which definitally got me ready for middle school and beyond. Yeah, i struggled for my first year of middle school, but everyone does. No one likes middle school, but thanks to Stillmeadow I was ready to deal with that, and then move on and suceed in life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2007

I spent the last few minutes reading some of the postings regarding our school. I currently have two children in the school and for both it has been a great experience. I have seen first hand some of the other schools in our city and Stillmeadow to me is in a class by itself. The people listing the negative comments below either are not involved enough to know what they're talking about or are just plain clueless. Our principal is largely responsible for the success our school has shared over the last sevaral years. Furthermore, every teacher my children have had and every teacher I've met, have been nothing short of very dedicated and extremely hard working individuals that care a great deal for our kids and our school. If people have a problem with the school they should get more involved and bring their issues through proper channels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2007

Both my children have had great experiences in this school. I also feel that the staff goes above and beyond. I have experienced first hand what a fantastic group of caring, well trained, and hard working teachers we have. Our principal strives to make our school successful and what people fail to realize is how much he truely cares about our children. Parent involvement is low but I feel that this is due to the large population of working parents and todays busy lifestyles. All Stamford Public School are far from perfect. The fact that our school focuses on trying to make the necessary improvements to be successful is worth writing about!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2007

It is upsetting to me, to see such negative comments about Stillmeadow. Compared to other SPS, I feel that Stillmeadow's Staff goes above and beyond. I blame other pushy parents who cannot follow directions for any 'unkind' treatment. It is my understanding that the 'mediator' in the media center is there as a courtesy. School begins at 8:10, not 7:20. As for the principal, if parents have such concerns, they can make an appointment to discuss issues they are having. I have come to know him as a very reasonable, down to earth person. As far as unkindness from faculty in that school goes, I feel that you get what you give.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2007

So far I am very unhappy with the faculty. I have yet to see any of them show any kindness. This ranges from the monitor at the Media Center in the AM, to the 'man' directs traffic in the AM, to most of the staff who monitor the drop ins outside in the AM, to the principal!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

My children have had great teachers. They both have done very well at this school. I do feel it is because, as a parent, I have been aware of what they are learning at school and reinforce it at home. If I felt they needed more of a challenge I contacted the teacher. For the most part my concerns were acted upon. I do feel that the school needs to group for Math. This is very important and my oldest was not ready for middle school math. He was able to catch up fairly quickly, but not all children can and that can be very stressful. Overall my children were and are very happy here. There are extracurricular activities that are offered to the children each year. The parent involvement is good, but could be better. There is always room for improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

This school is failing our children, the teachers are nice, but we need teachers that fight for our children and look for ways to challenge them. Im on a waiting list for other schools. I wish the principal was a visionary, the school needs a new focus or none of these poor children will be prepared for middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2007

I'm a new member of the school with a kindergardener just starting in Mrs. Frateroli's class. So far, my daughter seems to be enjoying the school and is coming home everyday saying she learned something new.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

This school has great potential. The teachers are wonderful and work under an enormous amount of stress. Hats off to all of the teachers that work so hard each and every day. Our children are very lucky to have them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2007

Parent involvement is average due to parents needing to work and it's understandable. There are programs available. academic programs need improvement, my children graduated from 5 grade in 2 separate years and were not prepared for middle school by one of the teachers who had a student teacher at the time. He left the student teacher to do all the work. Very unprofessional and the students suffered.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female92%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic90%
White97%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%

Reading

All Students77%
Female79%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic70%
White91%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%

Writing

All Students86%
Female90%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic84%
White94%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female84%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%

Reading

All Students78%
Female79%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%

Writing

All Students86%
Female92%
Male81%
Black55%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic87%
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
Female93%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic86%
White97%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%

Reading

All Students89%
Female88%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic82%
White94%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%

Science

All Students84%
Female86%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%

Writing

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic91%
Multiracialn/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 40% 20%
White 36% 61%
Black 14% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 Stillwater Rd
Stamford, CT 06906
Phone: (203) 977-4507

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Westover School
Stamford, CT


Hart School
Stamford, CT


Sacred Heart School
Stamford, CT


Roxbury School
Stamford, CT


North Mianus School
Riverside, CT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT