Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Holy Cross High School 1

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
Holy Cross is in desperate need of some policy changes! For example, the Valedictorian and Salutatorian of the school may not actually be the 1st and 2nd ranked in the class. This is solely due to the fact that they follow a policy they have been using that is at least, 43 years old! While other High Schools perform the simple calculation appropriately at the end of the school year to determine rank, HCHS does their calculation back in December, ignoring half of senior year. This method can result in the wrong student receiving an award. The worst part is that when this problem was brought to their attention, they really could not be bothered to address it. Imagine if your child worked hard all four years to achieve the rank of 1st or 2nd in the class to not even get acknowledged in the slightest bit for their accomplishment. Beware! This is just one of the backward policies that are in use at Holy Cross High School!

Holy Cross High School 1

Posted July 02, 2014
- a parent
I found Holy Cross High very disappointing in regards to the way the administration handles any concerns or problems. The archaic policies and way of thinking, I feel will never change until the current administration changes. Students and parents seldom find any satisfaction to situations that may occur because of the lack of any authority overseeing Holy Cross. You are often left with a " Too Bad " attitude. If I had to do it all over again I would find another High School to spend my hard working money on!


Holy Cross High School 5

Posted May 24, 2012
- a parent
This school is great!!!! Under the guidance of wonderful teachers and a very involved guidance department - my daughter has blossomed from a B/C student to a student with almost all straight A's. We love this school!!!!

Holy Cross High School 0
no rating

Posted August 16, 2009
- a parent
Both of my boys have gone to Holy Cross. I am also a 1974 graduate of the school. I can't say enough good things about the school and the teachers. They care about the students and are there with extra help if needed. It's scary to think my kids would have had to go to a wtby public school if there wasn't great private schools like Holy Cross around. Thank you to all the great teachers and to a great school. Sincerly, Andy Lukeski, Class of 74

Holy Cross High School 5

Posted November 12, 2008
- a parent
Wonderful school! Someone told me that the teachers at private schools are there for a limited time and use them as 'stepping stones' to move onto public schools. I know for a fact that the teachers here STAY here because they LOVE it here and they are committed to excellence. The average length of time teaching here is 25 - 30 years. That is one giant stone! Good job, teachers. We appreciate everything you do! A very satisfied parent.


Holy Cross High School 5

Posted March 05, 2008
- a parent
You get what you give---Teachers at Holy Cross High School are there because they want to be and they care to help each student achieve his/her personal best. Not all students are Einsteins, varsity athletes, future leaders, stage stars or social butterflies. The teachers watch and nourish students as individuals. The students are encouraged to grow. To communicate with their teachers and learn academic as well as life lessons. Those who give alittle will receive a wealth of guidence. The students job is to learn to apply all knowledge, thus establish a foundation for a bright adult future. Many thanks to each and every individual who helped guide my daughter during her four years growth at Holy Cross. Respectfully, Jim/Kathy Mattrella

Holy Cross High School 5

Posted October 04, 2007
- a parent
My Child goes there and it helped her suceed I love this school

Holy Cross High School 1

Posted August 22, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Holy Cross High School 1

Posted August 17, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Holy Cross High School 5

Posted October 07, 2005
- a former student
Holy Cross gave me the tools and desire to succeed in college and life. I hope my children will cgoose to go to such a great school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holy Cross High School
587 Oronoke Road, Waterbury, CT  06708
(203) 757-9248
Last modified Holy Cross High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Holy Cross High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews.