Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
698 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holy Cross High School 1

Posted September 15, 2014
- a parent
Holy Cross is in desperate need of some policy changes! For example, the Valedictorian and Salutatorian of the school may not actually be the 1st and 2nd ranked in the class. This is solely due to the fact that they follow a policy they have been using that is at least, 43 years old! While other High Schools perform the simple calculation appropriately at the end of the school year to determine rank, HCHS does their calculation back in December, ignoring half of senior year. This method can result in the wrong student receiving an award. The worst part is that when this problem was brought to their attention, they really could not be bothered to address it. Imagine if your child worked hard all four years to achieve the rank of 1st or 2nd in the class to not even get acknowledged in the slightest bit for their accomplishment. Beware! This is just one of the backward policies that are in use at Holy Cross High School!

Holy Cross High School 1

Posted July 02, 2014
- a parent
I found Holy Cross High very disappointing in regards to the way the administration handles any concerns or problems. The archaic policies and way of thinking, I feel will never change until the current administration changes. Students and parents seldom find any satisfaction to situations that may occur because of the lack of any authority overseeing Holy Cross. You are often left with a " Too Bad " attitude. If I had to do it all over again I would find another High School to spend my hard working money on!


Holy Cross High School 5

Posted May 24, 2012
- a parent
This school is great!!!! Under the guidance of wonderful teachers and a very involved guidance department - my daughter has blossomed from a B/C student to a student with almost all straight A's. We love this school!!!!

Holy Cross High School
no rating

Posted August 16, 2009
- a parent
Both of my boys have gone to Holy Cross. I am also a 1974 graduate of the school. I can't say enough good things about the school and the teachers. They care about the students and are there with extra help if needed. It's scary to think my kids would have had to go to a wtby public school if there wasn't great private schools like Holy Cross around. Thank you to all the great teachers and to a great school. Sincerly, Andy Lukeski, Class of 74

Holy Cross High School 5

Posted November 12, 2008
- a parent
Wonderful school! Someone told me that the teachers at private schools are there for a limited time and use them as 'stepping stones' to move onto public schools. I know for a fact that the teachers here STAY here because they LOVE it here and they are committed to excellence. The average length of time teaching here is 25 - 30 years. That is one giant stone! Good job, teachers. We appreciate everything you do! A very satisfied parent.


Holy Cross High School 5

Posted March 05, 2008
- a parent
You get what you give---Teachers at Holy Cross High School are there because they want to be and they care to help each student achieve his/her personal best. Not all students are Einsteins, varsity athletes, future leaders, stage stars or social butterflies. The teachers watch and nourish students as individuals. The students are encouraged to grow. To communicate with their teachers and learn academic as well as life lessons. Those who give alittle will receive a wealth of guidence. The students job is to learn to apply all knowledge, thus establish a foundation for a bright adult future. Many thanks to each and every individual who helped guide my daughter during her four years growth at Holy Cross. Respectfully, Jim/Kathy Mattrella

Holy Cross High School 5

Posted October 04, 2007
- a parent
My Child goes there and it helped her suceed I love this school

Holy Cross High School 5

Posted October 07, 2005
- a student
Holy Cross gave me the tools and desire to succeed in college and life. I hope my children will cgoose to go to such a great school.


Holy Cross High School 5

Posted September 17, 2004
- a parent
I have 2 children who attend HC. They both love it. Teachers and Admin staff work very hard to make the school work. Students are polite. Sports programs are 2nd to none. Facilities are top, new science/art center, athletic fields are located right on campus and well maintained. Overall well worth the 7K.

Holy Cross High School 5

Posted March 23, 2004
- a parent
My daughther attended Holy Cross and was very please with her schooling. She was never much of a learner before but the positive energy from the school made her enjoy it much more. The school is very clean, has the best teachers, winning sports teams and is located in a great location in the country club area of waterbury. Although the tuition costs are about $7,000 yearly, I gladly pay it knowing my daughter is getting the best education. Also, the peers are very friendly all coming from surrounding towns just to attend this magjnificent high school! give it a try!

Nearby schools

Holy Cross High School
587 Oronoke Road, Waterbury, CT  06708
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (203) 757-9248
Last modified Holy Cross High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top