Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rotella Interdistrict Magnet School

Public | PK-5 | 616 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

25 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 11, 2014

Wonderful school, great programs, great activities, awesome teachers, I'm so happy to have had 2 kids attend. I highly recommend parents apply for the lottery to get in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2013

Best magnet school in the area!! I love this school! Wonderful programs, very hands on. The teachers are always cheerful and genuinely get involved in all aspects of teaching. The palette awards are great example of that. Great communication between parent liaisons and parents. The Vice principle makes time to talk with me regarding any concerns I had. Great follow up. I only wish the school went to 8th grade. My son has been there since preK and absolutely loves it and so do I!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2011

I cannot say enough good things about this school! Its great and I was thrilled when my oldest son got in, then 2 years later my youngest was 'waitlisted' but ended up with a spot as well. I love the programs, the teachers, the school itself. I do have to agree with the statements about the office staff, however, they do ignore you when you walk in, lol. I wish this school went higher than 5th grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2011

I was so thrilled when my daughter got in. However I can not get over on how rude and unwelcoming the office staff is towards parents. If they want more parent involvement they really need to change their attiudes towards them. Everytime you walk in the office you are immediately given the cold shoulder like you are annoying them. My daughter is happy so I just deal with it but it is not what I had in mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2010

My daughter has attended the summer program Rotella offers since kindergarten. She was selected via lottery to attend the regular school curriculum at the beginning of third grade and is now entering fourth. We LOVE this school. Their standards are definitely set higher than most of the other city schools, but they also ranked highest in 3 out of four categories in CMT testing for 2009/2010. The teachers and staff are friendly, and eager to get parents involved with their children and the classroom. The school also offers a variety of different enrichment programs and activities throughout the school year. The only negative input I have is that the school is only K-5!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

It is a great school; however, the staff is still somehow rude. The teacher do a great job, but it will be great if they will keep the parents updated with their children's progress. The progress book is a great way to check children's progress, so you know where you can work more with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

My both of my children love Rotella! Children are taught well and the staff has used positive reinforcement. Students are the stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

We LOVE Rotella! My son loves it there! I feel that the after school programs that they do have are top notch. My sons self confidence has grown so much in these past few months. I know it has everything to do with his teacher. The after school program helped with that also. He was chosen for a role in the school play, he was so so proud! My other two are in the lotto for next year. I'm keeping my fingers crossed! A happy parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

I agree with the parent who suggested a second language, that is a great idea... I love Rotella as well, I hope my other son gets in.. Just as an FYI... Waterbury PAL offers a wide range of sports and it is very affordable. The fee is $25.00 yearly and your child can enroll in one or all the activities and they even provide the team shirt, no extra charge.. Waterbury PAL is an excellent programs offers by the police department... Take advantage!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

I love Rotella, however, I think they should offer a second language class for students who are interested. The earlier you teach a second language, the easier it is for them to learn another language in the future. I speak from experience. Other countries teach their students 2 languages early on. Even if it was just an after school activity, I believe it would greatly improve the school. I also think they should be offering sports after school, for free. No more 50$ at some program that once you get in they want more and more $! Lets give our students that don't have the money a chance to improve in sports such as baseball, soccer, ect... I understand this takes a lot of money, but it's definitely something to work towards. Rotella does a great job. I love the teachers and the principal has been very helpful for me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

My daughters both attend Rotella. It is an exellent school. I am trying to get my son and other daughter in also. I would not send my children to the public schools if I can get them in the magnet. The teachers are great, they are the best. This school was voted #1 magnet school in the nation!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2008

My daughter attends Rotella she is a good student and tries her hardest in class. At times she has had difficulty with some subjects - it seems like the teachers want the students to all be on the same level. She likes the school and is learning a lot there. I do think Rotella is the best school for her in this city - the staff in the front office are rude at times they make you feel as if you are bothereing them and making them do their jobs. The teacher she has now is taking a real interest in my daughter and I hope it continues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

Great school! What are you talking about? The teachers are very nice if you aren't messing around or failing and if you meet this criteria I think you should go to a different school!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 3, 2008

my daughter is a 4th grader and has been in this school since pre-k. i am so happy with the teachers and staff and believe that my daughter has learned so much. i lvoe school and is blessed she got in
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2008

I think that the teachers care very much at Rotella and the kids seem very happy there. The front office staff leave MUCH to be desired, though and I dread having to go in there at all because they are so rude and not helpful or even concerned about anything other than themselves and gossiping. My kids love it and I am glad that they have the opprotunity to attend Rotella. I think that the school should be more diverse,as there are many more white children than any other ethnicity represented.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2007

This is the best elementary school in the waterbury school system. Both of my boy attend here, and i can not say enough great things about the staff.Keep up the great work Rotella!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2007

my experience with this school since it opened, has been considerably less than positive. my kids are not nearly enthused about school as others who attend elsewhere. I question the integrity of those employed who seem to turn a blind to legitimate parent concerns such as safety, egress and accountability for my kids wellbeing. longstanding problems repeat themselves annually. i am not feeling the love at this school. the only right thing is to send my kid somewhere else. these problems will never go away- its a people problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2007

Rotella is a very close knit school and the children always's come first.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 7, 2006

I am very happy with this school. The teachers are great and the education my kids are getting there is better that at their previous school. Front office personnel could do with a few workshops on better public relations, but maybe they will mature along with the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2005

I have the highest regard for the teachers at Rotella but I wish I could say the same for the office administration. The front office staff are the rudest most impolite people. No matter how nice you are to them they always seem like you are bothering. It is definitely not a warm school atmosphere and not the kind of impression you want to make on people entering our school. It frankly is shameful! A little proffesionalism?? The principles have never really been any help to the concerned parents and could care less. Children in this school are a priority? Please give parking to maintenance staff and let the children walk in the rain, snow or cold- how's that for priority. Get someone with real leadership potential in there and let's see if we can see a positive change.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2012.

86 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
51%

2009

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 63% in 2012.

89 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
89%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2012.

91 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

90 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2012.

84 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 68% in 2012.

83 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2012.

93 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 68% in 2012.

93 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
85%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
Female55%
Male53%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English54%

Reading

All Students43%
Female53%
Male31%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English43%

Writing

All Students71%
Female73%
Male68%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female70%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic63%
White83%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English70%

Reading

All Students67%
Female70%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic62%
White74%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%

Writing

All Students80%
Female88%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic72%
White89%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female66%
Male60%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities66%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%

Reading

All Students65%
Female68%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English65%

Science

All Students55%
Female52%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English55%

Writing

All Students62%
Female75%
Male49%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English62%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 62%
Black 21% 13%
Hispanic 19% 19%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

440 Pierpont Rd
Waterbury, CT 06705
Phone: (203) 574-8168

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


H. S. Chase School
Waterbury, CT


Frisbie School
Wolcott, CT




Woodrow Wilson School
Waterbury, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT