Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Welch (Major George S.) Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 466 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2014

I must say that this is one of the worst schools my son has been to. Before this year he was in the gifted program. His teacher now is more interested in controlling him, not teaching him. They teach to look good on paper. He is bored, feels targeted, and his grades have dropped and has now lost his interest in school. This could be just one teacher, and if I thought they would move him out of her class this late in the year I would. Whenever we would ask for a conference there would be no less than four of them and resembled a court room, the last one we had, my son left crying! This is a new principle this year, he hasn't been involved, so I can't say, but I'm sure he's better than the last one. I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2014

I have 3 kids in this school, have been here for 3 years and continue to be impressed. I'm really surprised at the comments below. I too arrived in 2011 and felt welcomed from day 1. My kids have had 4 teachers combined so far and although I have my favorites, they've all been really really good. The front office and principal have been nothing short of polite and helpful every time i've interacted with them. Much much better than our previous school district. I admittedly don't attend all the after school activities but I am impressed that they are all family and academic focused. They always seem to have some sort of math, reading or something night which involves learning. Our previous school held fundraisers at night with no mention of education. So this has been a welcome change. I would stay here if I could.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2013

I have a had at least one student in this school for almost 12 years. I have been through four principals in that time. Unfortunately, the 3rd principal did some damage to the morale, as seen by the reviews before mine. However, the new principal seems to be turning things around. I've always felt that the teachers made this school. They are a military school, and they cater to the military mind set much more than other public schools. Having known some of these teachers for more than a decade, I can say that most of them are hardworking and caring individuals that remain very involved with the kids. I wouldn't say that my children were always challenged, but I find that they are as challenged as they can be in a public school in Kent County Delaware.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

I read some of the reviews and am flabbergasted. I find the staff is friendly and the atmophere seems very welcoming. I understand that the PTA is active but it seems slighly unwelcoming,clickish, and seem to be there more for the teacher instead of the students. We moved here from a base down south and feel very good about sending our children to Welch. Love the drop off and it is a plus when your child has the door opened by the smiling art teacher, or one of the other teachers, along with the vice principal each morning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2012

Also, my 3rd grader actually cried on the last day of school because she loved her teacher so much. She was in the gifted program At her previous school, but she was more challanged at this school in the basic classroom Than she ever was in the gifted program. I can't say enough good things about this school and it's staff. The single complaint I would have would be that I with they had a healthier lunch program! Hot dogs, pizza, and tacos are the norm, but I wish there were some healthier meals for lunch and for breakfast as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2012

My child has been attentending Welch for three & half years and unfortunately I have seen the school atmospher deteriorate. I have been very involved in helping my child's teachers over these years and I do believe the principal and vice principal are the reason for the deterioration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2012

After moving around in the military and having an opportunity to experience other schools, this school is the worst. This was also the first time I have had a child attend a school on base and it will definitely be the last. Some of the teachers could care less and seem to only be there to collect a paycheck and the office staff IS very unwelcoming as another reviewer stated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

This school is unwelcoming. The teachers are good for the most part but the front office staff and the principal and vice-principal are not. Upon arrival mid-school year I asked if we could meet the teachers. I was told no, they could not ask the teachers to come in early, stay late or give up a planning period. I had a K, 2nd, 4th and 5th grader starting school. I was told they would line up by their doors outside and they would meet the teacher when going into their class (I was not permitted to walk with them -first day or any day- or to meet the teacher at all), I would need to request a conference in order to do that. It took me showing up early at the office, signing in and telling the VP that I was going to meet their teachers or they were going home with me, she then called each teacher on the intercom and followed us to each room. For a school located on a military base they have no clue how to welcome military families. This school is heavy in writing and behind or less focused on math compared to Texas where we came from prior. If it weren t for most of the teachers, I would be homeschooling them all right now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2010

This is one of the worst school's I have ever had the disprivilege of taking my child to. All of the stats say that this is one of the best schools in Delaware. From now on I will not be trusting the "stats".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2010

Worst school ever..... they dont care about the students ,and principal only cares about having the school looking good on papers, but wont work with you any issues unless you force them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2009

This school is alright I guess. The principal is horrible to work with.My child was incredibly bored in her class -it was to easy never any real challenging homework.They taught to DSTP not to a regular guidelines.I am pulling my child and finding a off post school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2009

Other than the principal, the school is okay. Not the best school I've dealt with. School seems as though they are not willing to work or communicate with you unless you force the issue. They do not share vital information with you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2008

I believe this school is very tight knit, and close. Many military familys that bond and work as a team. Teachers care tremendously. The principal is very personable and approachable.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female89%
Male83%
African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status91%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed86%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English87%

Math

All Students89%
Female91%
Male86%
African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status83%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed90%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female86%
Male89%
African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic statusn/a
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed90%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students90%
Female94%
Male86%
African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic statusn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed90%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English90%

Social Studies

All Students87%
Female91%
Male84%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic statusn/a
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed88%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Female86%
Male82%
African American84%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status83%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed91%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English85%

Math

All Students78%
Female77%
Male79%
African American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White83%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status78%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed86%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English78%

Science

All Students55%
Female56%
Male54%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White52%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status39%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed61%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 63% 50%
Black 2 18% 32%
Hispanic 1 11% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2 4% 3%
Two or more races 1 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2 0% 0%
Source: DE Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3100 Hawthorne Drive
Dover, DE 19901
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 674-9080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT